October 31, 2014 | 792 users online

Hair Color - L'Oreal - Feria Haircolor

rated 2.9(655 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.9
  • 49% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 5/3/2011 8:39:00 PM More reviews by Kim_in_CA

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

I've tried all L'Oreal hair color products now; Excellence, Preference, and Feria. I'm so disappointed in Feria. It's the most expensive of the three, and has a great variety of color selections. You would think with this type of investment, the company would make this their gold standard product. Not for my hair. My hair is fine and oily, and it takes a LOT to make it dry and dull. Feria did a great job of that. Even with the deep conditioner that comes with it, my hair was like straw after coloring. The color was so flat and dull (I tried two colors at different times, three months apart--first, Bronze Shimmer and Tortoiseshell Brown). The applicator was good. It had an extra-long tip which helped to part my long hair well. But other than that, nothing good about this product for me. I'm very disappointed and will go back to Preference. The only reason I strayed in the first place was the wide variety of color selections Feria offered and curiousity. Lesson learned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/22/2011 9:05:00 PM More reviews by Meglyn86

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is my "old faithful". My hair is naturally a medium blonde with red tones and I lighten it with Feria's 110 Starlet. This is the only brand that I've found that doesn't yellow my hair. It's not harsh on my fine hair either, although bc my hair is so fine, my first choice is to go to the salon.. but when we're tight for cash I ALWAYS come back to this.

I did give this a 3 out of 5, because I have tried to go darker with this brand as well. I used the 63 Sparkling Amber, and I've also tried the 62 Iced Mocha. With both of these, the color was super pretty for the first couple days and after the first and second washes, the color dramatically faded... both times I was left with an awful coppery, brassy tone.

Overall... I will purchase the Starlet blonde again and again. Typically, I've always lightened my hair.. but if I want to ever try going darker again.. Without question, I would go with Garnier Nutrisse.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/22/2011 8:51:00 PM More reviews by Roxxxy13

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am a virgin at home hair colourer but as I am feeling the penny pinch with 2 kids, thought I would try it out, especially since I needed to cover the greys. A friend of mine has been colouring her own hair for 20 years so how bad could it be? I tried this product - no particular reason why since it is my first go at it. I chose a colour close to my natural hair color - #45 French Roast. When it was all said and done, my hair didn't look like it had changed much except for my greys were covered - which is a good thing as I wanted to keep my hair colour the same as it was. HOWEVER....... it was NOT shiny, it was NOT shimmery, it was NOT multi tonal. In fact it WAS boring, it WAS dry, it WAS extremely staticy which is driving me crazy! My hair before was always in immaculate condition - soft, silky and manageable with greys and I was always getting colour at the salon. Does at home hair colour always make hair like this or is it just me being inexperienced with this? Would love any advice.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/17/2011 11:02:00 PM More reviews by cavalletta

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ive used every box dye. Seriously. I just keep coming back to this. I love the color. I think its called diamond. Extra light natural blonde. It really is the most natural looking blonde ive ever used. No yellow or orange, perfect baby blonde. Everyone keeps saying it dries out hair. To me, it does...sure, but no more than any other hair dye. When I was a redhead I used this fairly often. I actually dont detest any hair dyes out there, theyre all pretty much the same. Some run darker, some smell gosh awful, some are drippy some pull red. I think ferias biggest downfall is that it does not cover greys. I used this twice for mum in caramel kiss, a lovely shade, but it faded on her greys within a week. So I recommend preference for that. Anyway, if you want a nice blonde, try this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/31/2011 3:16:00 PM More reviews by Shawntae

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Run. I too read bad reviews for L'Oreal Feria, but not everyone is going to like the same thing so I decided to try it for myself. I choose black. Not with a blue or purple hue. Just black. Simple enough. I have dark hair naturally but had a auburn color when I started. I expected some color to show through. It would be covered when I redyed my hair black. No biggie. Well, after I followed the instructions my results were great. My hair was black. Just what I wanted. A few places showed my previous auburn, but I had expected this. I work for a professional haircare company so I use nothing but sulfate free shampoos, and have healthy hair. I know how to take care of my hair, and I have never had a problem with coloring my hair. Until now. Every shampoo since I colored my hair has washed out more and more color. My hair is now just a few shades darker than the color I started with. I contacted L'Oreal about my problem. I was told that they had no explanation and apologized. No offer to send me another color line, coupon for another product, not a damn thing. I should have put ketchup on my $10 and eaten it, at least then it wouldn't have been a total waste.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/25/2011 2:03:00 AM More reviews by missd1985

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is one of my top @ home dyes. I love how the color comes out and looks. I love that all the colors are so beautiiful. I have probably used 75% of the shades Feria offers and yes it smells bad but the end result is so worth it. My fav color belongs to this brand and no one seems able to match that color not even in the salon.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/23/2011 7:34:00 AM More reviews by yajuwen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

I dyed my hair with 21 starry night , which is the darkest color. It is a hair color that should fade gradually, I know. The thing I really hate to see my bath tub full of bluish gray water for about three weeks. I bought this to cover previous dyed light ash brown, it did the job. But only one week after, my hair was about a medium to dark ash brown already. Color is not my first concern, really. The reason keeps me stay away from this product as far as I can is that it left my hair fragile and super dry. Usually, any damage due to hair color recovers in about one month, but for this time, it didn't. I cut 8 inches of hair because of this. Save your money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/6/2011 3:08:00 PM More reviews by Chrissy2131

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I used the Brilliant Bordeaux color. I love the color and think it did look like the color on the box. It did dry out my hair a little but that's to be expected with any color. I usually go to the salon's that use aveda products which are more gentle. But I've used this color a couple times when I'm being more budget conscious. I liked it but am still looking, hoping I can find a box color someday that does less damage, like aveda does because it would be a lot cheaper than going to the salon!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/3/2011 12:41:00 AM More reviews by SimpleNSexy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got this in Medium Cool Tortoise Brown T63. Even my roots looked medium brown (with naturally soft black hair, my hair goes reddish when I dye it).
I like how shimmery&"multi-faceted" the colour is. The conditioner in the package was great. I could see that it did add some shine everytime I used it.

*UPDATE*
It's been a month, and now my hair is brassy light GINGER brown. My hair is literally ginger-brown, no kidding. It even look red-gold blonde in the sun and I hate it!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/2/2011 1:34:00 PM More reviews by MzSunkiss

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Medium Eyes: Green

I have tried almost every hair dye line from the drugstore and Sally's Beauty Supply. I've been dying my hair for like 10 years now and Feria is my all time fav. I always like trying new things and shades but have come to realize my hair looks and feels the best whenever I use this dye. Some say it's bad for ur hair, but my hair is always healthy looking/feeling after using it. The brown shades truely do shimmer and sparkle which is why I love it, alot of dark dye's will give u shiney hair but it will be 1 flat color, Feria gives u gorgeous dimension. It smells great for a dye and the conditioner is so nice.

Is this review helpful? Yes No