The Body Shop Born Lippy Lip Balm

3.2

332 reviews

49% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This lip balm smells so good and tastes like cherries. The coloring gives your lips a little hint of color to them. The only thing I do not like is having to dip my fingers in it. Ugh! I hate that I lost it, I may re purchase it.



on 1/30/2009 3:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

it taste good and smells good but it only stays on your lips for 5minutes! hence leaving it all dry and cracked lips. it costed me 15$NZ which was a ok price but a rip off for what its worth. i dont like pots after i smeared the lip gloss on me i didnt know where to wipe it coz i never have any tissues with me lol.
i wouldnt buy it again


on 1/28/2009 8:31:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This looks great as a gloss but if you want to moisturize your lips this is NOT the product to use. I've found it quite drying, and is not recommended to wear during winter. When I first bought it a few months ago I thought it was a balm, so I slathered layers on before going out. But then after a few hours my lips started to crack and it was painful and didn't look very attractive. Also, pots aren't very convenient and I hate the feeling it leaves on your finger afterwards.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this and hate it.
Basically pros:
shiny with a nice colour and sparkle
smells nice
tastes nice
Body shop is a nice company so those perks
Cons:
I hate pots!
Slips and slides
NOT a balm.
Costly for such a small amount

All in all a nice lip gloss, crap balm.


on 1/22/2009 5:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I got the raspberry, strawberry and watermelon as a gift.

First thing's first, this is not a balm - it is NOT moisturizing. Actually, I found it quite drying. I suppose it's not that big of a problem though if you wear a REAL lip balm under.

As for the colours, they're pretty pigmented and add a wonderful shine to your lips. I really love layering them on different lipsticks to bring out a colour or add a different dimension.
ie: the watermelon balm is GREAT for bringing out the centre of your lip, or muting a colour so it is not as bright.

A big plus is they smell awesome, they really do.

As for the packaging, I HATE pots. I always feel like a lot of the product gets caught on my nail / pots are unsanitary / my finger has gloss residue on it afterwards :(.

These are wonderful lip GLOSSES. If you appreciate colour and yummy flavours then sure, get them. Just be warned that they are not 'balms' .


on 1/14/2009 5:19:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is bad... I saw a review with 3 stars and I though: Uh?. I got this as a Christmas stocking filler and what a disappointment...The balm is useless , doesn't moisture, doesn't nourish the lips, the shine is inexistent and the smell is disgusting. I had 3 different ones and now they all are as a Swap goodies ;) and from The Body Shop I can imagine this doesn't come cheap either. Go and buy vaseline in strawberry instead !!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2009 4:55:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

yummyummyummy
and oh so glossy
whee :D
not so moisture-y though
i like raspberry the best


on 1/1/2009 12:59:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I actually have 2 of these one in raspberry and watermelon. i think its a great product but its more of a gloss than a balm. i used this outside and sometimes over night. when i use it and wake up in the morning some of the product is still there and the it moisturizes quite good. it also give a nice sheer color. i would of course buy this product agian :]


on 12/19/2008 5:52:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Definitely smells nice
but there are better lip balms that actually do the job =_=
This was more of a gloss than a balm
I gave up on this after a couple of uses coz it was sticky & made my lips dry.


on 11/7/2008 2:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I found this to be less moisturizing than regular chapstick and Rosebud Salve, so I wasn't very impressed. The Strawberry one does smell nice and has a good tint to it though.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
Baby Lips Lip Balm
1541 Reviews
green apple
green apple
19 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Top Rated The Body Shop Products

Back to Top