August 30, 2014 | 1645 users online

Polishes - OPI - Black Cherry Chutney

rated 4.3(108 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/13/2008 11:12:00 AM More reviews by maan84

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Black Cherry Chutney was released with the OPI India collection in 2008. It is such a pretty color! To me it's a very dark purple with flashes of red shimmer. It's almost black from a distance. I like this one much better than other dark n/p I have, for example Lincoln Park After Dark.
To me this color has that little extra dimension that makes the color just gorgeous!

As always with OPI n/p the quality is amazing. Good lasting power, easy to apply and one coat provides enough coverage and an even color. I just love OPI n/p and will continue trying more colors.

I'd definitely repurchase! I'm so glad I got this color. continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2008 12:22:00 PM More reviews by Fiammetta

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I like the polish overall-- it's that near black with a slight reddish shimmer-- but it's a bit ubiquitous, no? Usual good OPI formula (not loving the pro-wides for my toes, alas) and it suits a lot of looks. But if you want red shimmer that shows up well, ie. visible in anything other than the brightest lights, opt for China Glaze Lubu Heels.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/4/2008 7:40:00 AM More reviews by strawberrysky

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this colour and i love OPI.

Only set back is the brush - it's so wide I find it harder to brush on without getting some on the side of my finger.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/26/2008 10:44:00 AM More reviews by Domitilla

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I've this in the mini size and I had lots of problems with the brush, too tini for such a dark color. I'm waiting for the full size but I'm not sure if I like this color. It's another "almost black" shade, but I find it to be less interesting than the 2 lincolns. It has a very subtle dark shimmer impossible to see indoor, a little bit more evident in sun light. I'm not impressed and I don't think it matches my skin tone. It's streaky and I needed 3 coats to achieve bottle color (in the bottle it's gorgeous because the shimmers are so visible...), but i guess it's also because of the tiny brush of the mini size.
I'll uptade the review as soon as I receive the full size.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/22/2008 3:55:00 PM More reviews by tornadogirl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have been on the hunt for a perfect dark vamp-y colour that looks blackish but not actually black. This is fab! I bought it as a mini trio of the new India collection and let me tell you, this is most likely my HG of dark colours. I have numerous similar shades but the subtle shimmer and the red undertones give this colour a lot more depth. Now I will have to spring for the full sized bottle as I am sure to run out quickly! Cheers!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/19/2008 12:03:00 AM More reviews by lilgraci

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

I looove this shade-- it is my fav of the India collection (But I haven't tried Yoga-ta Try This Blue! yet so that might change.. miiight). A dark almost black but with a gorgeous deep red shimmer to it. But I do have one small complaint-- there were some stray bristles that stuck out on the brush that were super annoying to deal with until I finally had to yank them out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/18/2008 4:17:00 PM More reviews by globear

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a really pretty brownish purple on me. You can control the color a lot with coat thickness and it has a nice sparkle in the sun, though it looks a lot more flat inside. If you want to see a pic, it's actually the color that Ashley Alexandra Dupre (the Elliot Spitzer hooker) is wearing in the famous picture that's in a lot of magazines with her holding up two fingers at the camera- don't worry- it's not an inappropriate picture if you want to google it. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/16/2008 6:55:00 PM More reviews by tulipswallow

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I really like the color (very dark blue red with flashes of red shimmer ... almost black from a distance.) Total coverage in 2 coats, and awesome shine. It wears so-so -- I had to touch up tips several times over the course of the week. The reason I didn't give it a better score -- Milani makes a twin ... Garnet Gems, with more of the red shimmer, but very close. Wear is actually better with the Milani, for me. And only ~$3 a bottle.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/12/2008 12:19:00 PM More reviews by Mrs_Brightside

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

BCC is a new HG vamp for me. I found it to be an improvement on OPI's attempt at big three free. It applied easily, three coats to bottle color, but I'm a three coat kind of gal. The color is fantatstic! Deep and simultaneously rich, with a fabulous flash of deep purple shimmer, most prevalent in sunlight. It wore well under normal circumstances.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/11/2008 4:12:00 PM More reviews by BatFat

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

i agree with other reviewers. it look black from far away but up close it has purple tones and a perfect red shimmer. i also really like how shiny the finish is.

i plan on wearing this dark color when i'm in a dark mood. probably in the winter time. or a night event.

in my experience all opi polishes start to chip after ~3 days...but what polish doesnt?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No