July 31, 2014 | 2021 users online

Treatments (Face) - Estee Lauder - Idealist Even Skintone Illuminator



image 0

rated 3.0(124 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.0
  • 41% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 9/22/2011 10:48:00 AM More reviews by Beautyfoolrise

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I have never tried any estee lauder skin care products before accept for theirs mascara and liquid foudation.I hesitate for a while whether i want to buy the llluminator, worry that it might not work and will cause break out and redness on my face.I don't have clear skin,i have acne marks and slight redness on both cheeks so therefore i am very careful on what i use.I brought this at DFS airport during my holiday trip in hong kong recently i am so excited thinking that it will help with my skin condition before using the serum i read reviews on the MUA and was shocked to see many negative comment posted on this product..It worries me and I was really considering whether i should start using the lluminator or not?I took a deep breathe and gave it a try...this is my 2nd week using this products,woah!!!so far so good no breaks out and redness! amazingly it leave my skin super soft and smooth,i have rough patches around my chin area due to the acne lightening cream that i am using for day & night and it really help to soften the area.My cheek bone are glowing w/o putting on makeup..I not saying that this is a miracle serum cause so far it didn't really lighten my marks and redness,i believe it take times...I don't have the ANR so i use together with my lancome moisturizer and both of the products work very well together..It is not a oil controlling serum,my face still shine during the day but not as bad as last time where my cheeks can be really shiny during the late noon.The product contains mica and i am allergic to that cause everytime i use i will have itchiness and break out but so far this serum doesn't give me any problem..there is like instruction to follow if you are using the serum..this produts u have to use for 3 months day and night after that you just apply it during day time to see the effect..as i have mention this is just my 2 week and i am pleased with the result..can't expect too much everything take time..cross finger XXXXX

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/17/2011 9:30:00 AM More reviews by ashes1534

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

overpriced. made me breakout. felt gross. didnt do anything.
seriously 80 bucks!!
for garbage
it made me more oily it didnt make anything last longer as stated. my bf said what did u do to ur face. lol it was bad.
i recomend what i found on my hunt for good skin after trying this i tried something else and it killed this stuff its listed below.

sooooo dont buy this for pore issues use a toner (witch hazel toner by dickinsons.!)

readme for great advice that actually does work!

and for ACNES SCARS AND FRECKLES get rid of them for good go buy PALMERS SKIN SUCCESS EVEN TONE FADE CREAM its listed on here http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp?itemid=32906 great stuff ************ gets rid of acne scars and freckles anything else even pitting!! i swear i had shity skin from steroids for med issues and man one month of toner from witch hazel and palmers skin success 2 bucks at walgreen i was getting compliments on baby smooth skin im talking SCARS THAT LASTED THREE YEARS GONE IN ONE MONTH! go get this ladies!! i have told everyone even the lady at EL that sold me this stuff and she now uses the palmers as well everyone i know loves me for the advice. use it as a mask at nite a bug chunky layer so it works in all nite! and scrub it off in the am! btw!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/11/2011 2:02:00 PM More reviews by amala

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought Idealist four months ago for $47. I used it as directed (2 a day for the first I think two weeks and then once a day afterward). I use it with my regular Lancome regimen.

I was really excited about this product because it was advertised for women of all skin tones. I took pictures frequently to track the results and I just looked at them. The results were not that impressive. It did gradually lighten old acne scars and my face feels a bit smoother. My face is really uneven so maybe I had unrealistic expectations of this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/6/2011 2:15:00 PM More reviews by amm8589

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was skeptical of this product but decided to try it. I have redness as well as dark age spots. After consistent use for 2.5 months, I can report that the redness has definitely faded. My age spots, however, look exactly the same. It's disappointing that they didn't fade at all, not even a little. I wouldn't buy this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/2/2011 10:15:00 AM More reviews by HanLuna

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I got about 6 sachets of this serum last week when i made a huge purchase at an EL counter at my local mall. This illuminator is a newly launched product in my country and being a huge EL fan,i was really keen to get hands on it but the price is a little too steep...a 30ml bottle costs about 100 bucks. (Yes,it is really is expensive). The BA threw in 6 sachets of this into my gwp bag to try it out.

