July 30, 2014 | 1012 users online

Lips - MAC - Lustre in Lovelorn



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.4(151 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 80% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 12/29/2009 10:05:00 PM More reviews by shoppawhorelic

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I was looking for a nude-pinky lipstick for my NC30 skin, and the lustre nude rose lipstick from the Dsquared collection--which I was coveting-- was sold out everywhere, so the SA recommended Lovelorn instead.

I was presently surprised with the colour. While it is pinkier than nude rose, it is extremely wearable on my skintone and pigmented lips. I do top it off with a sheer berry tone gloss, as similar to what other reviewers have commented, MAC lippies like this one are hardly the most moisturizing.

While it is a good lipstick, I'm not so sure if it's hit holy grail status for me...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/21/2009 2:55:00 AM More reviews by hollyholly

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This has been my all time favourite lippy. It was my first MAC Lipstick that I ever bought when I was about 15 and it has remained my go-to colour ever since. It is a blue-pink and so makes my teeth look whiter - and it gives me that china doll look with my NW20 skin tone and dark hair. I pair it with either pink swoon blush or dainty blush.

I must confess that I have strayed from it for the last 2 weeks since buying angel which is soooo very pretty with smokey eyes.

MAC lipsticks are very drying no matter their formulation so to achieve the best finish you must moisturize your lips heaps!


Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/21/2009 12:11:00 AM More reviews by BABYBLUEBMW

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Such an ugly color ON!! all of these reviews are so subjective, that they are really somewhat pointless!:) What looks good on one person ~ simply does not on someone else!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/20/2009 11:50:00 PM More reviews by Maya88

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

My HG pink lippie. I like wearing it with Viva glam VI on top - beautiful and feminine, and gets loads of compliments :o)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/20/2009 10:33:00 PM More reviews by prep4evaxoxo

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this lipstick! It is the perfect sort of buble gum pink for my skin tone, because saint germain just looks retarted on me :). It is a great pink where it is like wham but not too out their! I would def. buy this again :) and as always it is high quality like all other mac products!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/23/2009 2:36:00 PM More reviews by lauralikes

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Warm Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

this lipstick is gorgeous. a nice bubblegum pink that isnt as BAM as saint germain, but still pink and beautiful just like saint germain. more wearable and since it's a lustre it feels sooo smooth and nice.
I dont know why i stay away from lustres, i always thought they were too sheer, well, this lipstick is evidence that i was wrong.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/23/2009 1:35:00 PM More reviews by HannahBoBana

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Well this seem's to be a marmite product, in terms of the colour anyway. It either look's amazing with your skintone, or it make's you look like a barbie. I seem to fall between the category between the two. Sometimes when I apply this lipstick, I think I look amazing, so I go out, and see my reflection and wipe it off because I feel.....well.....daft. I think for paler toned lips this is a shock, it's true to the colour in the tube and it smells devine, but it's just not wearable. As always MAC hit gold with this product in terms of smell and forumlation, but the colour is just to mad. But if you're into the bright lipsticks, give this a shot, I'm sure you'll love it.
Rating- 3 lippies, Lovley Texture, forumla & scent
Price- Well, it's MAC so, so you pay for quality.
Packaging- Lovley as always, I just wipe the lipstick with a wipe now and then.
Would I repurchase?- No, I wouldn't, theres other lipsticks that would go better with my skintone.

Hannah
x

EDIT.- I've changed the ratings to 4 stars because i've actually found this can be wearable if you wear it over a nude base. I first apply foundation to my lips & then lightly dab this lipstick over it & you get a pinky nudish shade. I never EVER get away with a nude lip, but this looks so pretty on. It looks lovley with a brown smokey neutral eye. Try this, but makesure to moisturise before you apply foundation of your lips, it doesn't work if your lips are dry and chapped. Hope this helps.
x

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/23/2009 1:09:00 PM More reviews by sheenl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a barbie doll pink with cool undertones. I was adventurous when I bought this lippie as I usually wear netural rose, pink or peachy colors. It is a really cute pink but unfortunately, I learned from this that I don't really look good in cool-toned pinks. I really wanted to love this because it is so pretty in the packaging. Up for swap!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/6/2009 1:05:00 PM More reviews by Gothoria

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I think this is a very nice light pink with blue undertone, I got it coz i've been lookin 4 a pink that wont make my teeth look yellow or my skin 2 look darker, so the artist swatched it on me & I liked it, on my NC35 skin its a lil pale, but i usually wear it with bright eye looks like if im wearing bright greens or blues..
plus its buildable, unlike my other lusters they'r pretty sheer, Lovelorn is creamier..
I gave this product 4 lippies coz i think its pretty doopable as pinks r available n any brands 4 cheaper prices, but I cant complain much coz I got it 4 a Back 2 Mac..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/29/2009 9:50:00 PM More reviews by PCA05KAT

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have a confession......This is my first proper pink lipstick! I have never thought that pink lipstick suited me. I have always bought pinky corals or just plain sheer lip products (I'm more of an eyeshadow person). Also, alot of pink lippies are too light and they look AWFUL on my pale neutral skin, dark hair and very pigmented lips(sorry I'm digressing here) So this blue toned medium pink is a change for me (It is def not fuschia). Corals still suit me better but I really do love this. It just gives my lips an bit of extra cool-toned pinky-ness if that makes sense. Although it may look bright on someone with pale lips. People on here have called it pornstar pink, I disagree, I mean anything can look pornstar....it just depends what other makeup your wearing with it. I like it with brown-ish neutral-ish eye, a good dose of eyeliner and a natural blush! It is not uber pigmented (which I love), so it doesn't look OTT. It weres off quickly but it's a dream to apply and works well with a sticky gloss to increase longevity (I use Revlon Pink Afterglow). Will definately buy again, it is a staple in my collection!

Is this review helpful? Yes No