July 28, 2014 | 979 users online

Eye Primer - NARS - Pro-Prime Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base

rated 4.4(349 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 79% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 6/8/2013 11:39:00 AM More reviews by jamface17

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My eyelids get very oily so a primer is crucial for when I wear most eye products. Eyeshadow and pencil liner smudges and creases on me like crazy. This base works absolute wonders though! I'll smooth this around each eye, apply however much eye makeup and about 6 hrs later my eye makeup is still there! When I close my eyes and look in the mirror, there's barely any crease line and eyeshadow hasn't smudged. For during the day when I'm just wearing a little eyeshadow or maybe some eyeliner, I really don't need that much. However, I tend to apply a bit more at night when I'm wearing more makeup just as insurance ; ).

I'm not bothered by the doe-foot applicator and apply it directly on my eyes. I guess the bad thing though is I won't be able to see how much product is left in the tube. It'll also be tricky to get all the product out from the sides. The texture is really nice, it's light and blends out smoothly.

This is the first eyeshadow base I've ever tried so I have nothing to compare it to. However, this product works so well on me that I don't feel like I'd want to try anything else. I've already repurchased another one for when I run out!

I'd say my only gripe is the price. It's on the pricier side at $39 here in Australia. Since I don't wear eye makeup very often, it seems worth it to me as I don't get through it very quickly. I definitely recommend this eyeshadow base to anyone else with oily lids, this has worked amazingly for me!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/5/2013 6:11:00 AM More reviews by UrrUrr

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Fabulous product. Way better than Urban Decay's primer, it can hold the worst eyeshadows in place. Also, it will suit all skintones as it goes on transparent and won't produce white streaks as long as it is blended in properly. I have this awful cream Majolica Majorca (Japanese drugstore brand) eyeshadow that creases and fades in literally minutes without primer..I put it over UDPP and it disappeared into thin air within the hour.

Today I tried using the cream eyeshadow again under Nars primer. I was pretty shocked that the cream eyeshadow didn't disappear..I walked through a rainstorm and got wet and all but the eyeshadow was still there....looking the same as how I applied it hours ago. Amazing! Eyeshadows also go on more vibrant with this primer. Sometimes, after a very very long day at work (more than 12 hours) i will notice a very slight creasing at the inner corner of my eye. However, I also have the same problem but worse with UDPP so I guess it's something to do with my eye shape. (hooded lids?)

The only thing I dislike about it is the white sponge tipped applicator. I like to put foundation on my eyelids to even up my skintone before applying primer and yup..my foundation stains the applicator. Otherwise, the applicator is pretty useful as the tip can be used to apply primer under my eyes so that I can apply eyeshadow there too. This is really awesome stuff..everyone should try it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/25/2013 5:55:00 AM More reviews by liviiflutelouu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

My new favorite eye primer. I had used UDPP for years, until a few days ago when I decided to pick this up. This primer is NOT sticky, doesn't crease on me, and really keeps my shadows in place. If I am wearing a full face of makeup, I also like to put this on the sides of my mouth to prevent my foundation/powder from creasing. Absolutely love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/24/2013 7:05:00 PM More reviews by mkb1225

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Only good things to say about this product! One swipe per lid is all you need for all day, crease-proof shadow wear. Really light-weight, blends quickly and invisibly onto the lid, unlike Urban Decay Primer Potion. Have repurchased and will continue doing so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/19/2013 6:00:00 PM More reviews by emma1995

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

WOW. in my top ten products of all time!!!!

without this for me there is no point in wearing eyeshadow as it will disappear or become an oily slick.

one swipe of this on each eye lightly mattifies it and leaves a smooth base to layer any eyeshadow or cream shadow on, which always looks perfect now!!

cant reccomend enough basically!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/13/2013 7:34:00 PM More reviews by LAsCene

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE THIS and IT'S A WINNER!!! It beats all the other eye primers I've tried hands down. Gives your lids a smooth appearance and your eyeshadow stays put until you take it off. It's a 10!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/13/2013 12:57:00 AM More reviews by opus79

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Brown

This was the first eyeshadow primer I ever used and I wouldn't change over to any other product! It definitely helps my eyeshadow stay on longer and also makes my lids feel soft.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/12/2013 4:50:00 AM More reviews by yenmakeup

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Never believed in primers before but this one is great for eyeshadow. Makes the eyeshadow look darker when applied, so you don't have to apply as much. keeps eye make up in place all day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/12/2013 2:23:00 AM More reviews by ShelbyG

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is truly the only thing that will keep my eyeshadow on! i have super oily lids and its been a struggle because i felt like why bother having all these nice eyeshadows if I'm going to waste them because they are smudged and worn of in no time. YES the price is steep and NO i don't love the packaging (I'm not a fan of the applicator)...but i think ill be buying this til the end of time because IT WORKS!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/7/2013 8:18:00 PM More reviews by Jaynne

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Overpriced crap. I've had this product for a while, having driven to the next city to buy it as we didn't have a NARS counter at the time. I have oily lids and my eye shadow colour usually slides off or smudges.

What I don't like about this product:
The Price. It was expensive and you just get a thin wand of product.
The Container: This product is all handle, and little product. The wand comes out with just enough product to dab on one eye lid, but that's it. It all deposits on one lid with a dab and there's not enough for the 2nd lid, so you have to re-dip to get more. So instead I dab it on a finger tip and distribute evenly between two fingers, and then apply to each lid that way - so really not impressed with that. It's a joke considering it's all wand and the wand is unusable as the applicator.
The Product: Today I realized I haven't used any lid primer for a while. I knew I wasn't impressed with my NARS e/s base from before, but couldn't remember why, so today I tried it again under a tri-colour application of Lise Watier eye shadows I applied a thin layer evenly to my lids, applied my colour and went to work. It's 4 pm and I checked my make up - the colours have almost completely disappeared and run together and I have those wretched oily lines of colour in my creases!! Wha??

I've been skipping foundation primer lately as well (just ran out of my Monostat Anti-Chaffing Gel), so today I used my Velvet Touch from DHC (a product I like very much) under my foundation and after a long day it looks great, but my eyes with the NARS is a huge let down - totally faded and slipped into creases. I may try VT on the lids.

So, sorry - I simply can't justify this product - it's crap IMHO.

Today I picked the Try Me Kit from Smashbox which contains a small Photo Finish Foundation Primer and Photo Finish Lid Primer - I'm not expecting much but I've wanted to give SB a whirl for a while and this is a great opportunity. I hope I don't like the SB foundation primer it too much because it's too expensive! Velvet Touch and Monostat - so far are my favs.

Sorry for the rant, but I really hate overpriced products that don't work!

I think primers are a lot like lip glosses - they almost all get high scores on MUA, so it's really a matter of preference and what works for you.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No