November 28, 2014 | 1962 users online

Moisturizers - Avocado Oil



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.5(119 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 85% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 9/19/2009 9:26:00 AM More reviews by sezling

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Using too much as a moisturiser broke me out and irritated my skin. Was effective as a cleanser however storage is a hassle - need to keep refrigerated and probably best to decant some into a separate bottle so you aren't opening the same one and exposing it to air. Difficult when travelling...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/29/2009 10:06:00 AM More reviews by chelleywhite

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Everybody's right - it's a great oil and it actually sinks in! I got 250ml of the "Premium 100% cold pressed Avocado Oil" in my local Morrisons supermarket for about 4. It'll last ages. I've only used it on my face so far (with absolutely no adverse effects - just good ones!). I have normal skin which breaks out from time to time (although not since I've been using this) and I think this oil would be great for absolutely any skin type, including oily. I massage it in, leave it for a few minute and lightly tissue off any excess (especially before applying makeup). Makeup goes on great and I'm seriously impressed! Thank you MUAers! x.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/19/2009 10:05:00 PM More reviews by munchiemunchie

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

cheap, easy to use and it works.I use on my neck and it has helped the helped lessen the wrinkles there.I love this oil, will try on my face next.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/13/2009 1:52:00 AM More reviews by KikiMimiChan

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

used this because of all the great reviews plus wanted to try it in replace of olive oil. this is absolutely fabulous! i use it on my face and under my eyes and its fantastic- it moisturizes my dry-combination skin and ive also noticed it has cleared up some of my acne scars! i use the one from aura cacia and the only thing that i dislike is that the bottle is a squeeze thing that shoots the oil out (same amount every time) and too much comes out for just the face ( i usually end up using it up on my neck)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/4/2009 7:41:00 PM More reviews by Creejay

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Unlike the other oils I've tried, this one actually sinks in and moisturizes and does not break me out. I use this every couple days all over my face to heal and moisturize.

My favourite use for this oil is as an eye treatment- it really eliminates the fine lines without being too irritating for the eye.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/28/2009 6:46:00 AM More reviews by argolis

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have dry skin with clogged pores and mild but persistent acne that leaves ugly hyperpigmentation marks that last for months.

I started using avocado oil as a night/occasional moisturizer (because of the rave reviews on MUA) about a four days ago and I'm shocked. Other reviewers were right - I wake up with inexplicably dewy and not oily skin. My face is soft and I've had no new break outs. I had two pimples when I started using the product and they have been calmed down and been healing much faster than normal. I also had one newer hyperpigmentation mark on my cheek that seems to be fading very quickly. My skin tone overall is just much more even. I had a meeting with some admissions advisers and for once I just felt really unembarrassed (dare I say confident?) about the state of my face. This is a HG product for me for sure.

I'm using the Aura Cacia brand from Whole Foods, $10 for about 4 oz.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 6/13/2009 9:47:00 PM More reviews by A9M8L

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I just started using this recently because of all the good reviews on here....I have tried many many other oils, and none of them have ever worked for me. But....this one seems like the most promising because it seems to actually sink into my skin unlike the others that would just sit on top, and never moisturize. Well i started up retin-a again so now i am using this as well as cetaphil cream (i put on the oil, then wait awhile for it to sink in, then apply retin-a and then the cream). I've tried using it during the day but it doesn't work well under my makeup, but i'm trying to cut back on foundation and just use concealer, and it works fine with just that. I may update this later if i notice better results....for now i'm still figuring out if i can use it! It hasn't broken me out yet so thats a good thing! :)

+EDIT+ this is way past due, but its mostly for my own benefit, because i have a habit of keeping products, and then forgetting whether they break me out or not, and then try using them again......so for the record, this stuff DOES break me out. it was frickin amazing at first, because like i said it totally sinks in unlike alot of other oils, and made my skin feel so plump and pretty, but then the zits started appearing. totally sucks, because this could've been a hg. :(

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2009 8:19:00 PM More reviews by day0110

