September 2, 2014 | 1486 users online

Palettes - LORAC - PRO Palette

rated 4.5(179 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 83% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 9/11/2013 12:39:00 AM More reviews by RachelCouture

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is by far one of my best palettes ever! The pigmentation is great. Matte as well as shimmer shadows. You'll find colors that compliment your skin tone. I love love love this palette.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/10/2013 12:44:00 PM More reviews by nattiekins05

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

First of all, i just want to say that Lorac is such an awesome brand, and i have NEVER had bad luck with any of their products... i have tried many bronzers, illuminators, and foundations, but never had i bought any.of their shadows, or any of their eye makeup. so about 6 months ago, i purchased the pro pallet and i loved it so much that i wanted try more of the Lorac eye makeup. At ulta, they had an exclusive limited edition 'dazzling dozen' shadow set: full sized, each in their own little tin for $35 (each purchased separately is $228 value). Anyway. between the two sets, i had MANY shadows to chose from. MOST of them were matte, but there were a couple that had a touch of shimmer. I normally stay far far away from shimmer- i am not in the 8th grade, and cleaning up the fallout and keeping the shimmer ONLY on your eyelids (even while using a shadow primer) is nearly impossible. That however was not the case. The shimmer was very subtle and it was very fine, with no chunks of glitter or anything like that. I have even slept in my makeup after a night out, and the shimmer was everything but all over my face. It was very easy to remove and came right off with a makeup remover wipe. oh, i almost forgot, like another reviewer had stated- this was by far the easiest of all my shadows to blend. i applied them with a shadow brush, and used my smudge brush to blend the colors together. This made my smokey eye take half the time it normally would. It was a breeze. The only downfall is the price, some may think its way too expensive, but when it saves me time- i will pay the exyra money, hands down.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/1/2013 10:38:00 PM More reviews by aprilpinkbeauty

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I own a lot of makeup and palettes but I always end up reaching for this one! I only got this for Christmas and I've hit pan on 5 of the eyeshadows already. It has the perfect mix of shimmery and matte eyeshadows to give you any look you want - from natural to dramatic and smokey. I wear this to work and I've used it to create night time looks as well so its very versatile and a must have to any makeup collection - whether you are just starting out or professionally a makeup artist.

All the eyeshadows are highly pigmented and they blend like a dream!!! The eye primer is the best out there besides TFSI ...I love it and it lasts all day. My favorite shadows are Taupe and Mauve....they are the perfect transition or crease colours. Cream is an amazing highlight colour. Nude and Lt Bronze are my go to lid colours for every day. Pewter is perfect for a smokey eye. If you don't own this yet you have to go out and get it! I love this more than my UD Naked Palettes.

When I run out I will definitely be repurchasing because I cannot be without any of the colours. The palette snaps shut with a magnet and travels well (none of the eyeshadows have broke yet while travelling). It also lays flat so you can keep it open as you apply your makeup. I use this professionally (I am a MUA) and personally. My one and only complaint would be that the pans should be a bit bigger - I would definitely pay a few more dollars to have wider or longer pans in the palette so it lasts a bit longer. I absolutely ADORE this product and really want to try more products from Lorac.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/18/2013 5:50:00 PM More reviews by alixloring

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

The best palette I've EVER owned. I'm more of a matte shadow type of gal, so I was so excited to see that half the palette was matte colors! (as opposed to most palettes, where there's like 2 or 3 out of 12 that are matte) The colors are beautiful and I have come up with tons and tons of completely different looks using this palette. The packaging could be a little better, it is flimsy, but it doesn't bother me. I will absolutely 100% repurchase this once I start hitting pan on some of my favorite shades! 5 lippy's for Lorac Pro Palette! :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/16/2013 3:23:00 AM More reviews by x3rjessikers

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This palette is super nice. Let's start off with the packaging. The packaging is cardboard, feels a little flimsy and has that texture on it that can make it super dirty if you still have foundation on your fingers and you grabbed for this palette. My palette is pretty dirty looking, But I'm scared if i wipe it down with alcohol or a makeup cleaning wipe, it'll ruin the texture forever. D: Although it feels a little flimsy, its quite durable. I've traveled with it a few times and nothing has happened. Moving on inside. The mirror is a nice size and is a real mirror, none of that fun house, reflective stuff. It's good for doing your eye makeup up close, but a bit small to do your whole face makeup with just this mirror. The shadows are in a fairly small pan. A LOT smaller than what you would get in a UD naked palette (for example). The top row is all matte (minuse White, that has some shimmer in it) where as the bottom row is all shimmery. The shadows itself are very soft, very blendable, very pigment, and verrrrrryyy silky. When I first put my brush in it, I was surprised as how much powder it kicked up (my first experience with Lorac shadows). However, if you gently place your brush in it without digging it in, you'll get a decent amount of color. You can create so many different eye looks with this, ranging from barely there to a deep, dark smokey eye. I brought this palette with me on vacation and it was really all I needed. No need for any other palette or any other shadow. It really is versatile and gave me plenty of different options of different looks I wanted to create. Overall, the shadows are nice and silky. The pans are a bit small but as long as you're more sparing with how you use them, it should last forever. I've had mine for over a year and it still looks brand spanking new. The mirror is good and its great for traveling. I would definitely reach for this to take traveling over my naked palettes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/15/2013 11:00:00 PM More reviews by surrealmeal

