November 26, 2014 | 1818 users online

Highlighters - E.L.F. - All Over Color Stick

rated 3.6(130 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 8/11/2008 10:04:00 AM More reviews by ilygurlie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have one in Persimmon and it's aVERY shimmery frosty (To me it looks kind of orange) color.
I like the smell of these - they smell like oranges! Yum. I tried using it on my lips and I looked like a 5 yr old playing with makeup.. it's way too shimmery for the lips and cheeks, IMO. I only use it as an eyeshadow base or on the tearducts or something.. that's about it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/10/2008 12:03:00 PM More reviews by laurenash09

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I don't love this, it takes a lot of blending on the cheeks to be decent and it's not wearable on eyes or lips so the name is deceiving.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/9/2008 5:05:00 AM More reviews by Sunshine1983

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I'm not sure why they call it an all-over colour because let's be honest, they're really too shimmery to be used most places. I have all the colours (Pink Lemonade, Persimmon, Lilac Petal, Toasted) but don't use them very often because they are so shimmery. Don't get me wrong, I adore sparkles, but usually on my eyes, not on my face.
I find with all the colours that the shimmer is a lot stronger than the actual colour, once they are blended in you only get a vague sense of colour and a lot of shine. They aren't nearly as strongly coloured as the images on the website suggest. They work well as an eyeshadow base to add density and shimmer to powder colours, or as a highlighter a la Benefit High Beam but IMO can't be used as a blush at all. I might used Toasted to add a little shimmer if I've already got a good tan, but otherwise I don't use it at all. They also all need to be applied to the face before powder or they are really hard to blend (as with most grease/cream based products).
I said I'd buy again because for the price they are cheaper than a lot of other companies highlighters, but they are definitely not the one-stop-shop they claim to be.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/26/2008 12:39:00 PM More reviews by ArizonaAngel

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I got the Pink Lemonade and it is a bit too 70's porn starish frosted for me personally. I love the idea of it, but I can only use this as a highlighter - it looks weird and super frosty pale on my lips. I tried it on my eyes but it creased within an hour. As a highlighter and underneath my foundation as a brightener it is okay, for everything else nah. Because of the price I might repurchase, but it pretty much sits in my make up bag for now.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/24/2008 1:45:00 AM More reviews by eiffadea

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

i bought this in pink lemonade..it's way too shimmery for my liking..definitely not for eyeshadow or the lips coz it is too frosted..for blush,i think it'll be okay only if i top it up wit powder so that it won't appear too shimmery..decent product for the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/11/2008 7:57:00 PM More reviews by mz654

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

When I first opened the package (Pink Lemonade) I was worried this would be too shimmery, and it is if you apply it as blush directly on to your cheeks. I apply with my fingers after foundation but before powder and it looks very natural on me. But it only works as blush, does not look good as lip color and definitely does not work as eye shadow.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/1/2008 10:35:00 PM More reviews by mschroed

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Personally, I hated this as a blush-it was too shimmery and obvious on me even if I layered powder over it (though I didn't experiment much, honestly). I wear it as an eyeshadow. Of course, it will crease within the hour of application, but if you apply whatever shadow you would normally wear over the All Over Color as a base (I own all of the available colors, but find that Permission is the most flattering on my eyes), not only does it last; the eyeshadow color appears more vibrant and shimmery. It really is a lovely option and for a dollar, it's highly versatile. It's easy to make dramatic looks more dramatic and even darker shadows appear more "appropriate" for day if you just put a wash of color over the lighter base. I haven't tried using a real base under this, but my eye makeup lasted all day today in humid weather (and also through a tearful laughing fit) without one. It also works well as a highlighter for the inner corners of the eye and also for putting below the waterline. It hasn't irritated my eyes at all.
Excellent price, sensible packaging, decent product. If you can get this to work as a blush for you too, then awesome!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/1/2008 10:30:00 PM More reviews by cadarino

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this product in the color Pink Lemonade. It's a slightly peachy pink with a touch of shimmer. I was surprised by the small size of the product (about the size of a mini Tarte cheek stain). I actually like the small size because it fits nicely in my travel cosmetics bag. It has the consistency of a cream blush, not a cheek stain. It does not come out sheer, but has a good amount of color to it. Just dab a little on your cheekbones and blend well. It is pretty shimmery, so a little goes a long way.
For the price, this is an amazing product to try!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/1/2008 8:11:00 AM More reviews by aandfgirl133

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought this at KMart along with a bunch of other E.L.F. stuff since it was all only $1 and I have been very pleasantly surprised! These go on very smoothly, blend well, have a great color selection, and the scent is very nice but not over powering. The only thing that I dont love about these, is they are very soft so its easy to get a little too much product. But for the cost, definatly worth checking out!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2008 6:22:00 PM More reviews by eyeshadowjunky

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I like this product. I own all five or six of them (I cannot remember for the like of me). I like to apply powder blush over it to get a longer last effect. All and all, I think this is a good product. You certainly cannot beat the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No