September 17, 2014 | 1803 users online

Lipstick - NYX - Lipstick- #529 Thalia

rated 3.6(242 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 55% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 9/25/2010 6:33:00 AM More reviews by xxXdynaXxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

LSS 529 Thalia:
Initial review: a matte lipstick. Many reviews suggest this lipstick colour. On me, it does not look that great. It looks like a boring dull pink on my lips. I still wear it, however, I usually pair it with a pinker lipgloss such as elf's pink kiss or elf's malt shake. I find it looks good when placing Nyx's Strawberry Milk. I will not repurchase. Very creamy in consistency though. Everyday colour – to pair with neutral shades for daytime wear.

After some time I tried this lipstick on its own, and I have to admit, I changed my mind. It looks gorgeous as a daytime lipstick. It is not one of my favourites and still don't think I'll repurchase. But I think I'll manage to finish the tube one day because I sort of like it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/24/2010 6:45:00 AM More reviews by vayalios

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Nothing wrong with the lipstick. Only, the colour does not work with my complexion. I guess I have some yellow undertones (Estee Lauder 4W1.Shell Beige) that do not match this too pink lipstick. Other pinks work fine, though.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/3/2010 4:50:00 PM More reviews by lovelylau

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I just received this in the mail in my Cherry Culture order and I was so scared because in every swatch I've seen online this lipstick looks so different. However as soon as I put it on I fell in love! This looks like a nice deep pink on me, I guess you'd say a "dusty rose" as I've seen stated on here previously. I'm cool toned, so maybe that's why it works. I don't wear MAC foundations so I can't really give a reference to my skintone. I do wear Photoready in Cappuccino, if that helps and I guess I would be a lighter NW45.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/28/2010 1:51:00 PM More reviews by kayleigh83

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This is a perfect example of how different lipsticks can look on different people. At first swipe I thought this could be a MLBB for me... but then I took a closer look and realized that it looked TERRIBLE! For me (cool almost neutral skintone, pretty fair) it looked like a sort of dusty rose shade but with LOTS of brown undertones. It just looked... bad on me. As always though with NYX lipsticks the texture was smooth and creamy and the pigmentation was amazing, it's just too bad it was the wrong pigment for me! I'll keep searching for the right NYX Round Lipstick for me because it isn't this one.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 8/25/2010 9:10:00 AM More reviews by oscarnabby

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

After falling in love with NYX eyeshadows, and reading all the great reviews for the lipsticks, I thought I would give a NYX lipstick a spin, so I purchased Thalia at Ulta for 3 or 4 dollars. The tubes aren't sealed, so I opened lots of tubes to check the colors before I settled on Thalia. It looks like a MLBB when you look at the bullet, but once applied, it appeared much more of a purply mauve that just wasn't flattering in the least. It's the color I think my lips would appear if I narrowly escaped drowning in frigid water. There was nothing else about the lipstick I liked either. I found the texture much too heavy and slippery....it looked very cheap on my lips, and I am a drugstore makeup lover, so I'm not being snobby about this....I LOVE inexpensive cosmetics, but they still have to have a certain texture, like Revlon Colorburst or Maybelline Colorsensational. NYX looked heavy, waxy, clumpy ....just very unattractive. I tried applying with a lip brush, but the color was still butt-ugly on me. I have no desire to try any other NYX lipsticks now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/25/2010 4:47:00 AM More reviews by cherzleen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I’m giving this lipstick 5 lippies because I’m generous. Like what the others said, it is pink colour with a mauve undertone to it. Nothing really special actually, you can find drugstore brands carrying similar colours. Texture wise, (like any NYX product) is amazing covers my pigmented lips very well. I have olive skin NC40-42. It works ok for me, something I can wear daily. Compared to my favourite Nyx Lipstick “Perfect” which has a brown undertone Thalia is brighter and more pinkier which also means it looks good just byitself.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 8/23/2010 11:20:00 PM More reviews by megathon

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is the weirdest lipstick I've ever attempted to use. I love the creamy consistency, but I cannot figure out what color it is. Someone described it as looking like a "dusty rose" color in the tube, and I'd agree with that. However, on my lips, it's purple. Not a pretty or flattering purple, either--it's truly horrific.

However, I tried this on my sister, who is cool-toned (I'm neutral-toned), and it looked like a very pretty, flattering mauve on her (it still didn't look like the color in the tube, though). So, this could work for some people, but in general I'd recommend avoiding it, just in case. I've never tried a lipstick that looks so different once it's on my lips. At least it was cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/22/2010 1:11:00 PM More reviews by iLoveU

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

the colour its horrible. luckily its cheap.so i didnt spend do much money with this weird colour lipstick.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/21/2010 1:25:00 PM More reviews by jh0517

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my first ever review on makeupalley - until now I have been reading other people's and benefitting from their opinions. However I feel I need to express my thoughts on this lipstick! So here goes:
DISGUSTING! The minute I put it on I burst out laughing, as did my hubby when I turned around to show him. It made me look like a corpse. I don't want to write this in a way that may offend others because I understand some may be looking for this colour and may actually suit them, however for me (fair, warm skin tone) it was absolutely ridiculous. The lipstick looks very different from the colour on the stick and when put on skin or lips. In the tube, it looks like a dusty pink, but on the lips it translates to a purpley brown. The purple hue is what gives the dead, corpse-like effect. I suppose, in my case, it would be okay for dress up parties or a gothic look, but definitely not something I would ever repurchase. For those going for that look - get this! Apart from the colour, texture and pigmentation is quite good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/5/2010 10:03:00 AM More reviews by TheBexExpress

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

I like the Round Lipsticks in general. But yeah, not my colour at all. I'm quite fair with pretty pigmented lips and this not only came up purplier than expected, but gave me an instant corpse look. Which is a shame because it had great coverage. And it looked like such a lovely mauve on my hand, darnit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No