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

WARNING: Highly nit-picky review ahead

I am sorry to be somewhat of a downer among glowing reviews, but I do want to provide a fair perspective of my experience.

I longed for the Lorac Pro Palette for six months before finally deciding to bite the bullet and purchase it. It looked like the perfect neutral eyeshadow palette, and I was THRILLED that half the shades were matte and half were shimmery, and they were organized in a logical fashion.

CONS:

-The first knock against it came with the packaging. Beautiful upon first being unboxed, but of a matte cardboard material that seemed to want to attract every speck of powder and moisture in its vicinity. I almost felt uncomfortable holding it, and I have a feeling it would start showing wear very quickly.

-The second knock was when I realized just how small the shadows are. I know, I could have payed better attention before purchasing it to the ounces listed or the size in comparison pics, so the expectation for larger pans was partially my fault. But really, I felt like I could barely fit a finger tip or brush into the pans without smudging shadow onto the edges of the packaging.

Getting onto the real important part, the eyeshadow application:
-My first issue: not all the matte eyeshadows were actually matte.
Both White and Lt Pink had sparkles. It wasn't just overspray, or residue from the shimmery shades in the bottom row; the shades had definitive flecks of sparkles within the formula. Now this might not be a deal-breaker for many because the flecks are still within a matte base, but it just didn't work for me.
-Additionally, both Cream and Lt Pink were sheer and just too light, even for my fair (NC10-15) skin, and neither looked very different when applied (except for the sparkles in Lt Pink.)
-Taupe was far too warm to be considered taupe. It's just a light warm brown.
-Champagne had chunks of glitter.
-Nude disappeared onto my eyelids.

Sorry about all that.

Moving on to the PROS (Or, why did I still give it 4/5 lippies?):
-Nice mirror.
-Great organization and variety of shades.
-Creamy, soft formula.
-Absolutely gorgeous darker shades. Pewter looked fabulous slapped on the lid. I would almost keep the palette for that shade alone. Slate applied damp as a liner had to be one of the prettiest, most unexpectedly flattering shades I've ever seen.

Bottom line: I was disappointed by the shades I had been most interested in, and I'm not a fan of the packaging or the small size of the pans, BUT I think the palette is still a valiant effort on Lorac's part and I know that many out there will love it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/13/2013 1:58:00 PM More reviews by kamberc94

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I love the sleek packaging, and the price is not too bad for what you get. Very creamy and pigmented, with great color variety(in nudes). I feel like if you invest in this palette you need NO MORE NUDES!!! You would pretty much have it all, even smokies!

Very pleased with this purchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/12/2013 11:08:00 AM More reviews by psskclayton

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

The other reviewers have said it all. This is the best palette I have ever purchased. I love it so much that it is used in every eye look, every single day. Finally! A product that lives up to the hype!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/1/2013 12:36:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Like all Lorac shadows these shadows are nothing short of amazing. They're so soft, very highly pigmented and blend like nothing else is the world. If I could could use one palette for the rest of my life I'd say this would be it... if it didn't have one major fail. The packaging. First, I don't think the shadows are packed well enough. Lorac shadow tend to feel a little loose for a potted shadow so they're not well suited for mini pans. Shadows in mini pans tend to break easily and that is a major problem for this palette. Within 2 months of getting this palette all 3 of the light shimmery shades fell apart. The case is also made of cheap cardboard and the finish on the outside attracts dirty makeup smudges like nothing I've ever seen. I take pretty good care of my makeup so the fact that this thing looks like crap already is really disappointing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/1/2013 12:35:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Like all Lorac shadows these shadows are nothing short of amazing. They're so soft, very highly pigmented and blend like nothing else is the world. If I could could use one palette for the rest of my life I'd say this would be it... if it didn't have one major fail. The packaging. First, I don't think the shadows are packed well enough. Lorac shadow tend to feel a little loose for a potted shadow so they're not well suited for mini pans. Shadows in mini pans tend to break easily and that is a major problem for this palette. Within 2 months of getting this palette all 3 of the light shimmery shades fell apart. The case is also made of cheap cardboard and the finish on the outside attracts dirty makeup smudges like nothing I've ever seen. I take pretty good care of my makeup so the fact that this thing looks like crap already is really disappointing.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No