October 23, 2014 | 901 users online

Mascara - Christian Dior - DiorShow Mascara Waterproof



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.3(384 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 48% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 6/3/2010 8:32:00 AM More reviews by greatglamdc

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I was looking for a good waterproof mascara for summer so I can swim in the pool and not have mascara all over my face. I like the product when its on, and it does have great staying power in water, but when I can't get it off in the shower and end up sleeping with it on- i wake up looking like a raccoon. However, I guess that's what you get when you buy waterproof mascara, would buy again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/31/2010 4:21:00 PM More reviews by knightrider

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I give this a 2 because my lashes look nice after application. After a few hours at work I am "racoon" under my eyes. I cannot remove it BECAUSE IT'S WATERPROOF!! After work, I remove the black under my eyes with my eyemakeup-remover, and goes to the pool to test it even more. Even worse racoon-eyes!! And I have to go to the store like this!! I have used it one time. I'm not sure if I will use it again... I think I'd rather go without mascara than to be black-ish under my eyes! :/ SO dissappointed!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/24/2010 10:01:00 AM More reviews by Samanthazahra

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i was about to give this a mediocre review but if i curl my lashes with my cheap curler it makes all the difference. once my lashes were lifted i could tell how good this mascara actually was. the applicator is great as it captures all of my lashes in a clean sweep and coats them smoothly and elongates them. i think this is definately the trick with most mascaras. curl, a clean steady sweep, then let it set. a good mascara should be able to perform with just these simple steps. layering, rubbing left to right with the wand will make any mascara look clumpy and stick eyelashes together and smudge because you have used excess formula. this formula really works beautifully as it lengthens, defines and adds volume without making my lashes feel brittle and hard when i touch them. they still feel nice and smooth. the formula lasts the day, adds drama but looks so clean and polished.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/12/2010 11:10:00 AM More reviews by skimbo

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I was a big fan of Diorshow Blackout, but since it was a very wet formula prone to smudging, I thought I would try Diorshow Waterproof. My lashes are very short and thin, and I was looking for the dramatic results that I got with Blackout without the racoon eyes. But as other reviewers have experienced, Diorshow Waterproof left me with huge undereye smudging, and I'm not even a big eye-rubber. I end up with more smudging than with non-waterproof drugstore brands, but it's much more difficult to take off. The MUA at the Dior counter assured me it would come off with just soap and water, which was totally misleading; it definitely needs an additional, thorough scrubbing with a makeup remover pad to get it all off. I also felt the brush was too big to be effective on short lashes, so my lashes didn't look much improved after application. Definitely not worth the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/5/2010 7:50:00 AM More reviews by jootje

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I'm a big mascara fan and as such I of course had to try the hyped out Dior Show mascara. Since I was going on vacation soon I thought I'd get the waterproof version.
I was unimpressed by this product. It is good mascara, I won't deny that. It applies nicely (although I must say I'm not a fan of the huge wand) and it doesn't clump. BUT it's no better than many of the drugstore brands I've tried. I don't think it deserves the hype and it sure doesn't justify the price. I must say that my lashes are pretty long and easy to work with so maybe it's different for people who have been less blessed in the lash department, but for me my max factor mascara can deliver the same result for half the price. Won't buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/3/2010 1:18:00 PM More reviews by xxxklcandy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Let me start by saying that I have sparse, straight eyelashes that will droop under the weight of mascara even after I curl them. I have tried dozens of brands of mascara over the years, and this one takes the #1 spot. DiorShow Waterproof mascara makes my eyelashes look so long and thick, and makes my sparse lashes look full. *Note: I always curl my lashes really well first, using a Shu Uemura eyelash curler* I am so thrilled with this product because it makes my lashes look so great, almost like fake eyelashes, and in turn it makes ME feel great. It's such a relief to find a reliable, long lasting mascara that can pump up my impossible lashes! (To maximize the lengthening property of this mascara, always apply to the very tips of the lashes first, then sweep upwards from the root.) I pay $24 for this Mascara from Nordstrom and it is worth every dime.

*I did not have the same results with the regular non-waterproof version of this product, but I'm sure that is because my lashes are tough to work with!*

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/25/2010 1:55:00 AM More reviews by ozebaia

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Blue

mmm - Thought this would live up to the Dior name, but sadly it doesn't. The ultra large cylinder makes it quite clumsy to handle and the mascara cream (black) is on the dry side and offers no impact or WOW factor. My preference is still Chanel Waterproof.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/23/2010 2:18:00 AM More reviews by Reika

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is already my third tube. It is not my HG mascara which I have yet found one, but I always make sure I have this one with me in case my other mascaras fail on me. I have quite long but stick straight lashes, most mascaras straighten the curl immediately after I curled my lashes, but this masacara hold the curl all day long. In short, this is my conclusion for this mascara:
Pros: * hold the curl really well
* gives natural looking lashes..suitable as an everyday mascara
* doesn't clump on me
* I like the big brush design
* the tube doesn't dry out fast..
* doesn't smudge and flake on me throughtout the day
Cons: *can make lashes look really stiff, sometimes it gives spider lashes if too many coats are applied
*not very waterproof, completely smudged if I wear it to the pool or beach
*doesn't lengthens the lashes
* doesn’t last long on my lashes, the colour fades throughout the day, I have to reapply it a few times a day

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/7/2010 7:34:00 AM More reviews by Siska1

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

H O R R I B L E.
I was so sooo disappointed with this mascara - how the heck did it get such good reviews? It clumps, flakes and looks and feels heavy and it's not at all flattering for my poor little lashes...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/20/2010 10:45:00 AM More reviews by kerli310

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

Undoubtedly the worst mascara I have ever bought. Looked really nice after applying, yet the effect wore off really quickly - about an hour later I looked like a raccoon, the mascara smudged and accumulated under my eyes. Could not notice any waterproof properties either. I tried different ways of applying it, the effect was the same every time so I eventually gave the product up.

Is this review helpful? Yes No