July 24, 2014 | 2192 users online

Hair Color - Revlon - Colorsilk

rated 4.0(94 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 78% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.0
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/29/2011 1:48:00 AM More reviews by christi4200

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

HG for me!!!! And that is saying ALOT! I have tried EVERY haircolor brand from the DS and from Sally's too. I recently had a horrible haircolor extravaganza, beginning with a horribly botched highlighting job at an upscale salon. I stupidly thought upscale meant they'd do a great job. I even had a "senior" stylist. Ha. It is all about the stylist, not the salon. I have had better results from cheap salons. Anyway, I went thru alot to try and fix my hair, including two more trips to (a different) stylist/salon after the botched job, and too many boxes of DS and Sally's hair dye and hair color remover. My hair was an ugly yellow unnatural color with icky orange tones as well. It really suited my NC35 skintone well lol. Blech. I was about ready to give up on the blonde and just dye it all brown again, so as a last resort, I picked up a couple boxes of Colorsilk in Dark Ash Blonde and Medium Ash Blonnde. My hair is FINALLY a beautiful color blonde with no more orange tones!! And I had a hell of a time trying to get rid of the orange, believe me! Will buy this again and again. I got my Colorsilk on sale for 2 for $5 @ Rite Aid!! Yay!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/17/2009 5:25:00 PM More reviews by LVaccare

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I used ColorSilk #70, Medium Ash Blonde, over previously colored dark blonde / strawberry blonde hair (with 1/2 inch of regrowth / roots; my natural color is medium / dark brown with red undertones). I had first purchased #60 Dark Ash Blonde, based on the color representation on the box...I am so glad I also picked up the Medium Ash Blonde. I conducted separate strand tests using each of the colors, and chose to go with the Medium. (As others have posted, these colors tend to turn out darker than expected, and the strand tests confirmed that fact.) I'm generally pleased with the color results - my hair is now a light brown / dark blonde with some lighter blonde "shimmers", but the best part is that there are no traces of orange, copper, or any other brassy remnants of my natural red undertones. My hair is soft and shiny, and it looks so natural! (All for $3 a box - it hardly seems possible!)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/6/2014 4:50:00 AM More reviews by MadameButterfly

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've used all brands of hair color, from professional color (all pro brands) to drugstore box color, and I've also been to salons, both high and low, to have my hair colored. I find Revlon Colorsilk superior to all brands I've tried, and superior to salons I've gone to for single process color. I've had some very disastrous and expensive experiences at salons. I'm not sure how salons can ruin your hair by doing simple single process color, but they do. I've had my hair turned purple-mahogany-red (when I asked for chocolate brown) and had my hair turned into straw, when I asked to cover up the brass in my hair with a darker brown. I've embraced DIY hair color not only to save money, but also to have control over my own hair and to reduce damage. My hair is too long (lower back length) to risk destroying it at a salon.

I use Revlon Colorsilk "Medium Brown" to make my hair a rich chocolate brown color with subtle highlights. The results are consistent and the formula is easy to work with and doesn't smell as much as most brands. Best of all, my hair feels softer, smoother and healthier after I use Colorsilk. It also makes my hair shinier and bouncier. The color unfortunately does not last very long for me. It starts to wash out after a few shampoos, and doesn't last more than 6 weeks at most, even if I shampoo only 2-3x/week. I have this issue with all hair color though, not just Colorsilk. The price cannot be beat, especially for me, since color fades so fast for me and my hair is very long and thick. I need 3 boxes for full coverage, and at $3-6 per box, the price is as cheap as anything gets. continued >>

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/26/2013 12:30:00 PM More reviews by RobsBaby

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I wanted to get away from the strong, lingering smell and harshness of the permanent at-home hair color I had used for years (Excellence). After pouring over reviews for many semi- demi- permanent hair colors, I decided to try ColorSilk #60 Dark Ash Blonde on my very coarse, curly 50% gray hair.

First off, the packaging is minimalistic...which I like. The fewer frills means lower cost to me...a big plus! No, you don't get designer gloves or fancy applicators - they just aren't necessary!

Next, the scent is pleasant, not overwhelming and won't bring tears to your eyes as ammonia-containing products do. I almost forgot I had it in my hair as I was waiting for it to develop and my husband and pets didn't scatter from the room!

The conditioner is the BOMB!!! Smells so good and goes on like silk, leaving my hair so soft and with great slip - important to a curly like me! Wish I could get this stuff by the gallon!

The color is fabulous! It is rich and radiant, with tons of shine and dimension. Yes, I do see a glint of reddish tone in certain light, but I have a red undertone, so it is very natural looking. Other "ash" toned hair colors have been flat and lifeless looking, with no highlight or dimension. So, I prefer the results that ColorSilk delivered. And gray coverage - 100%!!!

I have washed and conditioned my hair once since coloring. (I use VO5 Moisture Milks - REALLY cheap silicone-free) and my hair is amazing! I've never had this soft and smooth hair within days of coloring before. Usually my hair takes two weeks to "settle down" and defrizz...not with ColorSilk, which makes me feel there is less damage from the process.

