October 23, 2014 | 1885 users online

Loose Powders - Cover Girl - Professional Loose Powder



image 0image 1

rated 3.4(147 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 60% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 3/23/2009 9:38:00 PM More reviews by PlaysWithMakeup

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I was running out of my Revlon Colorstay Pressed Powder, and bought this product based on three things: 1) its cheap, 2) I like the container and 3) its loose powder.


I thought I'd give this a try....


First all, I noticed a lot of people wrote that it has a funny smell. Actually, almost all Cover Girl face products have Noxema in it, to help keep your skin in good condition and not break out. So thats what you're smelling. I personally like the smell :)


Second... I have oily skin, and maybe I'm used to Revolon's Colorstay Pressed Powder, but this Covergirl Loose Powder doesn't really last thru out the day. Within 3 hours of wearing it I noticed my face was shiny and that the powder didn't give me much coverage. I didn't use the puff, I used a kabuki brush that I have separately. At first, I thought it was good because the color matched well and it has a teeny amount of shimmer it in, which was nice. But it doesn't last long nor provide much coverage. With Revlon's Colorstay Pressed Powder, I didn't need any touch up at all or no reapplication.


Third, I will probably dump it out and use the containter for Revlon's Mineral Powder Foundation. The packaging for that powder really sucks so I'll probably dump it into the Covergirl Loose Powder container :P


Then again, this is fhe first day of me using the powder... but it doesn't look hopeful so far :(


I gave it two lippies, because of 1) the container and 2) the color is actually nice. Just needs to have better staying power and coverage. I guess this is good if you don't want much coverage at all?? Because I have oily skin, I'm looking for more of a matte finish, and this didn't give me the results I was looking for. Guess I'll go back to revlon!









1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/21/2009 4:08:00 PM More reviews by Heatherette07

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i have this in translucent medium and its great as a setting powder or for every day for light coverage, it goes on well and blends well and staying power is ok. it didnt make me break out or irritate my skin at all and it gives a soft and even matte finish to my skin, where this product really loses me is it has a pretty strong almost rosy/ baby powder scent to it that i could really do without. the packaging is ok ive never travelled with it but it can get messy. it comes with a cute puff and they give you quite alot for the amount your paying but i still really dont like the scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/5/2009 5:38:00 PM More reviews by macaddict1985

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

CONS:
1. can't stand the smell...it smells like something that's past the expiration date
2. makes my concealer look cakey
3. pop off lid + clumsy=disaster...not something you can carry arround to touch up your face
4. stains clothing

PROS:
1. my nose is sensitive so you may like the smell
2. i have dry skin so i think it works better for those who don't
3. it's cheap (around $6)
4. lasts a long time

OVERALL: i'm a firm believer in quality bc you only have one face. i don't trust drugstore powders at all. i can care less about brands, but my experience with this has made me hate drugstore powders. great if it works for you, but i definitely don't recommend it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/20/2009 1:29:00 AM More reviews by H3LL0K1TTY

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Given the price of this loose powder, it does its job nicely. I dont mind the smell, it actually reminds me of the one Neutrogena clenser, I used to use. It is a very light coverage and helps with minimizing shine on the face.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/11/2009 8:36:00 PM More reviews by mellybeerbelly

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Looks a little cakey over foundation, but looks very matte over moisturizer.. The bonus is that one containter can last a really long time!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2009 10:56:00 PM More reviews by HunnyTanned

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

before i used this product i used the maybelline version of this, and when i did started using this (because i was on a budget) i loved it! it dosn't make my skin oily or dry! i put it over my foundation and it leaves a smooth finish ALL day its awsome, i've been using it for about 5 years now (since i was 14!) and nothing can compare especially at the price! i hope this stuff never discontinues!! i could never live with out it :P

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/16/2009 10:32:00 AM More reviews by lizhmajumder

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have used this on and off for more than a decade. I used it in high school and college and rediscovered it about a year ago. It's the finest milled loose powder and I love the scent of Noxcema in it ( I know, weird). It's just always smelled and felt clean on my skin. Now I use it primarily to prevent shadow fall out under eyes and then I buff it into the skin under the eyes for a bright finish.

Works like a dream, it's an awesome product and I hope it doesn't get reformulated because it's such a classic.

The sifter jar is a bit annoying since it can get messy and it's not the best product for travel because it'll spill everywhere if you don't lay if flat.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/16/2009 1:24:00 AM More reviews by kristina86

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This prduct is good for setting makeup but does not provide much coverage at all (I wasn't looking for it to provide coverage anyway.) The smell is not a bad one but if you don't like it, the scent doesn't last anyway.

It does a good enough job for the dirt cheap price, and feels really soft on my skin. It does not break out my acne prone skin.

I would not reccomend applying this powder with the puff that comes in the package. Although I have not actually tried it, I think it would distribute way too much powder unevenly. I use my MAC kabuki brush to apply this and it works really well, giving a thin layer to my skin.

The packaging isn't so great but I put my makeup in a train case, so this package doesn't move around or tip on its side at all. I don't have problems with it spilling because of this, but I would never ever put this in my purse unless I put it in a ziplock bag first.

I don't notice if this helps oily skin, as I find that my MAC primer is what keeps my T-Zone matte. So, I can't comment on its use for mattifying.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/31/2008 More reviews by sbteinert

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I bought this only because I was tired of spending so much on powder since I go through it so fast.. and it turned out to be okay.

Firstly, I really do like this powder whenever I just wear concealer and the powder. It makes my face look very nice and neat but not made up. Makes me look fresh and presentable. I do not, however, like this powder whenever I use it over my liquid foundations. I have tried it with both MUF face&body and estee lauder's double wear and both times it looked fabulous whenever I put it on and looked horrible an hour later :(

Secondly, I know some people have problems with the packaging but I actually have no problems with it. The powder does sometimes get on things and leak out a bit but I have used mineral makeup before and so I guess this just doesn't bother me anymore. I do like though that the powder does not get stuck in the container like some of my others have.

All in all, I think this is a decent powder, especially if you are using it alone or with concealer. I definitely keep this around for days when I do not want to wear foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/29/2008 9:38:00 PM More reviews by xxxhoneybflyxxx

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I bought this in 115, translucent medium. My skin is a slight natural tan.

I use a face cream, liquid foundation and I set it with this. It works fine on me. It give me a matte look and gets rid of shine for me. I don't have much shine on the forehead so, I can see why it won't work on everyone.

I hate the packaging since if you turn it upside down it'll get everywhere. So I put a tape over some of the holes and it's fine now. I don't really mind the smell, the smell does no linger for long. It is very simple and simple results.

I have been buying this for years and I'll buy again unless I see something else.

Is this review helpful? Yes No