December 17, 2014 | 1707 users online

Conditioner - Suave - Professionals Almond & Shea Butter



image 0

rated 4.1(177 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 79% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/20/2011 10:20:00 PM More reviews by sunshine824

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Even though this is a fairly "new" product from Suave they've already changed the ingredients and the packaging once.



For the record the original ingredients:


Water (Aqua), Cetearyl Alcohol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice [Aloe Vera], Cymbopogon Schoenanthus Oil [Lemongrass], Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower/Leaf Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract, Dimethiconol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Fragrance (Parfum), Dipropylene Glycol, Potassium Chloride, Lactic Acd, Disodium EDTA, TEA-Dodecylbenzenesulfonate, PEG-150 Distearate, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone.




The newer ingredients:

Water (Aqua), Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice [Aloe Vera], Cymbopogon Schoenanthus Oil [Lemongrass], Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower/Leaf Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Behentrimonium Chloride, Fragrance (Parfum), Dipropylene Glycol, Lactic Acid, Potassium Chloride, Amodimethicone, Disodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin, PEG-150 Distearate, PEG-7 Propylheptyl Ether, Cetrimonium Chloride, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone
*Certified Organic Ingredient 





Both the older version and new version contain silicones. Cyclopentasiloxane, dimethiconol, dimethicone, and amodimethicone are silicones. I only state this for those who expect most Suave conditioner to be silicone free, this one and most in their "Professionals" line contain silicones.


I've used this(the newer version) along with the matching shampoo, and I'll say that it's nice for a Suave conditioner. It doesn't compare to Aveda at ALL, so I think that it's incorrect for them to make those claims. It does have some nice ingredients, but it doesn't seem to penetrate the hair and give lasting moisture and strength the way that Aveda products do. It's a pretty good everyday conditioner, but I wouldn't call it a HG product. For a couple of dollars more you can get Aussie's 3 Minute Miracle Deeeep Conditioning Treatment which works better than this. It also smells better.



Speaking of the scent, I have a really sensitive sense of smell. I've used Aveda's Brilliant, Damage Remedy, and Dry Remedy line and this smells like a mix of all of them with a healthy dose of Cherry Almond Bark. It seems like they wanted their conditioner to smell like an Aveda product but couldn't afford the essential fragrance oils and couldn't figure out which one they wanted it to smell like. So they used cheap dupes of the scents of each and threw them all together. For me it's not really pleasant, but it fades really quickly after rinsing so that's a plus.




As much as I would love to get "Professional" level hair care for Suave prices, this isn't it. It's good for drugstore, and great for Suave, but I don't really find it that special.






Would not repurchase.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/5/2011 1:46:00 AM More reviews by obsess1beauty

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is a wonderful conditioner. I'm so mad at myself for spending $30 on a Paul Mitchell conditioner that didn't do nearly as well as this did.

My hair is very, very dry. Whenever I comb it, it feels like it'll break off and is frizzy at that. After playing with every conditioner from other drugstore brands, I gave up and decided to try this on a whim. Afterwords, my hair was shiny and like other reviewers have mentioned, there's definitely a little bounce left behind after styling, too- and the shine!! My hair is glossy as if I've put serum in it, yet I haven't. I'm shocked at how well this works. Although it has slip and is just slightly watery, it still moisturizes and doesn't leave the bottom of the tub dangerously slippery. Repurchasing as soon as I run out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/17/2011 8:59:00 AM More reviews by lillybloo

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. I have colored my hair every 6-8 weeks for the past 15 years at least. My hair is pin straight, very fine and normally oily at the roots and dry as a bone everywhere else. I've tried countless brands of hair products to make my hair pretty. Since Suave released this line, I have not needed to try anything else. This conditioner is rich, creamy and smells nummy. I don't leave it in longer than a minute or 2 and my hair always looks shiny, healthy and has a happy bounce to it. I've spent $20 on Fekkai glossing conditioner that didn't make my hair look like that! I swear by this Suave stuff!! I think alot of people discount Suave as being a cheapy, poor quality brand, and with alot of products that may be true. But not this. RUN, don't walk, and go get some. My HG conditioner, for sure. So happy that at least I don't have to spend a small fortune on my hair! (Lord knows I spend enough on my makeup and skincare!)

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/13/2011 3:54:00 PM More reviews by Tsumaura

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I love love this conditioner! It sort of smells like coconut (nummy~!) and it moisturizes and detangle my hair superbly!! After I come out of the shower i have sleek, shiny, and really moisturized hair XD I use a sulfate free shampoo, so sometimes there is a bit of buildup, but if i use the suave Rosemary mint clarifying conditioner the next day its gone ^-^
OMG.... plus! It's CHEAP

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/11/2011 1:11:00 AM More reviews by jewelsandlye

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I put my hair through hell, honestly. With all the heat and teasing, I feel like I have to reward my hair every time I shower. I've tried a lot of high end products to try to lessen my TANGLES when I get out of the shower, and this is the only conditioner, by far, that has actually done something tremendous for my hair. I have found no other shampoos or conditioners do as much for me as this has and I don't ever see myself changing shampoos/conditioners from here on out. Such an amazing price for such a brill product. xxxo

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/29/2011 11:24:00 PM More reviews by maneandchic

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This stuff gives expensive curly hair products a run for their money. I typically leave this in after washing. I use a fair amount and it leaves my curls defined and frizz free. Nothing really does that for my hair. I'd call this a hold grail product for sure.

I have Type 3B&C curls and the corn area of my head is super frizzy and sometimes doesn't have a defined curl pattern.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/21/2011 3:12:00 PM More reviews by thewidowpicard

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Blue

This is a very good smelling conditioner. It does seem to make hair soft, a little bit. But I wouldn't repurchase it because it doesn't seem to help with breakage or split end prevention like other conditioners.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/29/2011 10:07:00 PM More reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

This is probably the best conditioner Suave has in their line. I honestly do not know why people are saying these two combined make their hair feel like straw. I'm wondering if it's people who color their hair a lot or use the flat iron more than a few times a week. It's thick and rich without being too heavy. I put it on and leave it for at least two minutes every time I shower. I have thick and wavy hair. It makes my hair soft and shiny with just the right amount of volume. It doesn't feel like heavy silicones are weighing my hair down and making it look greasy. On the second day after washing, my hair still looks good. I'd say it's a good balance of ingredients and VERY comparable to salon products. I paid $2.97 for both in a pack.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/14/2011 11:40:00 PM More reviews by pulidobl

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This conditioner works well with the Almond and Shea Butter Shampoo by Suave. For less than $2.00 this is a steal. I do not have to use this everyday with the shampoo which is nice. Does not make my hair greasy like some moisturizing conditioners do, but if you have seriously dry damaged hair, you will need something more than this. I have slightly dry, color treated hair and this works great. Better than some expensive conditioners I've used!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/12/2011 8:31:00 PM More reviews by AmberTillman

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I got this along with the shampoo in a value set for like 3 bucks! And it's AMAZING! The shampoo and conditioner really do hydrate better than many high end one's, and as well as Biolage for my dry, damaged hair! Love the packaging, and the scent, and mostly the results! I have found my HG poo and conditioner :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No