August 20, 2014 | 1805 users online

Palettes - LORAC - PRO Palette

rated 4.5(175 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/16/2013 3:23:00 AM More reviews by x3rjessikers

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This palette is super nice. Let's start off with the packaging. The packaging is cardboard, feels a little flimsy and has that texture on it that can make it super dirty if you still have foundation on your fingers and you grabbed for this palette. My palette is pretty dirty looking, But I'm scared if i wipe it down with alcohol or a makeup cleaning wipe, it'll ruin the texture forever. D: Although it feels a little flimsy, its quite durable. I've traveled with it a few times and nothing has happened. Moving on inside. The mirror is a nice size and is a real mirror, none of that fun house, reflective stuff. It's good for doing your eye makeup up close, but a bit small to do your whole face makeup with just this mirror. The shadows are in a fairly small pan. A LOT smaller than what you would get in a UD naked palette (for example). The top row is all matte (minuse White, that has some shimmer in it) where as the bottom row is all shimmery. The shadows itself are very soft, very blendable, very pigment, and verrrrrryyy silky. When I first put my brush in it, I was surprised as how much powder it kicked up (my first experience with Lorac shadows). However, if you gently place your brush in it without digging it in, you'll get a decent amount of color. You can create so many different eye looks with this, ranging from barely there to a deep, dark smokey eye. I brought this palette with me on vacation and it was really all I needed. No need for any other palette or any other shadow. It really is versatile and gave me plenty of different options of different looks I wanted to create. Overall, the shadows are nice and silky. The pans are a bit small but as long as you're more sparing with how you use them, it should last forever. I've had mine for over a year and it still looks brand spanking new. The mirror is good and its great for traveling. I would definitely reach for this to take traveling over my naked palettes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/15/2013 11:00:00 PM More reviews by surrealmeal

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

WARNING: Highly nit-picky review ahead

I am sorry to be somewhat of a downer among glowing reviews, but I do want to provide a fair perspective of my experience.

I longed for the Lorac Pro Palette for six months before finally deciding to bite the bullet and purchase it. It looked like the perfect neutral eyeshadow palette, and I was THRILLED that half the shades were matte and half were shimmery, and they were organized in a logical fashion.

CONS:

-The first knock against it came with the packaging. Beautiful upon first being unboxed, but of a matte cardboard material that seemed to want to attract every speck of powder and moisture in its vicinity. I almost felt uncomfortable holding it, and I have a feeling it would start showing wear very quickly.

-The second knock was when I realized just how small the shadows are. I know, I could have payed better attention before purchasing it to the ounces listed or the size in comparison pics, so the expectation for larger pans was partially my fault. But really, I felt like I could barely fit a finger tip or brush into the pans without smudging shadow onto the edges of the packaging.

Getting onto the real important part, the eyeshadow application:
-My first issue: not all the matte eyeshadows were actually matte.
Both White and Lt Pink had sparkles. It wasn't just overspray, or residue from the shimmery shades in the bottom row; the shades had definitive flecks of sparkles within the formula. Now this might not be a deal-breaker for many because the flecks are still within a matte base, but it just didn't work for me.
-Additionally, both Cream and Lt Pink were sheer and just too light, even for my fair (NC10-15) skin, and neither looked very different when applied (except for the sparkles in Lt Pink.)
-Taupe was far too warm to be considered taupe. It's just a light warm brown.
-Champagne had chunks of glitter.
-Nude disappeared onto my eyelids.

Sorry about all that.

Moving on to the PROS (Or, why did I still give it 4/5 lippies?):
-Nice mirror.
-Great organization and variety of shades.
-Creamy, soft formula.
-Absolutely gorgeous darker shades. Pewter looked fabulous slapped on the lid. I would almost keep the palette for that shade alone. Slate applied damp as a liner had to be one of the prettiest, most unexpectedly flattering shades I've ever seen.

Bottom line: I was disappointed by the shades I had been most interested in, and I'm not a fan of the packaging or the small size of the pans, BUT I think the palette is still a valiant effort on Lorac's part and I know that many out there will love it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/13/2013 1:58:00 PM More reviews by kamberc94

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I love the sleek packaging, and the price is not too bad for what you get. Very creamy and pigmented, with great color variety(in nudes). I feel like if you invest in this palette you need NO MORE NUDES!!! You would pretty much have it all, even smokies!

