April 24, 2014 | 1598 users online

Lipstick - Revlon - Matte Lipstick Really Red [DISCONTINUED]

rated 4.7(226 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.7
  • 91% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2012 8:52:00 PM More reviews by lmr007

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

    Starting to get more and more into red. I think this one is becoming one of my favorites as it doesn't look way to bright on me, and has good staying power.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/9/2012 5:45:00 PM More reviews by gingersnap250

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Curly, Other Eyes: Blue

    Absolutely worth it! It is a fantastic 40s movie star red. I love the matte effect; it really lasts a long time. It's an excellent drugstore buy, and I'd recommend the other matte Revlon lipsticks as well, especially the nude. They really have the quality of any of my high end lipsticks (and I have everything from Chanel, Hourglass, Dior, Mac, etc.)

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 12/17/2011 9:17:00 PM More reviews by theamazinganna

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I was on a hunt for the best Ruby Woo dupe. I love the color of Ruby Woo so much but the formula is very drying and makes my lips peel. I could not find the heart to let it go because it gives me the perfect vintage vibe. So I researched and got myself this Revlon Really Red l/s.

    The verdict? I LOVE IT. I swatched Ruby Woo and Really Red beside each other and the shades are so similar! I love the texture of Really Red a lot more, it's matte but definitely goes on creamy and non drying. A little bit of lip moisturizer underneath will do. I like it matte so I don't mix it with any gloss and the staying power is amazing. It doesn't bleed (unlike Ruby Woo) and it stays for several hours even after eating/drinking. The price definitely helps my rating too! Overseas, this sells for a little over 10$ but I know that it's only 5$ in the States. That's still a lot cheaper than my Ruby Woo. The MAC lipsticks here sell for 25$ (Isn't that insane?!). The packaging is okay considering it's a drugstore lippie. The lid clicks closed so I don't have to worry about it floating around in my purse.

    Anyway I definitely will be repurchasing this again. I have a feeling I will be using this almost every day! Definitely my HG red l/s!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/5/2011 9:15:00 PM More reviews by missymarissa

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

    Yes this is a winner! This satisfies my desire to have that 'Jessica Rabbit' look once in a while :). A very wearable true red. Great dupe fof a certain HE lippie!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/26/2011 12:05:00 AM More reviews by LuxDeVille

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

    I have some weird addiction to red lipstick but of all the ones I've come across I think this is definitely my favorite shade. I freakin' love this stuff. And I'm pretty much convinced that it's one of those shades that will look good on anyone no matter their complexion. I love the texture as well but I'm also fond of a matte finish so that could just be me. If you're looking into buying a red lipstick I'd suggest this right here for sure.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 11/25/2011 11:18:00 AM More reviews by ninjaturtles

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

    Beautiful red.

    I'm Asian with medium skin and slightly yellow undertones and not-so-perfectly-white teeth so I'm wary of full red lipsticks that will bring out the imperfections, but Really Red is really awesome red. I find that the colour is brilliantly intense and possibly a true red that is neither too cool nor too warm. It also balances out the yellowness in my skin and gives it a more rosy look.The colour is very striking, so it'll probably be more suited to special occasions or nights out, although I do wear it to school if I feel like it.

    I didn't buy a lip liner to go with it, but it worked fine without the liner. It doesn't feather, and with some practice it is actually possible to use the sharper end of the lipstick to define the edges first.

    For this lipstick to really work, it's a MUST to exfoliate. If I don't, the dry bits of skin on my lips become more obvious because this matte lipstick is so drying! The colour will gather around the dry skin, forming blotchy patches of 'red skin'. Once you exfoliate + moisturize, though, the colour can last well the whole day.

    This is the first red lipstick I've tried so I cannot compare it with other brands, but for now I'm satisfied with the lipstick and will repurchase unless I hear of a better alternative.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/14/2011 12:46:00 PM More reviews by itsallaboutthewonder

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

    I absolutly love this. I've gone through three tubes in the past couple months! It stays, and it looks incredible on so many different skin tones.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 11/8/2011 3:44:00 AM More reviews by In2th3night

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    I love this color and it truly lasts. I put it on my previously moisturized lips and blotted , then reapplied and blotted with one ply of toilet paper and dusted over the paper with MAC's Prep&Prime transparent finishing powder.(any face powder will do for this) and then set out for the night....it felt slightly drying....but comfortable ....even felt like I had nothing on my lips. I had two gin&tonics and was out and about for around six hours....without checking my make-up. I felt like my inner lip had no color left on it....but when I looked at myself finally...the color had not budged one bit! Amazing! I love it and would love to get the other colors in their line!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/4/2011 9:36:00 PM More reviews by melangerehab

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

    I bought Two Revlon lipsticks: this one, and Nude Attitude.

    It went on smooth but it collected like mad in the lines of my lips. It's a very bold color and not everyone can pull it off, but I liked it.

    I didn't like the taste or texture, though, so I returned it today. Wouldn't recommend.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 10/31/2011 12:32:00 PM More reviews by ashleymcr

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    The hunt for the perfect red is over...love love love it. I get compliments from people when I wear it ("that is the perfect red!") It's cheap too. Staying power is great. The only thing I do wish is that it is more moisturizing on my lips.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No