MAC Retro Matte - Ruby Woo

4.4

553 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/24/2015 10:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this shade, it's the type of red that looks really good on most people. It does drag on the lips upon application , not moisturizing at all, feel kinda dry actually but it's expected for a matte lipstick but either way I would still repurchase because it's so sexy on. I have the ruby woo lip pencil and the shades a tad lighter in comparison. It helps to prevent feathering and stays put a good amount of time.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a really beaut, bold shade. It was my Birthday night and I wanted to wear something with a POW to it. I have been put off buying lipstick and red lipstick (having always been drawn to it - it looks so awesome and bold!) because I have really thin lips, I thought the lipstick would just highlight how small they were and wouldn't look flattering. I tend to wear lipliner to overline my lips so they look bigger, but forgot to put my plum liner in my bag so I popped into Selfridges and decided I was just going to go for it - buy Ruby Woo and the Cherry lipliner to overline my lips. The Mac girl was lovely and she first put a base of cherry over the lip and overlined my lips slightly - she then put on Ruby Woo. It looked gorgeous and I got a lot of attention wearing it. Rather than feeling self conscious about my lips and their size - Ruby Woo with the Cherry liner made my lips look pouty and beautiful - it was very flattering on and I felt my lips looked pretty and classy! It was a great colour that really made my whole look a little bit exciting and special. Cherry lipliner (also Mac) is the PERFECT match for this lipstick - they are practically the same shade and so if you overline the lips - you cannot tell your lips from the lipliner - they just look full and awesome. Good lasting power too :). Awesome colour and I am excited to try some more shades with matching liner! I also love the classy little black packing :)!


on 2/12/2015 1:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Love this color and the matte finish. One of their best products. I am ALWAYS complimented when I wear this lipstick


on 2/8/2015 10:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

definitely the best red lip color ever. I dont use red lipstick this is the only red I'll go for in my life maybe haha. Love it!


on 2/5/2015 7:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Definitely a bold red. Definitely try before you buy, does not look good on everything. Cost me $16.95 at the MAC store. Can be a little drying to your lips, scrub 'em and moisturize 'em good before wearing this. Will slowly wear off if you eat / drink, will also stain your lips. Can be worn thick and bold or light and subtle. I have never spent this much on lipstick but I think I miiiight just be a MAC lipstick convert on this one. (my pic is the face from the nose down with the rosy scarf) I'm 43, fair skin with coolish understones (but kind of olive too). My redheaded, pinky undertoned friend tried out my lipstick and it looked good on her too!


on 1/27/2015 5:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my ultimate red lipstick and I'm almost sure that it is MAC's ultimate red lipstick too, this is a beautiful velvety red.

Price: I think for the quality of the lipstick even though it is considered an expensive 'high end' lipstick, it is still a reasonable price as it is just such a classic lipstick.

Texture: Now I'm thinking a lot of people have probably complained about it being a 'matte' lipstick and thats its very drying, however! the trick is lovely ladies to keep your lips in good condition, e.g. using a lip scrub, using a good lip balm! if you have dry or cracked lips of course its not going to look or feel very nice.

Colour: as stated before stunning.

anyway this product does not need a long review as it is just fantastic. I would recommend this to everyone and anyone who was looking for the perfect red lippy.
xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2015 6:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Deep Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the only red lipstick that suits me..absolutely love it. It's such a bold, vivid colour and really makes my lips stand out. Only downside is that it dries out my lips so I have to use lip balm before applying


on 1/19/2015 10:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really enjoy this lipstick. It's true what they say: it is very drying on the lips; however it doesn't bother me, since it's a not-so-annoyong drying formula: I don't really know how to explain it, but once on the lips you don't really feel it anymore. The color compliments every skintype, so that it looks gorgeous on everyone. You can use it without lip pencil since it's not gonna move and it lasts forever. I definitely rely on it on big occasions, even when I know I'm going to eat.


on 1/18/2015 2:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Such a great colour! I always get compliments when I wear Ruby Woo. However it is the driest of the retro mattes so a lip primer is a must. I always team it with a lip pencil to get a crisp line. This lippy also lasts over coffee and food. Love it.


on 1/10/2015 5:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This lipstick appears to b everyone's go to red lippy. It is a cult fave for a reason. I honestly never witnessed a person this lipstick did not flatter. Some weaping willows will shy away from a red lip but I ain't one of them! The only issue I have is that it is really REALLY matte and require a little primer or balm underneath and maybe even a gloss on top.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
173 Reviews
provocalips
33 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Red Lipstick on WOC by Marquita1986

Recommended for Medium Skin

Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

41 reviews
Back to Top