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this for my dehydrated oily skin but I haven't been consistent with it just yet so I can't provide my review in that regards. However, being extremely frustrated with all the products I use on my hair that do nothing to soothe the dryness, I decided to use this. I have used olive oil in the past as a serum but it was too oily so I was apprehensive to use this but I took a risk and I'm so glad I did! I have bleached & coloured hair which I wash & blowdry every second day and straighten every day. So pretty much my hair is CRAP! But I put this oil in after I blowdry and before I straighten and it's been a godsend. After straightening it's smooth, stays straight and has no frizzy fried bits! I have shoulder length hair and use about an AU10c piece amount in the mid-lengths to ends. If I use too much it can look a bit oily but the next day has soaked in. I have heard oil + heat can leach the colour out of hair so if you have a lot of colour or a bright colour it's maybe not such a good idea but it's good for my bleached hair and even though the oil is green, it doesn't change the colour of my hair. It leaves a build up on my straightener but nothing a bit of eucalyptus or metho can get off.

Try this if your hair is dry and hair products designed for dry hair/frizziness/straightening do little or nothing for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/12/2009 10:19:00 PM More reviews by SG444

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I have very dehydrated skin that is also oily. Over the winter, the skin on my face became so dry around my mouth and chin that it cracked, flaked and turned red. I tried other creams and lotions but they either didn't hydrate well enough or they caused me to break out (products with silicones always give me acne). I even tried a hydracortisone cream hoping it would heal my cracked skin. It didn't help at all.

I'd read that carrier oils can be helpful for many ailments and they aren't supposed to cause breakouts. I gave a few different ones a try but the ONLY one that helped to completely heal my dry cracked skin was the avocado oil. After a lot of research, I discovered avocado oil has healing and regenerating properties. It's renowned for its antibacterial, antifungal and antioxidant properties and is actually more effective than benzoyl peroxide for treating acne. Avocado oil has never caused me to break out. In fact, my complexion became much smoother and even in tone. Apparently, this oil can encourage collagen production and after using it regularly each night before bed for a few weeks, I noticed that the fine lines in my face were noticeably softened. No other product has ever done that for me. Overall, it gave me a more youthful looking complexion.

The benefits don't stop with your face. I now use avocado oil sparingly, all over after a shower. It IS oily, so just a little bit is all you need but it's far better than any body lotion since it penetrates the skin extremely well. The added benefit is there is no scent to avocado oil, so it doesn't compete with my fragrance. Avocado oil also makes an outstanding makeup and sunscreen remover at the end of the day.

I've recently started using avocado oil in my hair. I have long, color treated hair, so once or twice a month, I slather it on my hair, concentrating on the ends, and leave it on as much as I have time for. I don't have dandruff, but I've read it can greatly help with that, too. It washes out easily with one shampoo (I lather up and don't rinse the shampoo out until the very end). When I use the oil, there's no need to use a hair conditioner until the next time I shampoo. The first time I did this, I was amazed at how soft my hair was! No conditioner had ever left it so shiny and smooth. It had no buildup-y feel to it that conditioners or hair products with silicone can leave over time.

I buy the light-colored, cold pressed variety (not the darker green oil) found in the cooking oil section of my health food store. Considering the numerous uses, it's incredibly cheap. I put the oil in a rinsed out pump bottle of Olay Regenerist. Compared to avocado oil, Regenerist didn't do much for me at all, but the bottle is perfect! I store the rest of the bottle in the refrigerator to keep it fresh longer. I've tried both the avocado oil found in the skin products section (such as Aura Cacia) as well as the food section and believe avocado oil for cooking is generally more fresh and usually comes with an expiration date. Avocado oil can last 6-8 months before turning rancid, and even longer if stored in the refrigerator.

If I could give avocado oil a '10' rating, I would. It is such a phenomenal, inexpensive, multi-purpose product. You have nothing to lose by giving it a try. If it doesn't work for your skin or hair, you can always use it to cook with. One thing's for sure - I like knowing that I'm using such a natural, chemical free product for my beauty needs and that it actually works better than other more expensive products.


40 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/3/2009 5:58:00 PM More reviews by whitebook

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

after reading so much nice reviews here, i tried it on my dry skin, sensitive, sick skin (FYI, i was stupid enough to put glycerin as moisturizer, and baam! rash jaw line the next day!) and it helps! less red itchy bumps, and my complexion look more even tone now, no more peelings seen, just one application! anyways i will keep updating, stay tuned! update: my skin is cured after a week of use! and it's still doing very good! no clogged pore!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No