I have used up 2 sachets so far and my opinion is that is not too bad. I noticed some sparkles in it but it did not show up when applied on the face. Used it once during the day after my Micro D and the other at night after my ANR. I really really like how it makes my skin more luminous and fresh. I can't say much about reducing acne scarring but with this on,i might be able to skip the concealer or maybe just a touch of powder to keep my skin matte. I'm still considering about getting this because of the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/26/2011 10:58:00 PM More reviews by littlemissbusiness

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Illuminator is supposed to be an all-in-one product: reducing redness, evening skin tone (reducing acne marks/sun spots) and giving a radiant glow. I have been using as part of my daily skin routine and I have been pleased with the results. I'm not sure if this product delivers 100% on all that is promised but I definitely feel like my skin has a bit more of a smooth appearance and more evened out tone. It's unfortunate that some people have had break-outs post usage but Clinique also has Even Better Clinical which is similar.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/21/2011 9:21:00 AM More reviews by laratimler

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I purchased the Illuminating serum when it first came out a few months ago..I have been using it religiously since then and love it! I have fairly good skin, but tend to scar when I get the occasional breakout, and also have the usual amount of redness around nose and chin for being fair (Mac NW15) This serum has definitely clarified and lightened old acne scars, and I found that it is a great primer under foundation. Since using it, I rarely wear foundation, just a little concealer and MAC Careblend powder over top...I get complements all the time saying my skin looks natural and radiant..I just love it!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/19/2011 6:02:00 AM More reviews by corgi75

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I just got a refund on mine today after using it for 3 weeks.

I am 36 with fair combination/dry skin with some redness and a little acne scarring. I have a tendency to break out so I use Proactiv cleanser and toner to combat this and it has worked for twelve months.....twelve whole months without one pimple, no matter what I ate or drunk or if I drank enough water or washed my makeup off properly at night.

And now it is all ruined. 3 weeks into using Idealist I had large active pimples on my chin and around nose, and spots on my cheeks and forehead. Absolutely no change in redness, no change to scarring, dry flakes on my T zone, and a high level of disappointment. Overall my usually fairly nice skin is now....bad. I like some of EL's cosmetics, I love the Advanced Night Repair....but gosh, they've got this one wrong. And also, on general principle I don't dig illuminating sparkles in skincare. It smacks of desperation to me; as if they know they've got a dud formula so they dump some illuminator into it in some vain hope they'll confuse at least a little of their market into thinking it works.

Don't buy it. I'm sure there are other better skintone balancing products out there.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/16/2011 8:19:00 PM More reviews by ivana89

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I must admit this product resulted in some breakouts at the beginning. I even got acne spots on my cheeks after a few uses (weird because I usually never ever get acne spots on my cheeks). I carried on using this product hoping it wouldn't turn out that bad afterall. At some point (approx 2 weeks later) it stopped breaking me out, and soothed alot of vicious acne marks. This product also beautifies my make-up so I will not stop using it. I say skin needs time to adapt to the product, as it may be a tad bit harsh at first.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/14/2011 1:40:00 PM More reviews by caartist

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

My first 1 star Estee Lauder product. I am shocked as you probably are, given I am such a big EL fan. I hardly ever breakout thanks to good skincare routine + Clarisonic. Within 1 day of using this, I started to break out and the more days I used, the worst it got. I counted over 24 breakouts on my forehead after just 5 days, the stress of it probably brought out more breakouts. Before someone tell me I need to moisturize - yes I do, ANR and all... I stopped using the product and within 1 day, the break out calmed down. Within a week, it's almost cleared. Stupid me, started to use this again, and boy another round of 2 dozen breakouts within a week. Just like ppl said, I am aways in a oil slick when I have this one, I have no idea why.

I noticed that it did very slightly improve some spots I have. However, just like another reviewer said, this product creates a lot of breakouts, so it can then improve it?!?!?!

Also, while on this product, I've noticed a ton of clogged pores and explosive increase in blackheads.. This product does creates a smooth surface on your skin like every othe silicone oil based product but this one clogs pore more than anything I have used.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No