August 29, 2014 | 1241 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - Define A Lash Waterproof



image 0image 1

rated 3.5(178 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 60% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 9/16/2009 4:26:00 AM More reviews by TofuCustard

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This was my first mascara that I used. And I researched a whole bunch of mascaras and this is what I chose, and I ABSOLUTELY love it. It separates my lashes, it really doesn't thicken nor give it volume. Because my lashes don't really need those things. The mascara just works perfectly for me. But my bottle is getting a bit old, and starting to clump, but a lash comb can fix that.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/13/2009 10:57:00 AM More reviews by Hikari

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I'm someone who likes testing new mascaras each time I need a new one and I was really curious for this mascara but had no reson to buy it because my Manhattan mascara was brilliant. And now Manhattan started to dry and I had the chance to try it out. To begin with I wanted the pink one, but it wasn't in waterproof so I took the green one. I love those colorfull tubes. Makes it easy to find the mascara. I love the flexible wand, it makes it so much easier to aply. But the thing is, there isn't much product on the wand, but still, one layer too much and it looks horrible. I does lenght the eyelashes but I noticed something that the tips of 1 or 2 eyelashes were bent down and it was a shock to me because nothing like this has never happened before. It didn't come off in sweaty practise, but in shower it was running all over my face. But once you get the hang of it it can make your lashes look really good.

I won't buy this again because...I'm a mascara addict and I want to try out as many mascaras as possible XD

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/6/2009 7:53:00 PM More reviews by pandasforeva123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm mixed so I have quite a lot of lashes with okay length, but no volume/curls at all. This is the ONLY mascara which will hold my curl. It makes my lashes really long, so I only use 1 and a half coats. It is truly waterproof, it's a huge pain to take off, even with a really good make-up remover. Also, if you're not careful when putting the brush back in, it'll slip and get all over your hands/tube, so one lippy off.
Overall, very good mascara!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/1/2009 10:47:00 PM More reviews by colettaaa

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this mascara for the summer-as a waterproof coat to put over my normal mascara. All i wanted from this mascara was to add definition to my lashes and to not smudge. (I have quite short lashes) I applied this mascara =and it lasted with no smudging! through 4 hours of sweaty volleyball. All i did was curl my eyelashes (heated the curler with my hairdryer for 10 seconds, held the eyelashes in the curler for 10 seconds), then apply one coat to all my lashes. It gave me noticeably longer eyelashes-natural and feathery-and not at all fake. It held the curl through an intense workout-and it removes pretty easily with some facial wipes+wash. I like the wand because it leaves few if any clumps on my lashes and its able to reach the corner of my eyes easily (probs cuz i don't have excessively thick lashes) this product does everything it say does-its called "define a lash" not "im wearing fake eyelashes" and gives a pretty natural look

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/31/2009 4:25:00 AM More reviews by curlylaura

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I bought this because I liked the original non-waterproof formula and thought "hey, great lashes and waterproof, I'm there". If only it was as good as the original. It makes lashes clumpy and fake looking and they can't be combed to de-clump. It also made my lashes dry and brittle, not an attractive look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/24/2009 3:13:00 PM More reviews by CellarDoor2

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is one of the two mascaras out there that are just SO bad that I just cannot use them and prefer to throw them out than to walk around wearing them (the other one being L'Oreal Volume Shocking, and the Maybelline one is a LOT worse). What a disappointment. I usually don't wear waterproof mascaras, but I needed to buy one for nights when I went swimming after work, and this one was on sale. I cannot speak for the formula, it may be good, I don't know; but the most important part in a mascara is the wand, which determines the look you get with it and the application itself - and this wand was absolutely horrendous. Like other reviewers, I also found it to be way too wiggly and soft, so that when I brushed it against my lashes, it just moved quickly with barely depositing any colour at all. My lashes looked broken, as if they had split ends, if you will. Almost like spider veins. It did NOTHING to lengthen them at all, I get better lengthening results from thickening mascaras. Just absolutely terrible, save your money. It doesn't matter whether you like length or volume or seperation - this mascara gives you NONE of those things, it's just bad all around. The only thing nice about it was the packaging, but who cares about it if the product does not work. Save your money, I cannot stress it enough. Instead go for L'Oreal Telescopic Clean Definition for really long lashes (my favourite! I've been stocking up on it for 2 years now!) or Rimmel Lycra Lash Extender for more natural-looking, soft long lashes. I'm gonna try returning it to the store (and I NEVER do that for products I've already used), and if they do not accept it, I will just throw it out. Maybe the product inventor was drunk. Maybe it's Maybelline.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/21/2009 8:46:00 AM More reviews by Sammyds

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I really like this.
I have very long and STRAIGHT eye lashes- and when I curl them and apply most mascaras (especially rimmel >_<), my lashes go back to being straight and even droopier.. Think Snuffleluffagus from Sesame Street.
This one however really holds the curl without being clumpy.
One coat is enough for a decent natural no-makeup look, which I love anyhow..
More than two coats can look pretty clumpy and gross.

