August 2, 2014 | 1015 users online

Liquid - Almay - Clear Complexion Blemish Healing Makeup



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.8(627 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 8/11/2012 10:09:00 AM More reviews by jbrago

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought this foundation on a complete whim while in Walgreens (the newer pump version). I have been struggling with adult cystic acne for the past several months and have been desperate to find a foundation with moderate coverage that does NOT clog my pores. I have tried all the high-end products, some drugstore products... and although I liked some...I didn't LOVE them. They were either too dewy, too matte for my 35+ skin, clogged pores, drying etc.... So I saw this on sale and noticed the active ingredient is salicylic acid, figured that at least it shouldn't contribute to more breakouts. I wasn't expecting much at all for the $10.00 price tag and assumed it would end up in the bucket of "Oh- well" products. I first applied w/ a foundation brush and was surprised that the color didn't seem pinky, orangey...it was a real skin shade. The texture was smooth and once I covered my face, was pleasantly surprised by the effect. Moderate coverage, dried to a matte-ish finish (but not cakey for those with fine lines)...more of a satin finish. So I headed out the door for the day in 90 degree humidity, expecting major meltage. Surprised again!!! Although I'm not super oily, I definitely get that mid-day sheen... This foundation did not oxidize or melt off. Wooohoooo! A little teeny sheen at mid-day, yes...but no biggie. One blotting sheet and done. I am really impressed...I have an order on the way for MFE Matte foundation and may just return it as soon as it gets here :) Drugstore products have really upped their game in my eyes!!!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/6/2012 3:12:00 PM More reviews by Umthisisawkward

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

I suffer from combination skin plus I'm also acne prone and have highly sensitive skin. I bought this because I read some reviews and deemed it to be pretty good and was also $8 at Walmart and $2 cheaper than Nuetrogena. Oh boy was I wrong. When I first used this foundation I was put off about how how oily and gross it felt on my skin. It was also June and humid so I figured it probably felt gross because the humidity. I stuck to it for about 3 more weeks. After 3 weeks I went from maybe having 5-6 pimples to having my face look like zitzilla. I had cystic acne and extremely clogged pores. It was some of the worse acne I had in awhile. Im still battling the clogged pores 2 months later. It also made my skin really oily and just gross feeling and felt cakey. I also realized it wasn't oil free. I'm giving this the extra star because it did provide good coverage. I immedietly switched back to my Nuetrogena Skin Clearing Foundation and saw immediete improvement in my skins health. I will spend the extra $2 because I dont want to look like a zit monster again...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/28/2012 11:55:00 PM More reviews by JmeM33

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have used this foundation for years. Great color match, staying power, looked natural, got compliments on my skin ... awesome foundation for me. I was happy to see they re-packaged it into a bottle with a pump ... even better. However the formula in my opinion is NOT the same. The color is off (seems a bit darker), it's thicker, and didn't look natural at all. I put this on and I immediately wanted to wash my face! It felt so tacky and gross! I gave it a go anyway and half way through the day it was gone. My mother-in-law (who has no problem expressing her opinion by the way lol) asked me what was wrong with my face ... so I know it wasn't just me! So now I am on the search for a new foundation :(

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/24/2012 11:35:00 AM More reviews by redheadfashionista

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I am a teenager, and have been dealing with acne for years now. I have tried many different foundations to help conceal and possibly clear, and this one proved to be one of the worst. It contains acne healing medicine, which I think actually irritated my sensitive, acne-prone skin more than it already was. I do NOT recommend this product at all for people with acne-prone or sensitive skin. Steer clear!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 7/23/2012 1:10:00 AM More reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

This product contains salicylic acid that is supposed to clear existing acne and prevent breakouts. I bought the shade neutral- a light/medium shade and was disappointed to find that it had an orange undertone, not neutral at all! I like the pump application because it's hygienic and one or two pumps will cover your face. I thought the coverage was terrible and I had a hard time blending it in completely because it dries with a powder finish. Ugh! My face looked splotchy and orange upon application and the foundation was very irritating to my sensitive, acne-prone skin. After I washed it off, my skin was peeling and very red. Sometimes, this is a side effect of salicylic acid, so I continued to use the product for about a month after that to see if side effects improved, but no luck. It also broke my skin out in tiny whiteheads after a week of use--yuck!! I can't believe I used this as long as I did because it is torture for ones skin! Poor coverage and very drying, I would avoid this at all costs.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/19/2012 7:20:00 PM More reviews by ItsAClove

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This foundation would've been great for me...if they had my shade. I couldn't find a match. I originally got Sand 600, but I looked more pale than the rest of me. I tried to work with this foundation for a week or two and I'm pretty sure it didn't break me out, but I finally gave up. However, when I went to exchange for a darker shade, they all looked too light and much better suited for people with pink undertones, which I am not. I then decided to try TLC even though I hadn't read any reviews, but it is now my drugstore HG.
In the time I used it though, this is my experience:
I used a brush to apply and it seemed to be buildable. It also dried to a powdery texture so you didn't really need powder after. That's probably why it works better for oilier skin types. I only touched up once throughout the entire day when I used this. Overall, I did like this foundation, but I couldn't find a shade match.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/19/2012 2:23:00 AM More reviews by teamsingleladys

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

What a disappointment. I thought this would be the perfect foundation because its directed towards oily- acne probe skin. Instead it GAVE me more zits! It was heavy on my skin but barely covered a single thing on my face. I found the colour selection to suck too. It was either light with a pinky colour or to orange. The only thing I liked about this product was the pump! But that wouldnt make me repurchase this! Never again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/8/2012 11:09:00 PM More reviews by starberry237

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Other, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

i used the shade neutrel and found this foundation too light for my NW35 skintone. I don't like the shade selection as their all pretty much for lighter skin tones. i used this for a week and instead of clearing up my skin, it made me breakout like crazy. i found this foundation really liquidy too. In terms of coverage, it gave me light to medium coverage. Now i'm going to need a new foundation to cover up my new acne scars...great...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/8/2012 10:36:00 PM More reviews by SoxxxTiffanyxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I used to have lots of acne but now i dnt but left with lots of scarrs behind. There was some sale going on so i picked up both the almay Tlc foundation and this one to try. I love the Tlc much more than this one. I dont really care what the clear complexion claims to do with the blemishes. As for the foundation itself, looks heavier, was not lasting long as 8hrs. I still give it 4lippie cause i think for the price that we pay for, the quality of the foundation is quite nice, its just that i will defo recommend TLC better than this one if u are thinking about to try almay foundations for oily skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/8/2012 5:25:00 PM More reviews by Sasha09Fierce

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product started my moderate acne. Kind of ironic. I stopped using makeup on my face all together because it traumatized my skin so much.

Is this review helpful? Yes No