MAC Lustre in Lovelorn

4.4

159 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/21/2009 12:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Such an ugly color ON!! all of these reviews are so subjective, that they are really somewhat pointless!:) What looks good on one person ~ simply does not on someone else!



on 11/20/2009 11:50:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My HG pink lippie. I like wearing it with Viva glam VI on top - beautiful and feminine, and gets loads of compliments :o)


on 11/20/2009 10:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this lipstick! It is the perfect sort of buble gum pink for my skin tone, because saint germain just looks retarted on me :). It is a great pink where it is like wham but not too out their! I would def. buy this again :) and as always it is high quality like all other mac products!


on 10/23/2009 2:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

this lipstick is gorgeous. a nice bubblegum pink that isnt as BAM as saint germain, but still pink and beautiful just like saint germain. more wearable and since it's a lustre it feels sooo smooth and nice.
I dont know why i stay away from lustres, i always thought they were too sheer, well, this lipstick is evidence that i was wrong.


on 10/23/2009 1:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Well this seem's to be a marmite product, in terms of the colour anyway. It either look's amazing with your skintone, or it make's you look like a barbie. I seem to fall between the category between the two. Sometimes when I apply this lipstick, I think I look amazing, so I go out, and see my reflection and wipe it off because I feel.....well.....daft. I think for paler toned lips this is a shock, it's true to the colour in the tube and it smells devine, but it's just not wearable. As always MAC hit gold with this product in terms of smell and forumlation, but the colour is just to mad. But if you're into the bright lipsticks, give this a shot, I'm sure you'll love it.
Rating- 3 lippies, Lovley Texture, forumla & scent
Price- Well, it's MAC so, so you pay for quality.
Packaging- Lovley as always, I just wipe the lipstick with a wipe now and then.
Would I repurchase?- No, I wouldn't, theres other lipsticks that would go better with my skintone.

Hannah
x

EDIT.- I've changed the ratings to 4 stars because i've actually found this can be wearable if you wear it over a nude base. I first apply foundation to my lips & then lightly dab this lipstick over it & you get a pinky nudish shade. I never EVER get away with a nude lip, but this looks so pretty on. It looks lovley with a brown smokey neutral eye. Try this, but makesure to moisturise before you apply foundation of your lips, it doesn't work if your lips are dry and chapped. Hope this helps.
x


on 10/23/2009 1:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a barbie doll pink with cool undertones. I was adventurous when I bought this lippie as I usually wear netural rose, pink or peachy colors. It is a really cute pink but unfortunately, I learned from this that I don't really look good in cool-toned pinks. I really wanted to love this because it is so pretty in the packaging. Up for swap!


on 10/6/2009 1:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think this is a very nice light pink with blue undertone, I got it coz i've been lookin 4 a pink that wont make my teeth look yellow or my skin 2 look darker, so the artist swatched it on me & I liked it, on my NC35 skin its a lil pale, but i usually wear it with bright eye looks like if im wearing bright greens or blues..
plus its buildable, unlike my other lusters they'r pretty sheer, Lovelorn is creamier..
I gave this product 4 lippies coz i think its pretty doopable as pinks r available n any brands 4 cheaper prices, but I cant complain much coz I got it 4 a Back 2 Mac..


on 8/29/2009 9:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have a confession......This is my first proper pink lipstick! I have never thought that pink lipstick suited me. I have always bought pinky corals or just plain sheer lip products (I'm more of an eyeshadow person). Also, alot of pink lippies are too light and they look AWFUL on my pale neutral skin, dark hair and very pigmented lips(sorry I'm digressing here) So this blue toned medium pink is a change for me (It is def not fuschia). Corals still suit me better but I really do love this. It just gives my lips an bit of extra cool-toned pinky-ness if that makes sense. Although it may look bright on someone with pale lips. People on here have called it pornstar pink, I disagree, I mean anything can look pornstar....it just depends what other makeup your wearing with it. I like it with brown-ish neutral-ish eye, a good dose of eyeliner and a natural blush! It is not uber pigmented (which I love), so it doesn't look OTT. It weres off quickly but it's a dream to apply and works well with a sticky gloss to increase longevity (I use Revlon Pink Afterglow). Will definately buy again, it is a staple in my collection!


on 8/17/2009 10:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Lovelorn is a highly pigmented bright Fuchsia Pink. It looks so pretty in the tube but beware...it goes on strong and bright. It's not a very wearable color. My NC35 skintone is definitely not a good match for this color of lipstick. I will not repurchase. However, on the right person and skintone this would be lovely.

Since I already have this lipstick...I will make the best of it. That's where MAC Myth comes in, Myth is my secret weapon when it comes to fixing problem lipsticks. With Lovelorn, I apply Myth as my base coat and then lightly dab on Lovelorn only a few times (a little goes a long way) Rub your lips together and the result is a soft wearable pink. This is the only way I can wear this lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/7/2009 4:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I loved the color in the tube and the swatch, but on my pigmented lips, it was just not all too lovely. I love the creamy texture and what not, but it's not worth having to buy another lipgloss to tone down the color.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
191 Reviews
Provocalips
73 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top