MAC Satin Lipstick in Twig

4.0

263 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Glyceryl Triacetyl Hydroxystearate, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax\Candelilla Cera\Cire De Candelilla, Octyldodecanol, Silica, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Beeswax\Cera Alba\Cire D'Abeille, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Oil, Ozokerite, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax\Cera Carnauba\Cire De Carnauba, Cetyl Ricinoleate, Microcrystalline Wax\Cera Microcristallina\Cire Microcristalline, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Vanillin, Alumina, Tin Oxide, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate [ /- Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride, Blue 1 Lake, Carmine, Red 6 Lake, Red 6, Red 7 Lake, Red 21, Red 21 Lake, Red 28 Lake, Red 30 Lake, Red 33 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 10 Lake]


on 2/7/2010 7:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My fav go-to lipstick of all time!



on 2/7/2010 7:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful color, and a great MLBB for me. I like that it's an actual MLBB and does not dissapear on my lips, I like to layer it with the smallest bit of gloss to help it stay put. I would buy again.


on 1/27/2010 9:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This was my wedding lipstick. I thought that it might be too dark in photos, but I'm in love with it all over again (eleven years and I just couldn't part with my original tube). It is a matte pink brown/grayish colour that reminds me of Angelina Jolie when she wears a neutral matte on her lips. It's that just bitten look. It is definitely long wearing and a bit drying, but I still love it. Not HG... but definitely a staple. High praise from a self-confessed lipstick addict.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/18/2010 9:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I dont know why this had such bad reviews. It is a very popular color. It's the perfect brown/reddish combo. Looks great on most women, and they love it


on 1/18/2010 12:41:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Twig is a mid tone browny pink. It is neutral enough to be worn with many looks but I find that it's far too brown and makes me look too aged, I much prefer pinker lipsticks. Also, it doesn't have shimmer or glitter. I find the colour dense which is good but unfortunately the satin finish is much too drying. I much prefer MAC cremesheen Modesty. A similar browny pink but not so dark in depth as compared with Twig. Also, it's more moisturising. I won't buy Twig again.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2010 9:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I forgot that this is one of those lippies I kept buying because I actually used it up - every smidgen of it (I scraped every last bit with a lipbrush!). Until I found Fleshtone this was my go to nude l/s, I must have gone through 15 tubes of Twig over the years; this shade is that flattering. On its own, or with some gloss over it, it always got me 'love your lips' compliments from people. Too bad it's a tad drying, hence the 4 lippies.


on 1/14/2010 9:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Twig is absolutely my go-to natural color for those "no makeup" days. It is truly a MLBB color. It deepens my very pale lips to the color they SHOULD be, and allows me to add fullness and plumpness to them without it being obvious. It's a very subtle mauvy-rosy-brownish shade that goes with absolutely EVERYTHING. It's the best neutral I have ever tried--and I've tried literally hundreds over the years. Doesn't turn pink or brown on the lips, and stays on for hours and hours. Definitely will be repurchasing forever!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I concur with the other comments about the Satin formulation. Even when I tried using it with lip balms, it dried out my lips for some reason. It was a shame because I do like the color very much. I'm giving midi mauve a try, after the salesgirl told me that it's the equivalent of Mac in a different finish (lustre). If anyone here has any suggestions for similar/equivalent colors in a more moisturizing finish, I'd welcome the suggestions, thanks!


on 12/2/2009 1:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

LOVE LOVE this colour! I go through TUBES of this every year. I use it daily for work and it goes with every look. I like to wear it with Urban Decay XXX Shine in Kinky but it eally works with all liners and glosses that I mix it with. If this ever gets discontinued I don't know what I will do :( For refernce, I am a NW20 and it brightens up my face but isn't too loud-it's like a slightly ampted version of my natural lip colour.


on 11/27/2009 1:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Oh Twig - what a love/hate relationship we have had in the past. It was the first MAC lipstick I bought, and sentimentalism seemed to be the only thing keeping me from getting rid of it. That is, until recently...
The issue with Twig, which many reviewers have touched upon, is the Satin formulation. Though different colors within the same family can often times have a slightly different consistency (Myth, for example, isn't quite as drying on my lips), Twig certainly exemplified Satin's problem area. If just smeared on from the tube, the color can feel stiff, dry and uneven - which is not what anyone wants.
BUT - when used over a lip balm and applied with either a lip brush, or stippled on from the tube and pressed in with your finger, Twig really transforms and becomes a color worth the work.
Twig is the *quintessential* MLBB color. Though it looks slightly darker and muddy in the tube, once applied on the lips it takes on a really soft, rosy quality (with a slight medium brown undertone)- in some cases, it even looks like a stain. It's so natural & flattering, and gives fullness and shape to your lips.
I can absolutely see this working as a perfect bridal lip color, because it does what bridal makeup is meant to do: enhance your natural attributes. I find it's really flattering to pale complexions as well, as it sort of works to evoke those descriptions of an English rose from a Jane Austen novel - rosebud lips and all.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
173 Reviews
provocalips
33 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin

Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

40 reviews
Back to Top