November 22, 2014 | 963 users online

Treatments (Face) - Estee Lauder - Idealist Even Skintone Illuminator



image 0

rated 3.0(127 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.0
  • 40% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/29/2011 8:05:00 PM More reviews by chiodokeller

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this product every day for the last 4 months on 3 very small sun spots on my face, with little to no results. I was hoping that a product like this would help to lighten the spots, but that has not happened. I will continue to use this product every day until I am finished the bottle, with the hopes that some lightening might occur, but I'm not hopeful.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/28/2011 6:30:00 AM More reviews by Jadeypops

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I just bought this after trying it out on one of the counters in Boots. I have redness around my nose and chin, and a couple of scars from spots, nothing major but cant go without foundation kindof skin. So far so good, my skin in really soft and smoother than before. Although I haven't noticed any major reduction in redness, I think thats mainly just because I haven't been using it long enough. I absolutely love the light-reflecting particles, I have a thing for 'dewy' skin, and this really sits well under my foundation. Although I'm still hoping for the redness claims to work, because it's a damn expensive primer otherwise!

Only reson for the markdown is the PRICE. I nearly had a heartattack (as did my partner) when the total for this and the eye serum came to 102.... so unless it really really does make my skin look even I'm definitely not going to repurchse.

**********************************************************************************
EDIT!!!
*********************************************************************************

I've now been using this for 2 weeks, and I'm so damn pleased! The redness around my nose and chin has definitely reduced (to the point when takin my makeup off at night, my boyfriend commented on how fresh faced I looked and asked if I'd been detoxing!!).
My skin's texture is amazing, biiiiiig pores around my nose are so much less noticable, I now pop on a primer and BAM! Smooth skin :D
This did cause me to have a couple of whiteheads after about day6, but I perservered (it cost so much, I wasn't throwing it out!) and I'm so glad I did, the tiny amount of breakout is well worth the skin I have now (the skin I've been trying to get for the last 3 years!!!)
My acne scarring isnt as reduced as the redness, but its getting there. I'll report back after week 4. Loving this right now!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/26/2011 12:16:00 AM More reviews by katrosado5

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

For reference: I will be 50 in December. I have mature skin. I have issues with sun damage. I also have fine lines and a few wrinkles.

I am on the last day of a 14 day trial of this product. I used it twice a day. AM and PM. I am in the process of switching all my skin care products to EL products. (with the exception of Avon Anew Clinical Advanced Retexturizing Peel Pads I will continue to use those for as long as they make them, I love them that much).

I won't be purchasing this but instead go back to Perfectionist [CP+]
Wrinkle Lifting Serum by Estee Lauder.

What this product will do: It will calm the redness and red blotchiness of skin upon application. Once removed the redness can be seen on my face.

This has a light and refreshing fragrance. When I apply it to my face I use clean fingertips. This product does have a subtle shimmer that I detect on my fingertips after application and I applied it to the back of my hands for freckles and age spots that I have there and out in the sunlight I saw golden sparkles.

The issues I have had with this product:
1. After a couple hours of wear under foundation it creates a very oily look. (I no longer have oily skin).I may be wrong but it seems as though when used as it is supposed to be under moisturizer it keeps the moisturizer from absorbing into my skin, thus making it sit on top and creating an very shiny look.

2. It took me a while to figure this out but it has broken me out with pimples. One large cystic pimple on upper cheekbone area. Painful and may leave a scar. I still get pimples now again but they are usually hormonal and on my chin and jawline area.

3. The other issue is that it really didn't perform as advertised for me. Yes the redness was calmed but the dark spots, age spots...etc. weren't effected at all.

Perhaps someone else will have better luck with it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/22/2011 10:48:00 AM More reviews by Beautyfoolrise

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I have never tried any estee lauder skin care products before accept for theirs mascara and liquid foudation.I hesitate for a while whether i want to buy the llluminator, worry that it might not work and will cause break out and redness on my face.I don't have clear skin,i have acne marks and slight redness on both cheeks so therefore i am very careful on what i use.I brought this at DFS airport during my holiday trip in hong kong recently i am so excited thinking that it will help with my skin condition before using the serum i read reviews on the MUA and was shocked to see many negative comment posted on this product..It worries me and I was really considering whether i should start using the lluminator or not?I took a deep breathe and gave it a try...this is my 2nd week using this products,woah!!!so far so good no breaks out and redness! amazingly it leave my skin super soft and smooth,i have rough patches around my chin area due to the acne lightening cream that i am using for day & night and it really help to soften the area.My cheek bone are glowing w/o putting on makeup..I not saying that this is a miracle serum cause so far it didn't really lighten my marks and redness,i believe it take times...I don't have the ANR so i use together with my lancome moisturizer and both of the products work very well together..It is not a oil controlling serum,my face still shine during the day but not as bad as last time where my cheeks can be really shiny during the late noon.The product contains mica and i am allergic to that cause everytime i use i will have itchiness and break out but so far this serum doesn't give me any problem..there is like instruction to follow if you are using the serum..this produts u have to use for 3 months day and night after that you just apply it during day time to see the effect..as i have mention this is just my 2 week and i am pleased with the result..can't expect too much everything take time..cross finger XXXXX

