July 22, 2014 | 1372 users online

Foundations - Rimmel - Wake Me Up



image 0image 1

rated 3.6(275 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 65% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 8/20/2013 5:50:00 PM More reviews by NastySkinBlog

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I have always loved a sheer foundation with that dewy finish that makes me look fresh. My favourite of all time is Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua but this is super expensive (38 euros...yuck!!). I needed a dupe and I needed it fast! When Rimmel Launched their Wake Me Up foundation this year I researched and I thought...this is it, Ive found my dupe! I thought I was on a Home-Run when the shade 303 (True Beige) was my exact match. So I tried it and it gives such a beautiful finish that is both dewy and fresh. The coverage is certainly medium and build-able but you can sheer it down to nothing.

HOWEVER after two uses my skin went crazy...big dry patches all down my neck that were itchy and sore. I had applied the foundation just under my jaw line as to avoid the dreaded 'Half Moon' face (i know it was my match but better safe than sorry). MY skin couldn't tolerate this product and I was devastated because it is lovely! Avoid this if you have sensitive skin! I gave it two stars because:
1) The packaging feels expensive-it's glass like high end foundations!
2) You can make this a sheer or full coverage foundation.
3) The price point is fantastic-anyone can afford this.

It lost four stars because
1) Caused irritation
2) it doesn't last long...it needs lots of powder (even on my dry/sensitive skin)
3) The colour range (Like with all Rimmel Foundations) isn't good.

Great foundation if you don't have sensitive skin! I really wanted this foundation to work for me (and my pocket) but sadly this wasn't the case :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/19/2013 10:41:00 AM More reviews by katybeth

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Rimmel's 'Wake Me Up' was my first foundation, I had borrowed some off my sister for a party as I had never owned foundation, and I loved it! At first I bought True Ivory by mistake (it was in the Ivory column) it actually turned out pretty good, slightly orange but good for parties. I then went back and bought it in Ivory, this colour was perfect for daytimes as well! It has pretty good coverage, I use the wake me up concealer in Ivory with this foundation, its definitely the best foundation I've ever owned!
It did start sliding of my chin a little after about four hours, but that wasn't a problem and I quickly touched up and it was fine. Great for oily and combination skin! It also has great coverage. It does break me out if I wear it for more than 5 hours though, but I love it:)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/16/2013 10:49:00 AM More reviews by LavenderCandles

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I bought this foundation two weeks ago, after I ran out of my GARNIER BB Cream for oily skin. I decided it was time to switch the BB Cream to a real foundation, because I have Acne Prone skin and the BB Cream didn't give me that much of a coverage.
I tested it in the store, without the purpose of buying it, but the second I put it on, I knew this was the right foundation for me. My best friend was amazed of how well this foundation looked on my skin, covering all the blemishes and matching my skin tone perfectly (True Ivory).
It is a really lightweight foundation, perfect for a girl who is just starting to create her MakeUp collection, after giving up on BB Creams and Tinted Moisturizers. I apply it with my fingers, and blend it in with a Latex Sponge.
The packaging is amazing, the pump making the application easier. Although, the glass bottle seems a little fragile, and I'm pretty scared when it comes to putting it in my MakeUp Bag.
The smell isn't too strong and it disappears after the application. I don't really have a problem with the shimmery particles, because they are really hard to observe.
I recommend using it with the Wake Me Up Concealer underneath for even brighter skin.
After all, this is a great foundation and i love it. I really think it's worth the hype, and also, I get a lot of compliments when I wear it.

Sincerely,
LavenderCandles

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/15/2013 7:17:00 PM More reviews by amandamorgan14

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

The coverage was great, and it covers all my acne and scars, but the max it lasted was like 4 hours! I tried so many ways to make it work, and it didn't, :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/14/2013 1:47:00 PM More reviews by eimear5sos

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This was so good. It went on easily on my skin and gave me a gorgeous glow. I got this in the "Ivory" shade. It looked natural on me. Price was great as Rimmel always is, it was 8.99 euro. I felt that the packaging was good and wasn't tricky too. I got a compliment when wearing this. Overall i was extremely satisfied with this. I will be buying this again and I would so recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/12/2013 6:19:00 PM More reviews by akneil

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

This is a great drug store foundation. It is a good light to medium coverage, while not being heavy. It lasts well, especially when set with a powder or finishing spray. It isn't drying or oily, it's a perfect medium. Don't be fooled by the tiny sparkles, you don't see them on your face - it just looks like your skin is glowing slightly. I have acne-prone skin, and this doesn't break me out. It has good coverage for acne and hyper pigmentation, just use a little concealer as well. I use the wake me up concealer with it and I love the two of them together.
Also, it comes off easily when removing your makeup.
I will definitely buy this again, especially because of the great price. I recommend using the testers to figure out what shade you are - they usually have them at Shoppers and Walmart.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/6/2013 5:07:00 PM More reviews by clairejay1994

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I do like this product, I could have probably done with buying a darker colour as buying the lightest colour before I hit the beach and got a tan was a dumb idea.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/6/2013 11:24:00 AM More reviews by maiiiyn

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this before realising there is a rave around it online.
I like it, affordable and good formulation.
It does have glittery particles in it, so it does limit the time of day usage, but it isn't noticeable unless your face is in direct sunlight and the onlooker is very close to ur face, face looks radiant from afar!
The reason I like this formulation; lightweight but has good coverage and does not feel "cakey". Alternatives is the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum, you guys can try that if you have an issue with the glitter as the Healthy Mix doesn't contain glitter. Personally, I don't like Healthy Mix's lychee scent lol. The Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua is also similar without glitter and has a pleasing lotus water scent, but more expensive than the other two.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/4/2013 7:35:00 PM More reviews by carsena4

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this foundation after seeing many beauty gurus on youtube rave about it, for me it is too sparkly which makes my skin look very unnatural when I wear it it is also thicker than I would like, I will not repurchase this and do not recommend it, I am dreading using the rest up

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/31/2013 10:19:00 AM More reviews by Shexxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this foundation a few months ago and I am sadly not as passionate about it as others. Pros: -affordable -light weight -smells good. Cons: -way too glittery -not enough shade selection -cant wear in direct sunlight without looking like you've been to ke$has concert or something

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No