August 21, 2014 | 1354 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Lustre in Lovelorn



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.4(152 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 80% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/29/2009 9:50:00 PM More reviews by PCA05KAT

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have a confession......This is my first proper pink lipstick! I have never thought that pink lipstick suited me. I have always bought pinky corals or just plain sheer lip products (I'm more of an eyeshadow person). Also, alot of pink lippies are too light and they look AWFUL on my pale neutral skin, dark hair and very pigmented lips(sorry I'm digressing here) So this blue toned medium pink is a change for me (It is def not fuschia). Corals still suit me better but I really do love this. It just gives my lips an bit of extra cool-toned pinky-ness if that makes sense. Although it may look bright on someone with pale lips. People on here have called it pornstar pink, I disagree, I mean anything can look pornstar....it just depends what other makeup your wearing with it. I like it with brown-ish neutral-ish eye, a good dose of eyeliner and a natural blush! It is not uber pigmented (which I love), so it doesn't look OTT. It weres off quickly but it's a dream to apply and works well with a sticky gloss to increase longevity (I use Revlon Pink Afterglow). Will definately buy again, it is a staple in my collection!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/17/2009 10:29:00 PM More reviews by PinkSoFoxy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Lovelorn is a highly pigmented bright Fuchsia Pink. It looks so pretty in the tube but beware...it goes on strong and bright. It's not a very wearable color. My NC35 skintone is definitely not a good match for this color of lipstick. I will not repurchase. However, on the right person and skintone this would be lovely.

Since I already have this lipstick...I will make the best of it. That's where MAC Myth comes in, Myth is my secret weapon when it comes to fixing problem lipsticks. With Lovelorn, I apply Myth as my base coat and then lightly dab on Lovelorn only a few times (a little goes a long way) Rub your lips together and the result is a soft wearable pink. This is the only way I can wear this lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/7/2009 4:21:00 PM More reviews by sgbabe

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I loved the color in the tube and the swatch, but on my pigmented lips, it was just not all too lovely. I love the creamy texture and what not, but it's not worth having to buy another lipgloss to tone down the color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/25/2009 11:12:00 AM More reviews by AmazonRises

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have been looking for a pink lipstick for the past couple of years, but nothing would show up on my lips as pink. I tried Chatterbox, Long Stem Rose slimshine, Intimidate Slimshine, and others. I wanted something that was a cool pink but not fuschia or purple... Finally got this and this is it! It is the perfect cool-toned pink on me. Not too bright, but shows up well and brightens up my face. I love the lustre formula despite the fact that it wears off quickly and I have to keep applying. I am experimenting with lipliners and I think that is the way to get it to wear better. Anyway I love this color and it proves my theory that MAC has the best selection and quality when it comes to lipsticks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/22/2009 11:23:00 PM More reviews by liz91

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I can see where this color may be too bright for some, but I think it's just perfect. It works well with my skintone (NC25) and features. I have been put off by the lustre lipsticks because of their poor lasting power, but the nice glossy look is the tradeoff because then you don't have to wear lipgloss on top. I like how pink this is, it is lighter than (but in the same family as) Speed Dial by MAC. I think it's the perfect color for me because it's not too light (a lot of MAC's light pinks wash me out) and not too bright. It's in-between and just right. I would repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/5/2009 6:30:00 AM More reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Lovelorn is a beautiful shade of bright barbie pink with tones of blue. I find it applies sheer, but buildable with a lustre & glossy finish. The texture is very smooth and leaves my lips feeling moist, never dry. I have found that I'm constantly reapplying this throughout the day, just doesn't have much staying power. For reference I wear NC15 in MAC's foundation and have very pale lips so I find Lovelorn is a great shade of pink on my complexion.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/5/2009 12:05:00 PM More reviews by lmb31

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Beautiful pink color - it is just so pretty but I have a hard time making it work for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/7/2009 10:03:00 PM More reviews by efrey14

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I gave this four lippies only b/c the color might work on *some* skin tones. What those skin tones are, I'm not sure. On my tanned skin, it looked like I was a barbie. I thought it looked cool on me in the store, then when I got outside I was disturbed. It was TOO purplish pink on me - and like I said, I was way 80's looking. Had to return. Nice lustre formula, as always, with MAC. But the COLOR! Nast on me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/30/2009 9:11:00 PM More reviews by pandasforeva123

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love the colour, it's a cute baby pink which also reminds me of a barbie doll. The staying power is pretty good, better than the average drugstore obviously. It is a little drying though. However, the price was pretty expensive, $18 which includes tax. I'm probably not going to purchase any more lipsticks from Mac, not because of the product, but because of the price. Overall good product if you're willing to splurge.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/30/2009 5:47:00 AM More reviews by scarattina

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is a cute lavender-pink color that is wearable from day into night. Everytime I put it on I do see a lavender-ish color though for some reason. It's a little sheer but has a nice electric pigment and looks lighter on lips than in the tube. The mua at the counter said it is her favorite MAC lipstick color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No