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/17/2011 9:30:00 AM More reviews by ashes1534

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

overpriced. made me breakout. felt gross. didnt do anything.
seriously 80 bucks!!
for garbage
it made me more oily it didnt make anything last longer as stated. my bf said what did u do to ur face. lol it was bad.
i recomend what i found on my hunt for good skin after trying this i tried something else and it killed this stuff its listed below.

sooooo dont buy this for pore issues use a toner (witch hazel toner by dickinsons.!)

readme for great advice that actually does work!

and for ACNES SCARS AND FRECKLES get rid of them for good go buy PALMERS SKIN SUCCESS EVEN TONE FADE CREAM its listed on here http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp?itemid=32906 great stuff ************ gets rid of acne scars and freckles anything else even pitting!! i swear i had shity skin from steroids for med issues and man one month of toner from witch hazel and palmers skin success 2 bucks at walgreen i was getting compliments on baby smooth skin im talking SCARS THAT LASTED THREE YEARS GONE IN ONE MONTH! go get this ladies!! i have told everyone even the lady at EL that sold me this stuff and she now uses the palmers as well everyone i know loves me for the advice. use it as a mask at nite a bug chunky layer so it works in all nite! and scrub it off in the am! btw!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/11/2011 2:02:00 PM More reviews by amala

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought Idealist four months ago for $47. I used it as directed (2 a day for the first I think two weeks and then once a day afterward). I use it with my regular Lancome regimen.

I was really excited about this product because it was advertised for women of all skin tones. I took pictures frequently to track the results and I just looked at them. The results were not that impressive. It did gradually lighten old acne scars and my face feels a bit smoother. My face is really uneven so maybe I had unrealistic expectations of this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/6/2011 2:15:00 PM More reviews by amm8589

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was skeptical of this product but decided to try it. I have redness as well as dark age spots. After consistent use for 2.5 months, I can report that the redness has definitely faded. My age spots, however, look exactly the same. It's disappointing that they didn't fade at all, not even a little. I wouldn't buy this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/2/2011 10:15:00 AM More reviews by HanLuna

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I got about 6 sachets of this serum last week when i made a huge purchase at an EL counter at my local mall. This illuminator is a newly launched product in my country and being a huge EL fan,i was really keen to get hands on it but the price is a little too steep...a 30ml bottle costs about 100 bucks. (Yes,it is really is expensive). The BA threw in 6 sachets of this into my gwp bag to try it out.

I have used up 2 sachets so far and my opinion is that is not too bad. I noticed some sparkles in it but it did not show up when applied on the face. Used it once during the day after my Micro D and the other at night after my ANR. I really really like how it makes my skin more luminous and fresh. I can't say much about reducing acne scarring but with this on,i might be able to skip the concealer or maybe just a touch of powder to keep my skin matte. I'm still considering about getting this because of the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/26/2011 10:58:00 PM More reviews by littlemissbusiness

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Illuminator is supposed to be an all-in-one product: reducing redness, evening skin tone (reducing acne marks/sun spots) and giving a radiant glow. I have been using as part of my daily skin routine and I have been pleased with the results. I'm not sure if this product delivers 100% on all that is promised but I definitely feel like my skin has a bit more of a smooth appearance and more evened out tone. It's unfortunate that some people have had break-outs post usage but Clinique also has Even Better Clinical which is similar.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/21/2011 9:21:00 AM More reviews by laratimler

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I purchased the Illuminating serum when it first came out a few months ago..I have been using it religiously since then and love it! I have fairly good skin, but tend to scar when I get the occasional breakout, and also have the usual amount of redness around nose and chin for being fair (Mac NW15) This serum has definitely clarified and lightened old acne scars, and I found that it is a great primer under foundation. Since using it, I rarely wear foundation, just a little concealer and MAC Careblend powder over top...I get complements all the time saying my skin looks natural and radiant..I just love it!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No