July 23, 2014 | 2104 users online

Hair Color - L'Oreal - Feria Haircolor

rated 3.0(651 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.0
  • 49% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/8/2011 1:57:00 AM More reviews by slippingbeauty

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Feria is my favorite boxed hair dye, though their shades aren't as edgy as they were a few years ago. I like the creamy consistency of the solution itself as well as the essential oil packet. The conditioner that comes with Feria is AMAZING. I use professional dye now that I purchase at Sally's, but if I need something quick I'll use Feria.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/3/2011 4:28:00 PM More reviews by Viiictoria

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Feria uses metallic deposit color in their reds which PERMANENTLY bond to your hair. I've been using a feria red for a year now and the color always looks great for a couple weeks, but after that not so much. Anyway, I wanted to go blonde this summer so I did a little research.

Apparently, these metallic dyes that feria uses are the spawn of Satan in the haircare world. Going lighter is impossible after you use such dye. Any sort of lightener or bleach you put over a metallic dye will cause a chemical reaction, causing your hair to MELT OFF. No joke ladies the only way to get this shit off is to cut it off. DO NOT USE. Professionals will all laugh you out the door when you come around saying you want it out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/8/2011 8:30:00 PM More reviews by troglodyte

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I used Feria in a myriad of shades. Copper Shimmer 74 used to be my favorite, but since I went back to my natural color I realize they have expensive product for little payoff... I used T53 twice in a row (medium ash brown) and the color faded in less than 2 weeks between my use of clarifying shampoo and regular shampoo (no more than twice a week overall). I switched to Garnier Nutrisse #51 (Medium Ash brown) and the color has held much longer so far.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/4/2011 9:34:00 AM More reviews by superlemon

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Used Feria's Havana Brown (medium natural brown) on my light brown hair, hoping to darken it a bit and cover up some brassiness. The color came out much darker than the results on the box, which my hair always, always seems to do - one of these days I'll learn to choose a shade lighter than what I want. I'll never buy Feria again, though. My hair feels extremely dry and damaged, and has none of the "shimmering" effect they promise - it actually looks really flat ad dull.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/26/2011 2:39:00 PM More reviews by LegacyGirl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I got the midnight ruby color. Application was easy, but yes it smells just like any other hair dye. The color is fantastic, it came out just like the box. It is a little drying but the way to fix this is to use the conditioner that comes with the color. What I did was wash my hair 3 days after color, used a generous amount of the conditioner, and then wrapped my hair up and left it for 3-4 hours. My hair was back to its beautiful, silky smoothness after this. I will buy this color again and will just baby my hair. The little bit of dryness was worth it for the perfect color. It would get a 5 if they could fix the drying part.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/19/2011 9:16:00 AM More reviews by DeliaDelyons

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

UPDATE: Well, it's been four weeks and my roots have lightened a bit so it's time for more color. My hair isn't as ravaged as I initially thought, so I bumpbed this up from 2 - 3 lippies. It's on sale at CVS this week, so I might just repurchase a color in the Black family...

ORIGINAL REVIEW: Purchased Midnight Collection - Violet Soft Black (M32) which claims to be warmer. I fail to see how a Violet color can be warm and wanted to see how the purple tones would go with my cool complexion. My starting color was very dark brown with some lighter spots here and there due to incomplete coverage from my last dye job. Got two boxes (BOGO 50% off) to get full coverage for my just-below-shoulders length hair.

Application was easy. The gloves were better than those cut-out plastic ones some cheaper kits have, but they were all stretched out around the wrists. Kit comes with a little "Shimmer serum" packet to be added to the developer/color mix before applying. Gimmicky.

I could tell this was wrecking my hair as I applied it, it started to get tangly and mushy kind of. I used about half of the second box to get complete squish coverage (the first box did all my roots and about a quarter of my length, the second box was def necessary)

I set my timer for 30 mins and the color that was around my hairline/part was bright, bright red. I was nervous the color WOULD be super warm and look odd on me (like wanting Violet hair was ever gonna be natural anyways)

Rinsed for a good long time in the tub and still the water never ran clear (was pinkish). My hair felt like straw and was quite tangled. The conditioner was pasty and did not absorb well, I used almost all of the long tube to get coverage, and ended up slathering Dove on anyways, because it was doing NOTHING to detangle.

I was really concerned I'd fried my hair, so as soon as I got out of the tub, I put a a ton of Wen Deep Conditioning treatment all over my head, put it in a loose braid, wrapped it in plastic wrap and a towel and went to sleep with my fingers crossed.

