April 16, 2014 | 1991 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Pigment in Old Gold

rated 4.2(166 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 74% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/9/2005 5:44:00 PM More reviews by askewchick

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Old Gold is definitely one of my favorite pigments. It is a mermaid color in that it has a smooth darkened gold appearance gilded with slight green and brown shimmer. It is not a simple gold and reminds me a little of a darkened, more glittery version of Gorgeous Gold eyeshadow. It is very pigmented, but can be blended out to be sheer or built up to be more opaque. A true original.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/12/2005 9:12:00 AM More reviews by GimpyPoop

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Hm, how do I describe this delightful shade? Itís more of a Bronze that borders and flashes a lovely green. Like all pigments, a little goes a long way! This is one of the finer milled pigments that adheres nicely to the skin. Looks smashing with Blue Brown pigment or by itself even. I even bought Green Brown Pigment because I was told it is very similar to this pigment. I usually loathe having similar colors, but I donít mind with this unique color! I would definitely re-purchase this gem of a Pigment! <3

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/12/2005 4:31:00 AM More reviews by Christina1835

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I can see what all the good reviews are for. As previously stated, Old Gold is definitely Green Brown's lighter sister. It has a great shine to it, almost metallic like and is very versatile. To me, this is a shimmery mix of a shiny chartreuse and medium brown. This is very frosty on the lid even without use of water, base, or mixing medium and that is certainly a positive for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/22/2005 10:02:00 PM More reviews by dazee

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Old Gold is such a stunning color, not at all what I thought it would be! It's super frosty and I was suprised by the flash of green. I wore it today, and I think it really made my blue eyes pop. This color is just elegant, I can't think of another word for it! I can't wait to play more with this one, mixing & pairing it up with other colors. I would call this a must-have and one you really need to see in person to understand what's so special about it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/1/2005 10:41:00 PM More reviews by eenie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a stunning, understated color. They really captured the color of actual old money in this pigment. It's a tarnished gold color that flashes green. Applied wet, the green really flashes. I use this over Chartru pigment to really bring out the gold.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/1/2005 10:15:00 PM More reviews by MissLelly

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

GORRRRGEOUS colour! A stunning but wearable shimmery true gold that switches to a chartreusey green in the literal blink of an eye. So beautiful you really have to try it for yourself. I use it with Rimmel cream shadow as a base to keep it on as a shadow or liner that lasts all day. At first, $22 CDN seemed quite steep for a pot of pigment, but I am SOO glad I bought this--now I can't do without it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/31/2004 2:58:00 PM More reviews by fabmac1

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I don't have the FULL size bottle, but i do have a very generous sample amount. IF i ever ran out, i would purchase the full size. This is a GORGEOUS colour!! THe name is a little deceiving thus one lippie off :).. It's browny base that flashes a vibrant lime green! I don't find it too flashy at all and get many compliments when i wear this out. I don't really see any gold maybe just a hint of it at certain angles when the base colour (brown) shows through.. anyhow.. regardless.. this is an absolutely stunning colour!! makes dark brown eyes really *pop*.. I like using this ontop of my UD Soot liner, just a thin line under my lower lash line.. BEAUTIFUL!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/22/2004 12:57:00 AM More reviews by chimera59

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got this as a sample and I was suprised because it doesn't really look gold-it's more of a very tarnished gold. Similar to green brown, but lighter and with more gold/brown undertones. Very unique and very flashy. I would buy it again if I ever run out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/31/2004 8:02:00 PM More reviews by badpenny

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This was rather disappointing to me. I like the dual color aspect, but it's just not pretty. Plus I've discovered pigments are just too darn much work for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/31/2004 4:30:00 AM More reviews by DepecheDressage

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

mollypocket described this perfectly: it's green brown's lighter slightly more golden younger sibling. It looks kind of how gold would look if it went as green as copper does when it ages. Pretty!

Is this review helpful? Yes No