So yeah overall for a natural look- good curl staying power and waterproofness. Oh yeah, i can't NOT wear waterproof. Regular mascaras, even smudge-resistant ones seem to melt off to give me awesome panda eyes.

Kudos to this mascara.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/13/2009 3:06:00 AM More reviews by mapn

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Green

Ok, I think it's time for me to sign up for mascara addicts anonymous... I seem to have the need to try everything that promises lengthening on the market. The newest adds to my mascara collection are Define-a-lash Waterproof and Lash Stiletto. I guess Define-a-lash is an alright mascara for creating a natural daytime look... if you have very low expectations. The brush is very flimsy and feels incredibly inferior to almost every other mascara brush I've used. The mascara really doesn't lengthen my lashes at all, and it definitely doesn't volumise (but it doesn't promise to either). It's very waterproof. If I'm wearing one coat, it comes off easily with a good makeup remover, but if I'm wearing two coats, it takes a bit of an effort to get it off, which is kind of a drag, because I feel it might be a bit harsh for my eye area. I don't think this mascara deserves more than 2 lippies.


Ingredients: Isoleucine , Beeswax - Cera Alba , Carnauba Wax - Cera Carnauba , Disteardimonium Hectorite , Water - Aqua , Allyl Stearate/VA Copolymer , Rice Bran Wax - Oryza Sativa Cera , Paraffin , Alcohol Denat , Polyvinyl Laurate , VP/Eicosene Copolymer , Propylene Carbonate , Talc , Ethylenediamine/Stearyl Dimer Dilinoleate Copolyme , PEG-30 Glyceryl Stearate , Propylparaben , Methylparaben , Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil , Iron Oxides - CI 77499 - May Contain

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/12/2009 11:43:00 AM More reviews by Impetuous

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I honestly don't know what drove me to buy this product. Maybe it was on sale or maybe I desperately needed new mascara, as I'd run out. Seems to happen a lot. Anyway, I don't know. It's ok. Nothing special. I bought it in my pre-MUA days, so I bought it based on my first impression and the packaging, not reviews. I possibly saw a commercial for it.


Firstly the brush is awful. It's so bendy; it literally feels like it's going to break at the base when I put it back into the tube. Also, the brush head is made out of an odd rubbery plastic and hasn't many bristles. It's very sparse to look at. You can't apply much pressure to your lashes, if you know what I mean. It's just so bendy and weird.


The formulation is fine, it wasn't too thick or thin, but was quite clumpy, especially toward the end of its life. At the beginning I didn't notice that much clumping, but there was some. Overall, it's quite a nice application if you apply it carefully with enough pressure to avoid clumping. Didn't do much to define my lashes, it kind of stuck them together, so in a way it volumized in a really odd way. Sometimes this looked nice, but it didn't look very natural. A little like porn star lashes, aka, overdone.


Good:
Generally a nice formulation.
Standard, nicely coloured average packaging.
Volumized in an odd way. Good if you like fake looking lashes.


Bad:
Clumpy, didn't define, unless define means to clump together.
Horrible brush.
Expensive in comparison to Colossal at 7.82 for 6ml.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/10/2009 5:14:00 AM More reviews by sarbear3686

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I kind of did this back to front. First i bought the product, then i read the reviews on whether it was good or not. I actually bought this mascara because i use Maybelline Define a Line eyeliner and it has been awesome. Normally i use Maybelline Volume Express XXL and i was just looking for something with that little bit extra. This mascara was awesome. I have very fine and fairly short lashes which tend to go in all different directions. I used my eyelash curler just to get my lashes all going in the one direction and then put the mascara on. I did both eyes top and bottom and didn't even have to dip my brush back in between eyes. It lengthened my lashes and the curl stayed all day - which it never does. Also easily applied the exact right amount for each lash - natural but dramatic enough at the same time...and no clumps!

Is this review helpful? Yes No