Rinsed the conditioner this morning, my hair felt *better* but not good... i followed with Suave conditioner and then hopped out... water never ran clean - still pink. My hair stained my towel pink, too. So much pink! No stains on my skin, thank goodness.

My hair feels rough, and I can't run my fingers through it, like I habitually do. As it has air dryed, I see that the color result is very close to what the box depicted. However, it's my guess that, just given the fact that pink sontinued to run from my hair after shower #2, this color is going to fade quickly. I like my result, colorwise, but it was not worth the ravaging this dye gave my hair.

The box promises Shimmering Colour with 3X the Highlights. My hair is not shiny, its frizzy (as a result, not a normal state for my hair), so I can't tell if it's multi-tonal or not...I'm scared to try and straighten it, lest I fry it into mush... so I'll just continue babying it/giving conditioning treatments for the time being...

The poor quality conditioner in this kit is reason enough for me not to repurchase - the conditioner in at home hair color kits is usually the icing on the cake, making hair silky and smooth and oh so manageable. I found this one to be completely worthless. Adding in that the color seemed to dry out/straw spin my hair more than others usually do and this is a dud. Which is a shame because I have not seen another "Violet Black" out there... maybe it's time to try henna....

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/3/2011 8:39:00 PM More reviews by Kim_in_CA

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

I've tried all L'Oreal hair color products now; Excellence, Preference, and Feria. I'm so disappointed in Feria. It's the most expensive of the three, and has a great variety of color selections. You would think with this type of investment, the company would make this their gold standard product. Not for my hair. My hair is fine and oily, and it takes a LOT to make it dry and dull. Feria did a great job of that. Even with the deep conditioner that comes with it, my hair was like straw after coloring. The color was so flat and dull (I tried two colors at different times, three months apart--first, Bronze Shimmer and Tortoiseshell Brown). The applicator was good. It had an extra-long tip which helped to part my long hair well. But other than that, nothing good about this product for me. I'm very disappointed and will go back to Preference. The only reason I strayed in the first place was the wide variety of color selections Feria offered and curiousity. Lesson learned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/22/2011 9:05:00 PM More reviews by Meglyn86

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is my "old faithful". My hair is naturally a medium blonde with red tones and I lighten it with Feria's 110 Starlet. This is the only brand that I've found that doesn't yellow my hair. It's not harsh on my fine hair either, although bc my hair is so fine, my first choice is to go to the salon.. but when we're tight for cash I ALWAYS come back to this.

I did give this a 3 out of 5, because I have tried to go darker with this brand as well. I used the 63 Sparkling Amber, and I've also tried the 62 Iced Mocha. With both of these, the color was super pretty for the first couple days and after the first and second washes, the color dramatically faded... both times I was left with an awful coppery, brassy tone.

Overall... I will purchase the Starlet blonde again and again. Typically, I've always lightened my hair.. but if I want to ever try going darker again.. Without question, I would go with Garnier Nutrisse.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/22/2011 8:51:00 PM More reviews by Roxxxy13

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am a virgin at home hair colourer but as I am feeling the penny pinch with 2 kids, thought I would try it out, especially since I needed to cover the greys. A friend of mine has been colouring her own hair for 20 years so how bad could it be? I tried this product - no particular reason why since it is my first go at it. I chose a colour close to my natural hair color - #45 French Roast. When it was all said and done, my hair didn't look like it had changed much except for my greys were covered - which is a good thing as I wanted to keep my hair colour the same as it was. HOWEVER....... it was NOT shiny, it was NOT shimmery, it was NOT multi tonal. In fact it WAS boring, it WAS dry, it WAS extremely staticy which is driving me crazy! My hair before was always in immaculate condition - soft, silky and manageable with greys and I was always getting colour at the salon. Does at home hair colour always make hair like this or is it just me being inexperienced with this? Would love any advice.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/17/2011 11:02:00 PM More reviews by cavalletta

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ive used every box dye. Seriously. I just keep coming back to this. I love the color. I think its called diamond. Extra light natural blonde. It really is the most natural looking blonde ive ever used. No yellow or orange, perfect baby blonde. Everyone keeps saying it dries out hair. To me, it does...sure, but no more than any other hair dye. When I was a redhead I used this fairly often. I actually dont detest any hair dyes out there, theyre all pretty much the same. Some run darker, some smell gosh awful, some are drippy some pull red. I think ferias biggest downfall is that it does not cover greys. I used this twice for mum in caramel kiss, a lovely shade, but it faded on her greys within a week. So I recommend preference for that. Anyway, if you want a nice blonde, try this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No