Very pleased with this purchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/12/2013 11:08:00 AM More reviews by psskclayton

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

The other reviewers have said it all. This is the best palette I have ever purchased. I love it so much that it is used in every eye look, every single day. Finally! A product that lives up to the hype!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/1/2013 12:36:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Like all Lorac shadows these shadows are nothing short of amazing. They're so soft, very highly pigmented and blend like nothing else is the world. If I could could use one palette for the rest of my life I'd say this would be it... if it didn't have one major fail. The packaging. First, I don't think the shadows are packed well enough. Lorac shadow tend to feel a little loose for a potted shadow so they're not well suited for mini pans. Shadows in mini pans tend to break easily and that is a major problem for this palette. Within 2 months of getting this palette all 3 of the light shimmery shades fell apart. The case is also made of cheap cardboard and the finish on the outside attracts dirty makeup smudges like nothing I've ever seen. I take pretty good care of my makeup so the fact that this thing looks like crap already is really disappointing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/1/2013 12:35:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Like all Lorac shadows these shadows are nothing short of amazing. They're so soft, very highly pigmented and blend like nothing else is the world. If I could could use one palette for the rest of my life I'd say this would be it... if it didn't have one major fail. The packaging. First, I don't think the shadows are packed well enough. Lorac shadow tend to feel a little loose for a potted shadow so they're not well suited for mini pans. Shadows in mini pans tend to break easily and that is a major problem for this palette. Within 2 months of getting this palette all 3 of the light shimmery shades fell apart. The case is also made of cheap cardboard and the finish on the outside attracts dirty makeup smudges like nothing I've ever seen. I take pretty good care of my makeup so the fact that this thing looks like crap already is really disappointing.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/26/2013 1:59:00 PM More reviews by joneschick114

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green


HG eyeshadow palette! By far my go to and most used!

For xmas 2013 there were soo many awesome kits and palettes floating around- so hard to choose. I was stuck between the Carried Away set by Tarte and Too Faced's Shadow Bon Bons. But the Lorac Pro was a constant want, and seeing as how I don't have the Nakeds 1 and 2 or the Naked Basics, I figured this would be a good nude palette dupe. Its more than that and I couldn't be happier with it!
Pros: Cheaper than the Nakeds, has luxue, creamy shadows and silky mattes, sleek, lightweight package with magnetic enclosure, easy to store and flip up and use, has everything you need! You get jewel toned smokey shades, and a ton of neutrals. I love the mattes on the top and use those the most. White, Cream and Light Pink make great lid and highlight colors, as do the shimmers Nude and Champagne on the bottom row. I love the uniqueness of Mauve and its versatility- smokey eye blend out/crease. Taupe is a great smokey eye blender shade and I use Taupe at the brow base with Sable in the middle and Espresso at the tail. Ta Da! Perfect brows! Espresso is great for a brown liner and Black is a perfect smokey eye base or liner. Sable is wonderful for soft smokey eyes. Lt. Bronze is a great lid color, Gold is great on the lower lash line, Pewter doubles as a smokey eye/crease/lid color and is super unique, and as is Garnet, which is also versatile. (Can go with Pewter or darker with Deep Purple and Slate). Deep Purple and Slate round out the palette, making it a smokey eye, as well as neutrals eye palette! Its perfect for travel, has a pretty good mirror and its been my most used palette. I just find myself compelled to play with it more and more and its so easy to pop on some shadow in the morning and it will look fool-proof. The top row of mattes look excellent with black winged liner- so you have your pin-up looks right there. Most used shades: Cream and Taupe. Most unique: Mauve, Pewter and Garnet.
Cons: There are hardly any, but I will mention that the package gets easily scuffed, even with gentle handling, so it will not remain matte black like it comes in the mail. Also, Mauve for instance is a little stiffer to work with, so if your brush is at all a little damp it will be hard to blend this shade out- or even when your brush is dry- so just take your time a little with Mauve- but the extra second or two is worth it as looks just gorgeous in the crease with some browns, or as a transition blending color. Its really a stand out shade in the palette, and I feel like a lot of palettes include shimmery roses but NOT matte mauves. All in all, love these buttery shadows- with their ease of use, and range of looks. LORAC makes insanely good shadows and this palette deserves all the hype it gets!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/26/2013 7:35:00 AM More reviews by Truthaboutmakeup

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Over all I found myself using more than my naked pallete. Colors are good and pigmented . I recommend it .

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/25/2013 3:12:00 PM More reviews by rileyt2000

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have recently made the decision to by a higher end palette. I had considered the naked basics, and naked palettes. I then came across this palette. It appealed to me because of its variety of matte and shimmer colors. The price was cheaper than Naked 1 and 2 plus it had 16 colors instead of twelve. The color is great on warm in cool skin tones. There are many easy to use neutrals and a few colors that are bit more bold.A lot of the colors hav plum/copper tones in them. My only issue is that they dont have a lighter brown color similar to Naked form naked 1/naked basics. I am exteremly fair and the other crease colors in the palette are a bit dark for when i am trying to go with a more natural eye look. Other than that I recommend this palette.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/23/2013 11:20:00 PM More reviews by payjark

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I don't know how I ever lived without this! It was a steep price but the shadows are so pigmented and smooth its so worth it. The colors are great for warm and cool toned people imo. I can create so many looks with this and I'm so glad I finally bought this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No