September 1, 2014 | 1855 users online

Primer/ Corrector - Rimmel - Fix and Perfect Foundation Primer

rated 3.0(514 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.0
  • 48% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 11/13/2011 2:42:00 PM More reviews by azeeq

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My skin gets quite oily sometimes and I just found that this just added to this.
First, let me start with the positives;
I like the smooth clear texture and how it applies and glides easily onto your skin.
I also like how cheap it was and how long it has lasted.
Broke me out quite badly...
Negatives;
Its gets very oily after a few hours of application and the scent is not very nice either.
It was supposed to smooth, resurface, brighten, mattify and protect. These features were the main reason I bought it!
But it didn't do any of these and just made my skin oilslicky and it did NOT prolong my foundation wear, it just melted off me face.
verdict: NOT FOR OILY SKINNED GALLIES LIKE ME.
the product may seem nice and cheap but it wont work for you, sorrry.

it may work for dry skin.. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/10/2011 6:30:00 AM More reviews by Nightwatcher

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I see that there are a lot of people who didn't care for the product color but when I went to purchase there were two choices. Rimmel fix and perfect in 002 is colorless and odorless as far as I could tell. I use a Foundation brush as suggested by MUA contributors and a dry face when the air is hot and humid and a wet face when it's cool and dry out. Works great to smooth out the skin. You will get a hot flash to the skin as seems to happen with a lot of the primers that smooth the way . In no way do my eyes stream or my skin swell as with other primers I have tried. I finally wised up and bought just this one product to change in my routine and decided to see if sticking to the same product line would make them work well together and it did. My days of " well if I stand on my right leg and put it on with my left hand while whistling Dixie it will work this time " are over. One thing at a time girl , one thing at a time. lol.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/9/2011 7:04:00 PM More reviews by 1993

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I just purchased this yesterday. I had never used a primer before, but, after reading comments and watching on YouTube about this, I decided to try it. I recently bought Bare Minerals Original foundation and noticed it sliding and separating after several hours on my face. Today, I applied the Fix & Perfect before my Bare Minerals and here it is.................. some 11 hours later and my makeup still looks good! Very pleased with this stuff so far, it controlled the oil in my t zone for me, a great deal. The color of this is a peachy, terra cotta shade, BUT, it did NOT leave a hint of that color on my skin, strange as that is. The only shade was 001, cost 7.49 at Walgreens. My first primer ever here at the age of 46. I have fair skin, that is normally dry this time of year and oily in the warmer months. Hope this helps.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/8/2011 11:37:00 PM More reviews by xxxoxoxo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

since i've been regularly wearing revlon colorstay, i haven't had much need for a primer (cheese unintended) but when i need one, this one does well.

* the peachy-pinky-orange tone is a little visually alarming but blends into my skin with no majorly noticeable effect - but also no "brightening" effect *for me) as some have been reporting here. however, for very pale persons, it might become a problem. i am ~nc20-25 right now and i don't find the color of this primer to affect it.
* makes skin feel soft and smooth (i.e., ready for foundation/ other).
* increases the wear of foundations and tinted moisturizers by ~2-3 hours MORE (than without) for me. i really don't understand why companies think it's wise to make a foundation that only lasts 2 hours. like, furrealz?! (maybelline, i'm sorry to call you out on this - but you make foundations that make my skin look great for the first hour and then i melt, boo.)
* i also now use it as a spot primer - like for eyeshadows and it does increase the length of wear for shadows a bit as well, but does not enhance the color & pigment of shadows like some other (creamier/ "oilier-feeling") specifically-for-eyeshadow primers do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/2/2011 10:38:00 AM More reviews by nlt87

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I use this after I put on my moisturizer, it's orangey in color but once you blend it in it disappears and blends into your skin. It leaves my face feeling soft and ready for foundation. I've had my tube for about 9 months and it's just now starting to run out so it does last a while and a little bit goes a long way. A dime sized amount is good enough for your whole face.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/1/2011 10:53:00 PM More reviews by jessicalynnr

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PRODUCT! It makes my skin feel so smooth and even provides a little bit of coverage! I always get compliments on how soft my skin looks and feels when I wear this. If you are considering purchasing this, don't let the orangey color throw you off! It blends very well. It also makes my foundation (revlon colorstay) glide on smoothly and evenly!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/28/2011 11:32:00 AM More reviews by csquared14

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Considering what this primer costs, it's a great product. It's always been hard for me to put down $40 for a luxury primer, since it's not something that I need to match to my skin and therefore test out at a department store counter of Sephora. While the color might be slightly alarming when you first see it (then again, so is Smashbox's green color-correcting primer), it disappears instantly on your skin. The texture is very nice, creamy and drying to a matte finish. I wouldn't say that it lasts ALL day, but when I put it under my Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer, it helps evens out my skintone, keeps me non-shiny for hours, and also helps my other makeup stay in place. It's not a perfect product--I wouldn't say that it's a real competitor to Smashbox's line in providing a flawless base--but for what it does, it's dirt cheap and surprisingly effective.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/14/2011 10:04:00 PM More reviews by chrissypoo327

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I tried this based on reviews, but more because of the ingredient list. I do like the Monistat Chafing Gel as a primer, but I didn't care too much for the slippery feel. So for $7, I got this to try. First of all, it's not orange!!!! It's peach and I think it's peach-colored for a skin brightening effect. How I figured this out was when I first got it, I put in on my hand and noticed the "orange" didn't show up BUT the skin looked much brighter. So have no worries that your skin will look orange, for Pete's sake LOL (unless mayyyyyyyyyybe if you are ghostly white and even then I don't think it would show up). It did minimize my pores, making them almost non-existent. It also brightened my skin tone. What I really liked the most, though, was that it left a smooth, matte feel and finish to my face without a) being overly matte and dull, and 2) no silicone slippery feel which also sometimes gets a little shiny in the warmer weather. I put it on about noon today, for instance ... it is now 9:00 pm and my face has zero shine and also doesn't FEEL oily .. you know how you can look matte but when you touch your skin it feels gunky and greasy? Well none of that for me with this primer. I think when it gets colder and my skin is much drier, I might mix this with the Monistat to avoid too matte/dead a look (I'm a big mixer of everything LOL). I think the price is fabulous for the performance of the product and will definitely purchase again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/11/2011 2:36:00 PM More reviews by Christinek914

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been on the search for a pore minimizer/primer but I haven't wanted to buy anything too expensive so I gave this product a shot. The color of it definitely makes you nervous but for my skin color (olive) it didn't give my face an orange tint. After using it for approximately 3 weeks I can say it did help minimize my pores and my face stayed oil free the whole day (I barely break out now). I also noticed my face seemed smoother after applying and my makeup looked a little more flawless as compared to when I don't wear it. I plan on purchasing a more expensive option to compare. If the results are the same I will stick to Rimmel's brand. One gripe I do have is, like others have noted, a pump would be ideal!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 10/2/2011 1:12:00 AM More reviews by mirageangelhope

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

If you have sensitive skin this is NOT this product for you! It has a fragrance that is strong and other ingredients that gave me hives and tingling all over my face.
Even if you don't have sensitive skin if you are pale this is not good product because it has an orange color that mostly blends out but still leaves a slightly orange twinge to your face without fix anything as it claims.

Is this review helpful? Yes No