July 30, 2014 | 1439 users online

Eye Shadow - Stila - Convertible Eye Color

no image

rated 3.9(103 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/20/2003 8:36:00 PM More reviews by chopsticktoo

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Very creative, the convertible eyes are eye liner, eye shadow and eye smudger all in one. However, I found that the packaging is not as well made as the other products. The caps come off easily, so does the shadow compartment. I can imagine it falls apart in my make up bag. As far as the coloring:

Stone: in taupe-cool brown family. The shadow is silver-taupe (same as Puck, but more shimmery, or bohemian cafe a touch cooler). Liner is dark brown.

Violet: silver-dark purple shadow with brownish plum liner

Lilac: Bright lavender shadow with bright darker lavender liner.

Berry: shimmery-silvery pink (think cassia but a touch brighter & more shimmer), with deep reddish plum liner.

Slate: Silver-shimmery shadow with dark smokey black liner, but a touch more silvery than the liner in Onyx.

The staying powder of the shadows are very nice, the liner is soft and doesn't tug, easily smug-able too. But I don't think I'll buy this product. $28 is a bit too much for teensy weensy eye shadow and liner. The coloring are the same as many other Stila shadow.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/7/2003 2:47:00 AM More reviews by mookiewookie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

2-in-1 eyeliner and eyeshadow is such a great invention!The eyeshadow can be used as eyeliner for sheer pretty color, or used together with eyeliner for a more classic look. Easy to use and good for busy mornings and lazy girls. Pretty colors, but too expensive to buy all of them :(
Cheaper Alternative:Clinique QuickEyes

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/29/2002 11:01:00 PM More reviews by ilovelauna

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Although these are very overpriced, I can't help but continue to purchase them! I have had Onyx and Lapis, but found Onyx to be too standard as it's just a black eyeliner and a match for Moonlight eyeshadow. Lapis was a Royal blue that I didn't find flattering at all. Ivy is a beautiful moss green liner and a slightly lighter version of that color for the shadow. Stone is a great taupey shade that I love to do a smoky eye with. Slate is your basic gray shades, nothing unique. They all come with a smudger. IMO, these are very handy and there are some lovely color choices, they are very overpriced due to the fact that they have average wearability.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/25/2002 4:58:00 PM More reviews by heatherblossom

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

These rae wonderful. I have one in stone and violet and will get more when I can afford the price tag:)
The design is genius. You use an eyeliner and twist off the stick in the middle for a shimmery highpigmented matching shadow, plus at the opposite end, there is another blending sponge which is conical so it actually works! The colors should work with any skintone, are highly pigmented, and beautiful, just be careful not to use too much! Also, they stay put:)
These are wonderful. A good investment. You can always buy from sephora and return if you don't like them.
EDIT: i have discovered that they don't last more than a couple of hours unless i use an eye base, so i have given them a 3.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/8/2002 2:11:00 PM More reviews by Helen

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

These have great staying power and some nice colors. THe cons are: cheap looking packaging, sponge applicator shadow--so you don't know how much product is left and the price. Christian dior makes a very comparable product at a cheaper price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/21/2002 11:25:00 PM More reviews by bunnyrabbit

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really like this- love it because its got the eyeliner and the eye shadow and the smudger in one handy little stick- only problem is that I can't tell how quickly I'll run out of liner cause its not a pencil but one of those ones that you twist to push more out. Also as always Stila isn't testing on animals and the package is made from some recycled materials- Guilt free beauty!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/17/2002 1:53:00 PM More reviews by ilovelauna

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this product! I have it in Stone and Clove. The Stone is the perfect sexy shimmery taupe on my brown eyes! Clove is a pretty dark brown liner with a shimmery light brown-gold shadow! I would definately buy them again, especially for the convenience of them!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/27/2002 8:11:00 PM More reviews by jennyb

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love the idea of these - pencil, powder shadow and rubber smudger all in one slim pencil. Unfortunately, the packaging is incredibly cheap and flimsy, the caps tend to come off in your bag, and the loose powder sprays out when you open up that part of the pencil. There's also only a couple of inches of pencil, and only a pinch of powder, so I can't see these lasting long. The actual product however is great - a soft smudgeable pencil and a shimmery toning eyeshadow. I have Violet (deep muted purple pencil and lighter shimmery powder) and Ivy (deep forest pencil and muted khaki shimmery powder). Both are far less bright and more natural than you might expect once they're on, and work really well with green eyes. This could be a terrific product for carrying around - just a pity about the shoddy packaging and the poor value for money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/4/2002 1:55:00 PM More reviews by Helen

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Like the idea--hate the price, and the packaging also looks really plain like something that should belong to the "sport" line and therefore be cheaper than the $28 pricetag. That said, it did have a great lasting power--so it's not a total loss, just overpriced, even for a stila lover like me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/28/2002 4:43:00 PM More reviews by kitten75

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Great eyeliner but as with all Stila products, it's expensive. Probably too expensive for me to purchase again but we'll see. Bought CEC in Stone this weekend and love how easy it is to apply and how well the shadow blends. Great portable item - gym, purse, etc. Makes touch-ups easy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No