September 17, 2014 | 981 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Lustre in Lovelorn



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.4(155 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 81% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 10/23/2009 1:35:00 PM More reviews by HannahBoBana

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Well this seem's to be a marmite product, in terms of the colour anyway. It either look's amazing with your skintone, or it make's you look like a barbie. I seem to fall between the category between the two. Sometimes when I apply this lipstick, I think I look amazing, so I go out, and see my reflection and wipe it off because I feel.....well.....daft. I think for paler toned lips this is a shock, it's true to the colour in the tube and it smells devine, but it's just not wearable. As always MAC hit gold with this product in terms of smell and forumlation, but the colour is just to mad. But if you're into the bright lipsticks, give this a shot, I'm sure you'll love it.
Rating- 3 lippies, Lovley Texture, forumla & scent
Price- Well, it's MAC so, so you pay for quality.
Packaging- Lovley as always, I just wipe the lipstick with a wipe now and then.
Would I repurchase?- No, I wouldn't, theres other lipsticks that would go better with my skintone.

Hannah
x

EDIT.- I've changed the ratings to 4 stars because i've actually found this can be wearable if you wear it over a nude base. I first apply foundation to my lips & then lightly dab this lipstick over it & you get a pinky nudish shade. I never EVER get away with a nude lip, but this looks so pretty on. It looks lovley with a brown smokey neutral eye. Try this, but makesure to moisturise before you apply foundation of your lips, it doesn't work if your lips are dry and chapped. Hope this helps.
x

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/23/2009 1:09:00 PM More reviews by sheenl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a barbie doll pink with cool undertones. I was adventurous when I bought this lippie as I usually wear netural rose, pink or peachy colors. It is a really cute pink but unfortunately, I learned from this that I don't really look good in cool-toned pinks. I really wanted to love this because it is so pretty in the packaging. Up for swap!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/6/2009 1:05:00 PM More reviews by Gothoria

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I think this is a very nice light pink with blue undertone, I got it coz i've been lookin 4 a pink that wont make my teeth look yellow or my skin 2 look darker, so the artist swatched it on me & I liked it, on my NC35 skin its a lil pale, but i usually wear it with bright eye looks like if im wearing bright greens or blues..
plus its buildable, unlike my other lusters they'r pretty sheer, Lovelorn is creamier..
I gave this product 4 lippies coz i think its pretty doopable as pinks r available n any brands 4 cheaper prices, but I cant complain much coz I got it 4 a Back 2 Mac..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/29/2009 9:50:00 PM More reviews by PCA05KAT

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have a confession......This is my first proper pink lipstick! I have never thought that pink lipstick suited me. I have always bought pinky corals or just plain sheer lip products (I'm more of an eyeshadow person). Also, alot of pink lippies are too light and they look AWFUL on my pale neutral skin, dark hair and very pigmented lips(sorry I'm digressing here) So this blue toned medium pink is a change for me (It is def not fuschia). Corals still suit me better but I really do love this. It just gives my lips an bit of extra cool-toned pinky-ness if that makes sense. Although it may look bright on someone with pale lips. People on here have called it pornstar pink, I disagree, I mean anything can look pornstar....it just depends what other makeup your wearing with it. I like it with brown-ish neutral-ish eye, a good dose of eyeliner and a natural blush! It is not uber pigmented (which I love), so it doesn't look OTT. It weres off quickly but it's a dream to apply and works well with a sticky gloss to increase longevity (I use Revlon Pink Afterglow). Will definately buy again, it is a staple in my collection!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/17/2009 10:29:00 PM More reviews by PinkSoFoxy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Lovelorn is a highly pigmented bright Fuchsia Pink. It looks so pretty in the tube but beware...it goes on strong and bright. It's not a very wearable color. My NC35 skintone is definitely not a good match for this color of lipstick. I will not repurchase. However, on the right person and skintone this would be lovely.

Since I already have this lipstick...I will make the best of it. That's where MAC Myth comes in, Myth is my secret weapon when it comes to fixing problem lipsticks. With Lovelorn, I apply Myth as my base coat and then lightly dab on Lovelorn only a few times (a little goes a long way) Rub your lips together and the result is a soft wearable pink. This is the only way I can wear this lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/7/2009 4:21:00 PM More reviews by sgbabe

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I loved the color in the tube and the swatch, but on my pigmented lips, it was just not all too lovely. I love the creamy texture and what not, but it's not worth having to buy another lipgloss to tone down the color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/25/2009 11:12:00 AM More reviews by AmazonRises

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have been looking for a pink lipstick for the past couple of years, but nothing would show up on my lips as pink. I tried Chatterbox, Long Stem Rose slimshine, Intimidate Slimshine, and others. I wanted something that was a cool pink but not fuschia or purple... Finally got this and this is it! It is the perfect cool-toned pink on me. Not too bright, but shows up well and brightens up my face. I love the lustre formula despite the fact that it wears off quickly and I have to keep applying. I am experimenting with lipliners and I think that is the way to get it to wear better. Anyway I love this color and it proves my theory that MAC has the best selection and quality when it comes to lipsticks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/22/2009 11:23:00 PM More reviews by liz91

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I can see where this color may be too bright for some, but I think it's just perfect. It works well with my skintone (NC25) and features. I have been put off by the lustre lipsticks because of their poor lasting power, but the nice glossy look is the tradeoff because then you don't have to wear lipgloss on top. I like how pink this is, it is lighter than (but in the same family as) Speed Dial by MAC. I think it's the perfect color for me because it's not too light (a lot of MAC's light pinks wash me out) and not too bright. It's in-between and just right. I would repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/5/2009 6:30:00 AM More reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Lovelorn is a beautiful shade of bright barbie pink with tones of blue. I find it applies sheer, but buildable with a lustre & glossy finish. The texture is very smooth and leaves my lips feeling moist, never dry. I have found that I'm constantly reapplying this throughout the day, just doesn't have much staying power. For reference I wear NC15 in MAC's foundation and have very pale lips so I find Lovelorn is a great shade of pink on my complexion.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/5/2009 12:05:00 PM More reviews by lmb31

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Beautiful pink color - it is just so pretty but I have a hard time making it work for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No