April 23, 2014 | 1909 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Candy Yum-Yum

rated 4.5(131 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 83% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/16/2011 5:41:00 PM More reviews by mocha1980

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this lipstick. I bought the last one at my local mac store.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/15/2011 5:59:00 PM More reviews by wicked1

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I fell in love with this lipstick when I saw it on Kelly Osbourne on The Talk. I agree with the other reviewers that this lipstick is not for the faint of heart. Albeit a bright neon pink matte lipstick it somehow ends up being wearable. If I apply with a lipbrush it tones it down a bit, or if I am going out I can apply right from the tube for more color. I use this with magenta lip liner and the girl loves boy plushglass. this is going to be a staple for summer. for reference I am MAC NW35.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/15/2011 4:54:00 PM More reviews by CarlaN

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

There's no point in repeating what's already been said about Candy Yum-Yum's brightness: it's off scale.

Unless you *seriously* LOVE bright lips, and pink, stay away; far, far away.

I already own the following MAC fuchsia/bright pink lipsticks: Hollywood Nights, Girl About Town, Impassioned, Show Orchid, Full Fuchsia, Fun 'N' Sexy, and Lickable.

Yep, MAC, I give up; keep right on cranking out the bright pink lipsticks, and I'll keep right on buying them.

Candy Yum-Yum is different, though, truly. It's not a deep bright pink like Hollywood Nights, nor a reddish bright pink like Girl About Town. I guess Show Orchid comes closest to being comparable to Candy Yum-Yum, and it's still different. Show Orchid is as uber- bright as Candy Yum-Yum, but the latter is pink, pink, pink, pink, and pink, while Show Orchid is ever so sliiiightly deeper, with a splash of purple. Both lipsticks are vivid and dazzling, but are definitely *not* dupes for each other. Believe me, Candy Yum-Yum is different from any other lipstick I've seen MAC come out with.

Even though it's billed as a matte, Candy Yum-Yum is more like a Satin or maybe a Mattene, to me, smooth, creamy, vanilla-scented, long-wearing, non-drying.

Candy Yum-Yum is light-bright piink, through and through. I can see where the "pink highlighter marker" references come from. To describe it as "fluoresecent" would be only a slight exaggeration. If you have an aversion to pink, this lipstick might make you physically ill.

But if you, like I, enjoy pink, the more intense the better, try to jump on Candy Yum-Yum. It's a fun, fresh, face-brightening, surprisingly wearable shade; just right for spring. Don't assume that you can't pull it off unless you're dark-skinned; I'm NW15, and it lights up my entire face. I like to wear it straight from the tube, blotted lightly, with Trimmed In Pink liner and a drop of Ms. Fizz Dazzleglass, paired with taupe eyeshadows. It's not for the timid, but for those of us who love bright lips, it's a real kick! :D

I've stopped buying backups, but this would definitely be worth buying again!

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/14/2011 3:13:00 PM More reviews by rookiemk

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

For some reason, I thought this lippie was going to be a hot, matte, fuchsia lipstick. Once I received my package, which I like to add took forever to be shipped, I was quite disappointed in the color. It's not a fuchsia pink but a neutral hot, neon pink. I would say it's a cousin to Pink Nouveau. But, anyway, I'm not taking off two lippies for buying the wrong color. I have a problem with the application of the product. Candy Yum Yum is quite patchy when applied to the lips. And, another reason, I know this is matte lipstick and it's important to exfoliate and moisturize but after doing all that my lips, the lipstick emphasized my lines. CYY is a beautiful lipstick. I just wished it wasn't so patchy.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/14/2011 1:16:00 AM More reviews by trinigal

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

the most amazing pink lippie on a brown girl!! I love it. It's matte so exfoliate and moisturize those lips first. It's a blue based pink that has a neon look. It's very pigmented. I love it. for ref i'm nc45-50

To prevent dry lips, as this is a matte lippie, i use Mac's prep and prime lip primer and i let it sit on my lips for about 3 mins then i apply the lipstick. Also, it looks really good with a cremesheen lipglass on top. I use ever so rich cremesheen. Just use a clear, light pink or light lilac lipgloss and it really pops, no liner necessary unless your a slave to your lipliner..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2011 5:28:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I only bought this color because I knew it was going to sell out and I had to have it. This color is unlike any other MAC color is is a beautiful blue based fuscia hot pink. It looks great on but I doubt I would ever wear it out because I am more of a nude lip girl. But worth it to have in your collection.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/12/2011 9:48:00 PM More reviews by ladolcediva

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Absolutely fab!!! I'm an NC44 and I love it straight out of the tube.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/12/2011 9:43:00 PM More reviews by Rachaell

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

SO much like last year's Liberty of London Petals and Peacocks lipstick! The only difference is P&P has a TAD more fuschia in it and yum yum is matte. They look almost identical as they are both super bright pink!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/12/2011 1:40:00 PM More reviews by aresbabe

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this lipstick! I just got this and so glad I did. I have been looking for the perfect pink. Had previously bought Chatterbox but it just didn't do it for me. This does!! MUA told me this color rocks as an accessory to a plain outfit and suggested I use with bronzer and shimmer on the eyes. Great tips. Will def play around with it and update with my best look. Must have pink for spring/summer. Enjoy!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/12/2011 1:13:00 PM More reviews by manukatze

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I was hesitant to purchase this, because somehow it reminded me of barry m lip paint in shocking pink..so today i went back to the store and swatched them side by side and so glad i did: girls they are PERFECT dupes!!!! hope this helps;-)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No