April 18, 2014 | 1236 users online

Primer/ Corrector - Laura Mercier - Foundation Primer Oil -Free



image 0

rated 3.0(184 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.0
  • 47% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 1/27/2010 7:23:00 AM More reviews by melodyt311

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

As I don't have particularly sensitive skin, before using this product I'll admit to never really understanding how a high-end skin care product would cause my skin to breakout.

Never, ever have I experienced such a bad reaction to a skin care product - and it took me a while to realise it was THIS primer which was causing obvious blemishes to appear on my face. My bf (who is used to my occasional spots from combo skin and lack of sleep), even asked me why and what I was using on my face to cause such spots!

I was really hoping this primer would work for me after recommendations from my friend. I took the primer to LM counter and exhanged it for the Tinted Moisturiser, which I've used in the past without any bad reactions.

As for a primer, I now use Becca's Mineral SPF30 or Mac's Prep & Prime... they both work wonderfully!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/19/2010 7:54:00 PM More reviews by PeachFuzzz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

I wanted to try a primer that would be suitable for acne pron skin. I don't break out with this and I do believe my foundation last longer but the price gets to me! I wouldn't purchase this again . Oh yeah! the squeeze tube is horrible!!!!!!!!!! it leaks. ugh...for the price it should be a pump.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/29/2009 9:07:00 PM More reviews by kieustar

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Very nice feel however it's way too expensive.

Does make my foundation stay longer and my face smoother.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/26/2009 8:14:00 PM More reviews by poppyglitters

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

not the best primer out there, i still got oily throughout the day and my makeup didnt stay put. there are much better, cheaper alternatives.(Smashbox, MUFE) dont like the packaging either.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/15/2009 4:20:00 AM More reviews by mangopancake88

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have clear normal to dry skin and have been wearing this for about 3 months. Given my success rate with the LM moisturising foundation, I didnít hesitate to try this product even though I had not tried any primers before.


Although I really liked the look and feel of this primer on my skin ( the gel-like, colourless, odourless and dries pretty quickly), I was sadly disappointed with the performance of it.


I will not repurchase this again for the following reasons:
* expensive
* no noticeable change to the staying power of my foundation
* didnít provide a smoother surface for my foundation to glide on easier
* created dry patches and flakiness on my skin
* made my foundation melt off faster
* although squeeze tube packaging is great for travelling, it leaks out once itís opened which means you lose a lot of product.


Overall, my foundation application is better without using this product. It didnít provide me with any benefits whatsoever, however, this may be largely due to the fact it doesnít suit my skin type.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/11/2009 11:30:00 AM More reviews by mandy412

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Other Eyes: Brown

I like this primer so much more than the much hyped Smashbox primer. It really locks my makeup in place and lasts all day. The texture is fine and it's not greasy, it absorbs easily and makes my makeup glide on.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/10/2009 3:51:00 PM More reviews by Kkendalls

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It did keep my makeup lasting long but i dont't like the texture
it was more like a lotion so i will be trying something else

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/25/2009 11:49:00 AM More reviews by sailorj

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I had decided to go back to LM Oil Free foundation when BB Smooth Skin Foundation was discontinued. I have very sensitive skin that is prone to itching and discomfort with the wrong product and rather than try every new foundation out there I thought I would just use the LM again. When I did 5 or so yrs back I had a good experience with it. Anyways, it was the winter when I did this and even though I am oily I still need something that isn't too greasy to moisturize just a tad and helps the foundation to sit right. I can't remember what was wrong with what I was using but the last time I had used the LM primer it was the original version, I didn't realize there was an oil-free. The original burned my skin a bit but the SA promised this was formulated for sensitive skin and would help my foundation to last. She was right. It's a totally different product than the regular primer, milky and just enough moisture and really makes your makeup last longer. If you are oily like me, nothing keeps you from shining and having to blot. But when I use this with her oil-free or silk creme foundation, my makeup doesn't break up from my oil production, or settle into unflattering places, or disappear. Try a sample. Every product isn't for everyone but if you have any of the issues I have described this is worth a shot. I also have not experienced any breakouts with this product whatsoever.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/25/2009 8:51:00 AM More reviews by foodporncess

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I don't know exactly what made me have the worst break-out of my life, but I'm beginning to suspect this primer. I've used LM primer before and liked the way it made my foundation look. To be fair, I think I used the regular and not this oil-free.

I just can't see the purpose in this product. My skin looks the same whether I use it or not, and it may have broken me out. In the future, I'll skip this stuff.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/9/2009 12:09:00 AM More reviews by Eireenu

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this product, my skin stays fresh and matte all day

Is this review helpful? Yes No