July 23, 2014 | 1882 users online

Lotions/ Creams - Soap & Glory - The Righteous Butter

rated 4.3(181 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 77% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/3/2011 10:18:00 AM More reviews by yolp1945

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

glides on like a dream...sinks in really fast (not greasy at all) and leaves my normal-dry skin really soft and smooth. the scent is nice, i don't think it's really overpowering, but like some other reviewers have said..it might clash with your perfume. nonetheless, the scent wears off pretty quickly. i use this at night and for daytime i find myself often reaching for soap&glory's 'the daily smooth' (which is also awesome!)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/3/2011 4:09:00 AM More reviews by FionaMay95

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Other, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Its tooo perfumed for my sensitive skin, although it does smell so gorgeous. xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/5/2011 9:20:00 PM More reviews by rosetta1123

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Wow, I can't stop touching my skin. At last, I've found a cream that is capable to tackling my extremely dry skin and KP (little skin bumps). My skin is so dry that the inside lining of my clothes is always covered with flakes (very embarrassing & gross). This stuff makes my skin so silky soft and smooth (like my little five year son's).

I've tried countless dry skin creams (Avon, Vaseline, Olay, etc). I've had moderate success with the Avon's Intensive Skin Relief and Vaseline's formulations but they didn't give me nearly the same results as the Soap & Glory Butter. I started using it daily for the first week and then found I could go every other day with the application. I also use Bath & Body Work's citrus body scrub a few times a week which helps to keep my skin smooth and in good condition.

I got it at Shopper's Drug Mart for $19.99 so it is moderately priced (not cheap but not too expensive). I'd advise checking out the scent for yourself before purchasing because it is quite strong and does linger. I'm not crazy about it but it's something I'll overlook for the results.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/15/2011 1:31:00 PM More reviews by marmaladecat

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Mmmm, heavenly! This is a gorgeously moisturising body butter which has a deliciously sweet floral scent. It leaves my skin feeling silky soft and smooth. I've particularly noticed the difference on my elbows which are prone to feeling quite rough-they're a lot softer since I started using this! The butter does smell very strong in the tub but once it's smoothed into the skin I find the scent milder.

I moisturise with this in the evening but if you want to moisturise in the morning, I think the scent would probably clash with any perfume you may want to wear. The scent lingers for a decent amount of time which is lovely.

This costs 10 in the UK which isn't cheap, but it does last a long time as the product is really rich so you don't need to slather loads on. Also, it may be worth bearing in mind that the rich formula may not be suitable to use every day or for every skin type. I use it maybe 3 times a week and I can still notice the benefit to my skin but because I can get spots with rich moisturisers, I ration my use!No breakouts so I'll continue using it as I'm doing. As I said though, it totally depends on your skin-I'm sure some people's skin will crave the richness! :)

The retro-pink packaging is super-cute and I always feel very pampered and glamorous when I use this! A definite re-purchase when my current tub runs out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/8/2011 6:51:00 AM More reviews by One1Cherry

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

Sephora started carrying this brand recently and I fell in love with it immediately. I bought a Christmas set for my friend and she loved it.

This body butter is pretty thick but not greasy. It sinks into my skin very quickly. The scent is lovely at first, I'm so addicted to it initially but after using it for a couple of months, it just gets overpowering. If they were a little light handed with the perfume it would have been perfect. Now I'm just using it on my legs where the scent doesn't bother me as much. Overall this worked well for my super dry legs.

I also like that it does not contain petrolchemical ingredients, I avoid any mineral oil or petrolatum. You can keep this for 24 months after opening due to having 5 parabens in its ingredient list and two of them is in the middle of the list. That is way too much for my liking and I will not be repurchasing this anymore.

This can feel rather thick, go for it if you like that kind of texture. I love the container though, its pink and so girly. Its now sitting on my bathroon shelve with Lush's glorous mud.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/1/2011 6:51:00 AM More reviews by suzerxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

this is a great butter! smells fab and makes skin soft and moistureised, does what it says on the tin!
xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/27/2010 12:11:00 PM More reviews by LaKeast

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

I really like this! I found this to be a really great moisturiser, it makes my skin soft and smooth, and I like the smell too. I especially love using it straight after a bath, bliss! The only reason I have given it four stars and say I would not repurchase is because I have found something else I love even more, but I still think this is a really great, relatively cheap moisturiser.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/27/2010 9:38:00 AM More reviews by BabiesStoleMyDingo

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I was really torn between giving this 3 or 4 stars. I DO like it as a solid type of fragrance but I don't think it is a good body butter. My skin is really dry and soaks this up like nothing else, but not really leaving my skin softened. It is NOT the heavy duty moisture I expect from a product called "butter". It is more like a lotion to me. Also, as nice as the scent is (and yes, it IS a dead ringer dupe of Miss Dior Cherie) it is WAY too strong to use this all over your body. So I only use this when I want to smell of perfume, and then only on my arms and my neckline/cleavage. Not only do I not NEED to wear any other fragrance with it, it is virtually impossible to add another one. This stuff is really strong an lingers. So my verdict: I like it for the fragrance but it is not the product it promises to be. And that is why it only gets three stars from me

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/28/2010 9:08:00 AM More reviews by zapryncess

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Amaging smell that lingers on the skin (i love miss dior cherie too). It's very mosturizing also, and the price is ok. Higly recommended. I also love the vintage appeal of the whole soap&glory line, very cute packaging.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/14/2010 2:12:00 PM More reviews by edelk

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Normally I try a different body lotion every time I need one as I like to see what different brands are like but this is the only one I have bought repeatedly, am on my third tub now. Here in the UK, a big tub is about 10 and it will last for ages. I really love the smell. It actually really smells like Miss Dior Cherie and the scent lasts for a long time. As far as moistursing qualities go, it is really rich and takes a while to sink in, but once it does, it sinks in completely and doesnt leave my skin greasy, yet the smell still lingers. It is really good on bumps on the tops of arms. I have bought Kiehls Creme de Corps in the past and I would say that it is almost as good. The only downside of this would be it might clash with any other perfume you are wearing.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No