I only shampoo every 3rd day or so, so I expect the color to last quite a while, though my hair grows really fast. However, I won't mind recoloring frequently since I know I won't be ravaging my hair.

I couldn't be happier with Revlon ColorSilk and it will be my new go-to! I enthusiastically recommend it!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/14/2013 2:20:00 PM More reviews by kixxi54

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

After reading all the great reviews for Revlon Colorsilk, I decided to give it a try. I was afraid the super low price of $2.99 at Walgreens would compromise the quality. I usually use Clairol from Sally's, but I was in need of a hair dye that would be quick and easy to use. I've used the more expensive brands of hair dye in the past, Redken, Chi, and I've had horrible PAINFUL experiences before. The last time I had a professional hair dye at a salon, I paid around $200 and my hair was COMPLETELY ruined, so I'm afraid of going through that again.
I purchased the Dark Brown color, and I'll never buy another brand again!!!! The hair dye did not smell like chemicals that sting your nostrils. It didn't burn my scalp. The consistency of the dye was perfect, not too runny. It was very easy to apply. After I washed it out, the water wasn't super black, which happens with all other dark hair dyes. I thought maybe my haircolor wasn't going to be so vibrant, but it was!!! Very soft, shiny, the perfect Dark Brown. I guess now I'll see how long it'll last! Don't let the low price scare you away, great quality dye!!! Love IT!!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/18/2011 7:15:00 PM More reviews by asyoulikeit

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I want to thank everyone here for their positive reviews of Revlon Colorsilk hair color as that is how I decided what to use to color my hair for the very first time at age 68! I covered my light brown, graying hair with Medium Brown and I could not be more pleased. It was inexpensive, easy to use, and most people take a second look but can't quite figure out what is different as it looks very natural. I love the color and my daughter and her (high maintenance) friends gave their stamp of approval. I was so very much hoping that I could color my hair inexpensively and by myself. I can! I can! Now, I know I can!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/15/2011 1:07:00 PM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I have been dying my own hair since I was 13 years old and I've tried every dye out there but I always go back to colorsilk. When I was younger I chose it because it was affordable. Now that I'm older it's because it's the only dye I've found that covers my gray without fading. The price and availability is just an added bonus.
For being 29 I have lots of gray hair which stands out against my dark brown hair. Most dyes turn it red or fade after a couple of washes but Colorsilk never fades on me. It also doesn't dry out my hair like some dyes. I only have to touch up my roots every few weeks. The only thing I would change about this product is the cheap gloves since I have large hands so they never fit. I always keep a pair of good quality reusable salon gloves on hand.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/21/2011 11:45:00 PM More reviews by andrenna

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i am broke, ya'll. i just graduated from law school, but i am still looking for a job. until i land the environmental lawyer job of my dreams (i can dream...) i can't afford my pricey hairdresser that i love. so i got on mua and looked up some hair dye recs. i am a natural blonde about level 7 (as natural as blondes can be, which is not nearly as light as blondes of the world would have you believe!) and i had been dying it red a la joan halloway. after a year of that, i was tired of it and ready to go natural. i bleached my hair, but i was too scared and didn't let it get to the pale yellow level. it made it to blonde, but it was still pulling red and no toner or protein filler could fix it. i decided to try colorsilk, and it worked! i used ultra light blonde (shoot, i can't remember the number, but if you need it, message me) all over and processed it for 90 minutes. it lifted my root color 1-2 levels, they were very light blonde but it was pulling red everywhere. i was worried. i put the deep conditioner on it and went to sleep. the next day i mixed two colors - one 06 and one 07 ash blonde colors together and applied them to my roots and then through my hair, but not on the tips. i was going for an ombre look but since i'm blonde it isn't very prominent. i let it process for 25 minutes and then washed it out. i love the result and my hair is still healthy!

i've posted a before and after picture of me (i'm wearing a peach shirt and raybans in the before, and a black and white check shirt in the after!)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/17/2012 8:02:00 PM More reviews by minkd1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I <3 this product!!! I have my cosmetology License and I still continue to use Revelon. If your going blonde with this product I find it helpful to have a shower cap on and use a blow dryer for maximum lift tho. Im addicted to the brown colors now LOL.. but its my absolute favorite hair coloring product..NO AMMONIA which is Awesome!! Great conditioning treatment and cheap!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/20/2009 11:23:00 PM More reviews by bordnfl2

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've colored my hair for about 25 years. My natural color is medium auburn but with all the gray I have at this point, red hair color dyes do not look natural on me.

I switched a year back to medium golden brown and tried L'Oreal, Garnier Nutrisse and others. By far, this is my favorite medium golden brown. I put it only on the roots because my ends tend to grab color and get dark. It blends amazingly well.

I did not get an uneven result and it's shiny and the color lasts. I was using Revlon High Dimensions but they discontinued it. This is cheaper and works just as well. For $2.97 at Walmart, I am amazed. I've also had my hair professionally colored for about $60 and the results are not all that different.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No