March 3, 2015 | 1191 users online

Lotions/ Creams - Nivea - Nivea Creme

rated 4.2(1135 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 83% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/12/2003 9:00:00 PM More reviews by peridot7

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I ran out of eye cream a couple of weeks ago and was spending a lot of time here doing board searches and reading Productville reviews for days. I keep my Nivea creme (blue tin) in my purse for my hands. I was out one day and looked in the mirror and noticed my under eye area was really dry and so was my neck. So I dabbed a bit under the eyes and used a little more than a dab on my neck and it felt wonderful all day! So I started using it just at night under my eyes, but discovered that it worked just as well during the day. I'm very pleased that I can now get on with my life and stop obsessing about eye creams. It obviously doesn't have anti-aging or anti-wrinkle properties in it but it certainly hydrates very well. And maybe that's all the real expensive products do anyway, I don't know. For now I'll stick with the 99 cent stuff rather than the $$$$ stuff. Give it a shot if you've never tried it especially for the neck and chest area. Will use this until a new bandwagon passes by this board that I just *have* to try. :)

FYI - I just turned 50 and have normal to dry skin. This may be too rich for oily or acne prone skin.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/11/2003 4:56:00 PM More reviews by Fulltiltredhead

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This cream is thick and white and hard to rub in. It's greasy before it dries. But it's worth the effort. I bought a big glass jar of it and scooped some out into small containers so I can have it in my purse, at my desk, etc. It has worked a miracle on my cuticles and my feet, and I noticed after the 2nd day of using it on my face that it has healed two red blotches on my face that appeared out of nowhere and would not go away. I was on the verge of going to the dermatologist about them, but they are nearly gone. It doesn't irritate my eyes, used as a night cream. It has kept my nose from chapping while I've had a cold. I have not used it under makeup, but it's a great night cream.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/10/2003 4:37:00 AM More reviews by alicemf

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is the cheapest item in my whole skincare box, and one of the best. It is quite rich and does have scent but it doesn't irritate my skin. I have combination skin that breaks out regularly. To avoid this I use anti-blemish solutions and other products that are a bit drying. I need something to counteract this(the hazards of combo skin) and nivea is perfect. I don't find it greasy and it makes my skin very smooth, evening out the flaky bits. It doesn't seem to clog my pores, and is excellent for the damp cold grim english winters! bit too rich for summer, but thumbs up all the same

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/6/2003 7:27:00 PM More reviews by pinklikecandy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I got this for $0.99 at Brooks Pharmacy and solely for the recommendations on MUA. It's so thick and perfect for the Boston winters. It smells great and my skin looks fantastic.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/24/2003 10:41:00 AM More reviews by SuziH

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

What a great creme! I can't believe I haven't used this before. I put some on my itchy, dry legs and arms last night before bed, and this morning, they're so soft! I really love the scent of Nivea Creme also, about which I read a recent post by our lovely fellow MUA'er "Bela", and she says that Nivea Creme contains the following fragrance notes: rose, lily, citrus fruit, musk and ambergris. Thanks, Bela:) I am tempted to try Nivea Creme on my face, since the texture is very much like the infinitely more expensive Creme de La Mer which is my current Holy Grail for my facial moisturizer. I'll update my review if I decide to try it! continued >>

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/23/2003 9:01:00 PM More reviews by autumn95

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Update 2007 - still use under eyes before showering. Also use on hands in winter.
This is a great moisturizer for dry areas on the face. I use a little under my eyes and once in a while on my neck. This is the original blue tub. Also available in tubes. I have sensitive skin and I have no problems with this. Great price, long lasting moisture. (Also great for hands and feet.)

I am using this mostly on hands/body.

March 2005 Update I find that if I put a small dab under my eye area and wait a minute or two it is easier to blend. (Must be the body warmth that allows it to melt/blend easier.) I also put it on quite heavy under my eyes before I take a shower as extra protection. Still great as a hand cream. I prefer the tube. continued >>

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/23/2003 3:33:00 AM More reviews by xxxhoneybflyxxx

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This cream reminds me when I was little :) My mother used to buy this and use it on my face. I now use it at night time before bed and it makes my face SOOO soft. Before I used to use Oil Of Olay night cream and it was so expensive and it was so thin. But Nivea Creame (blue tin) is soooo much better. Again, I only use this before I go to bed, sorta like a mask. And hey...I am almost 26 and I look 18! Moisturizers is the KEY to younger skin!!!!! Why do you think older ladies who have no wrinkles? They all said, moisturize, moistuerize!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/23/2003 1:18:00 AM More reviews by annruggerio

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I agree with all the rest it is a great cream. I have a 1oz blue tin that I carry in my purse to use on my hands. It makes them soooo smooth and moisturized. I paid $0.99 at Ulta for it. I've looked at other, much more pricey hand creams (ex. Get Fresh 5oz for $17!!) but why waste the cash when this staple is the best.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/22/2003 3:36:00 AM More reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Other

It has probably been mentioned but I have noticed that some people do not believe that there is a difference in the creme made in Germany and the creme made in Mexico other than the place they are manufactured. In fact there is a difference. I have tins of each sitting here and the ingredients are different.

Made in Germany ingredients: Water, mineral oil, microcrystalline wax, glycerin, lanolin alcohol, paraffin, ceresin, magnesium sulfate, decyl oleate, octyldodecanol, aluminum stearates, panthenol, citric acid, magnesium stearate, fragrance

Made in Mexico ingredients: water, mineral oil, petrolatum, glycerin, microcrystalline wax, lanolin alcohol, paraffin, panthenol, magnesium sulfate, decyl oleate, octyldodecanol, aluminum stearates, fragrance, citric acid, magnesium stearate, methylcholoroisothiazolinone, methylisothiazolinone continued >>

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/16/2003 11:47:00 PM More reviews by angelic_affliction

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Fantastic moisturizer, too bad it doesn't come w/ SPF...

Is this review helpful? Yes No