July 29, 2014 | 1903 users online

Concealers - Estee Lauder - Ideal Light Brush-On Illuminator



image 0image 1

rated 4.1(96 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 4/30/2014 5:22:00 AM More reviews by mosquitobuggy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this one, because since very young age I always have dark circles. It is expensive, sets on fine lines...apparently though I am oily, these concealers to stay dry and therefore dry your skin. I hope one day I can find a good concealer that does the work.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/25/2014 3:09:00 AM More reviews by Cherryferry

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I am slightly obsessed with this product. It is just perfection. It has a very smooth gentle consistency that just blends into the skin so easily. I bought this in the lightest shade cause I am so pale and it is just the perfect colour for me.

I usually apply this over my nose, under my eyes, under my cheekbone, on my chin and on my forehead. Not much, of course, but just a dot in these places helps to make my entire face glow. For me, the consistency is also perfect for acting as a concealer. You wouldn't think that that would work, this being a highlighter, but it is just so natural that it covers the blemish without attracting attention to the area. Thus for me it really is a miracle worker -- like a highlighting concealer :)

Before this, I used Clinique's version and it is just no comparison. I like the Clinique version, but I love this, and now my Clinique one is just lying in my makeup drawer as a backup. It has been replaced!

The price is a little steep, but it IS Estee Lauder, you get what you pay for. I have used cheaper highlighters like the one by Rimmel but this one just shoots it out of the park. Whilst I find other products chalky or hard to blend, this just melts into the skin perfectly. All in all, it is ideal :)

I would certainly recommend this product. It does everything it promises to do and more. 5 lippies for Estee Lauder on this one!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/21/2013 1:52:00 PM More reviews by Bajanac

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

In absolute love with this, i bought this in a little shad lighter and i just have to apply a little around my eyes and little on my cheeks and it makes me look awake. I love this product- it really makes your makeup look flawless, i apply it with my own brush around the areas i want to be brighter and a little goes a long way.

The only down fall is the twist button - sometimes can dispense to much - so that is why i am taking one lippie away for the weird dispenser.
Overall amazing product will repurchase!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/17/2013 2:24:00 AM More reviews by Mysticrhythm

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I did not know that this could be used as an under eye concealer until a sales associate at Nordstrom recommended it to me instead of a concealer. Wow! I have very translucent skin and permanent dark circles under my eyes and just a touch of this stippled on makes them almost disappear! With this I find that on days I don't need full makeup on I can simply moisturize, apply a little of this under my eyes, powder and go! It blends into my skin perfectly and invisibly, unlike every concealer I've ever tried. Also, with my age I am starting to get the fine lines under my eyes, this doesn't settle in them at all or otherwise make them more obvious, also something every concealer seems to do with me.

I love the packaging, makes it easy to control just how much I need to get out for application. I don't use the attached brush for applying it though, I brush a tiny glob on the back of my hand and use a Real Techniques eyeshadow brush to stipple it on.

Definitely one of my HGs, I hope they never discontinue this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/10/2013 1:07:00 PM More reviews by mzcitizen

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is just beautiful! Not heavy or cakey, it's smooth and silky, with good coverage and luminosity. Perfect colour for me, easy to apply and i love the classy packaging. This really lightens and brightens my eyes. I love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/24/2013 10:24:00 PM More reviews by msfrost

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite illuminator so far! I like it so much more than the Touche Eclat.

The color is perfect for a subtle light that you can apply on your cheekbones, cupid's bow, forehead, and chin. The pen is a very cute rose gold color, and it contains a lot of product! It lasts a long time. :) It is easy to dispense, and it's never too much at once, so application is a dream. I put this over foundation. The consistency is liquid but not runny, and it's very easy to dab/buff/blend with your fingers or a brush (haven't tried with a sponge).

My only complaint is that you can't see how much product is left, but I'm willing to let that go in exchange for the pretty packaging haha.

I hope they never discontinue this!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/26/2013 1:10:00 PM More reviews by quickbrownfox

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

The best under-eye area concealer and highlighter that is out there.

I'm a big fan of YSL's Touche Eclat, which is a perfect product only it lasts for a month (if you use daily) and costs a fortune. I kept on buying Touche Eclat because I thought that it was the best under eye area concealer (I tried many: MAC, Chanel, Nars, etc.) and I thought it was the only one that answered to my needs. That is; fine coverage (yet a thin consistency) and a proper range of colors. Estee Lauder's Brush-On Illuminator does the same job, but it lasts x3 longer for a better price. Also, you don't need to pile up a lot of product, a little does wonders. The light color is just the right hue, it isn't very white so it doesn't look like you are about to go on the stage and sing a song. Another plus; I never felt the need to re-apply during the day. Overall, I think that this isn't a cheap product but it sure gives you your money's worth.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/5/2013 12:18:00 AM More reviews by OSusanna

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I bought this and the Double Wear concealer at the same time. Both are excellent products but the DW does have more concealing pigment and is just a bit more opaque. However, this illuminator is still a fantastic concealer and has better luminosity and the finish is better. I love DW but sometimes the finish is cakey and I'd rather have a more dewy finish. Great packaging, beautifully portable and attractive. Coverage is about 85% of the DW concealer. Both rate a 5 for me as they do different things for me at different times. I especially like this illuminator to take with me in my purse for touchups.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/24/2013 5:45:00 AM More reviews by IrisFvH

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is a great product and gives a great range of colors. it goes on smoothly and perfect.

buttttt, it doesn't give me enough coverage. I got permanently dark circles under my eyes. It covers them up for probably about 80% and for me that's not enough.

Overall, great product who need a bit less covering under your eyes!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/26/2013 12:51:00 AM More reviews by hokwai

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I own both of the EL Ideal Ligtht (in light) and YSL Touche Eclat. The two are quite similar in purpose, however, EL is thicker in consistency and provides a tiny bit more coverage. YSL, on the other hand, provides more luminoucity. Both are great and melt into the skin really well.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No