July 28, 2014 | 2073 users online

Loose Powders - Cover Girl - Professional Loose Powder



image 0image 1

rated 3.4(142 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 59% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2009 10:56:00 PM More reviews by HunnyTanned

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

before i used this product i used the maybelline version of this, and when i did started using this (because i was on a budget) i loved it! it dosn't make my skin oily or dry! i put it over my foundation and it leaves a smooth finish ALL day its awsome, i've been using it for about 5 years now (since i was 14!) and nothing can compare especially at the price! i hope this stuff never discontinues!! i could never live with out it :P

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/16/2009 10:32:00 AM More reviews by lizhmajumder

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have used this on and off for more than a decade. I used it in high school and college and rediscovered it about a year ago. It's the finest milled loose powder and I love the scent of Noxcema in it ( I know, weird). It's just always smelled and felt clean on my skin. Now I use it primarily to prevent shadow fall out under eyes and then I buff it into the skin under the eyes for a bright finish.

Works like a dream, it's an awesome product and I hope it doesn't get reformulated because it's such a classic.

The sifter jar is a bit annoying since it can get messy and it's not the best product for travel because it'll spill everywhere if you don't lay if flat.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/16/2009 1:24:00 AM More reviews by kristina86

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This prduct is good for setting makeup but does not provide much coverage at all (I wasn't looking for it to provide coverage anyway.) The smell is not a bad one but if you don't like it, the scent doesn't last anyway.

It does a good enough job for the dirt cheap price, and feels really soft on my skin. It does not break out my acne prone skin.

I would not reccomend applying this powder with the puff that comes in the package. Although I have not actually tried it, I think it would distribute way too much powder unevenly. I use my MAC kabuki brush to apply this and it works really well, giving a thin layer to my skin.

The packaging isn't so great but I put my makeup in a train case, so this package doesn't move around or tip on its side at all. I don't have problems with it spilling because of this, but I would never ever put this in my purse unless I put it in a ziplock bag first.

I don't notice if this helps oily skin, as I find that my MAC primer is what keeps my T-Zone matte. So, I can't comment on its use for mattifying.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/31/2008 More reviews by sbteinert

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I bought this only because I was tired of spending so much on powder since I go through it so fast.. and it turned out to be okay.

Firstly, I really do like this powder whenever I just wear concealer and the powder. It makes my face look very nice and neat but not made up. Makes me look fresh and presentable. I do not, however, like this powder whenever I use it over my liquid foundations. I have tried it with both MUF face&body and estee lauder's double wear and both times it looked fabulous whenever I put it on and looked horrible an hour later :(

Secondly, I know some people have problems with the packaging but I actually have no problems with it. The powder does sometimes get on things and leak out a bit but I have used mineral makeup before and so I guess this just doesn't bother me anymore. I do like though that the powder does not get stuck in the container like some of my others have.

All in all, I think this is a decent powder, especially if you are using it alone or with concealer. I definitely keep this around for days when I do not want to wear foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/29/2008 9:38:00 PM More reviews by xxxhoneybflyxxx

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I bought this in 115, translucent medium. My skin is a slight natural tan.

I use a face cream, liquid foundation and I set it with this. It works fine on me. It give me a matte look and gets rid of shine for me. I don't have much shine on the forehead so, I can see why it won't work on everyone.

I hate the packaging since if you turn it upside down it'll get everywhere. So I put a tape over some of the holes and it's fine now. I don't really mind the smell, the smell does no linger for long. It is very simple and simple results.

I have been buying this for years and I'll buy again unless I see something else.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/14/2008 4:59:00 PM More reviews by chocofan

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I don't like the smell of this ='[
But it does a pretty decent job
It's translucent, but if you use enough, your face goes white =I don't like the pouf it comes with;
it's obviously a really cheap one you can get at the dollar store

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/22/2008 5:54:00 PM More reviews by pkazoid

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Overall this is a good product for its price. If you use a lot of loose powder to set your make up, this powder works great. However, it does not stop shine. I find I have to start blotting oil off my skin a couple hours after application. The powder itself is tinted but it goes translucent on skin. The smell is a little off putting but it does not linger on skin. The packaging has disaster potential. If too much product is sitting on top of the sifter when you open it, the powder spills out. The lid also just pulls off, it does not screw on. I find this powder works just as well as its higher priced counterparts.
Pros - very cheap, sets makeup nicely.
Cons - unpleasant smell, potentially messy container, doesn't stop shine.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/22/2008 2:20:00 PM More reviews by hmag7386

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I am a firm believer in loose powders! This one works for me, but I can understand why it wouldn't work for everyone. I have pretty clear skin and don't use a foundation. I brush a little of this product all over my face to get rid of any shine. If you have just a little shine, this is great. I don't think it would work for oily skin. This powder instantly evens out my skin tone. I touch it up when I need to and it's a great quick fix if you just want to look freshened up instantly. It does have a strong fragrance to it which I'd rather not have, but it goes away over time. The packaging can get a little messy especially if it turns upside down in your bag or something, you open it up and POOF it goes everywhere, but I just be careful about it. And as a plus, the puff that comes with it is amazing! It the fluffiest I've seen and spreads the powder very well and very gently. This product meets my simple needs so I'd definitely buy it again. But if you have more complex needs I'd keep looking!

UPDATE: I decided to try out Ben Nye Cameo Visage Poudre (their Fair Translucent also works wonderful just the same), and I'm sold! Fragrance free, amazing mattifying qualities, perfect pigmentation, lasts all day, and even more of an amazing value than Cover Girl. My HG loose powder!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/4/2008 10:39:00 PM More reviews by xmusicxbunnyx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

worst loose powder ever. doesn't do anything except for look ugly

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/1/2008 11:18:00 AM More reviews by kgreene938

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

For the price this is, I think it works well. It's good for setting makeup, compact setting powder is better but if you bought loose you shouldn't expect the same results. I do wish they had a wider range of shades, I bought the lightest which works for me in summer but is too dark for other seasons, a shade or two lighter would be perfect. I use it over my TM in summer and it helps set it and reduce shine, it needs a re-fresh every few hours or so but anything in that price range and by a DS company will. The scent is definitely noticeable, but I have a sensitive nose and it didn't bother me, I've gotten used to it and I think I even like it. The packaging can get a little messy, but with care it won't get powder everywhere. When I first got it, I assumed the puff wasn't any good and set it aside, but using a big powder brush wasn't doing it for me with this. I switched over to the puff and have found much better results. Not my HG, but all-in-all, it's pretty good for the price. Will repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No