September 19, 2014 | 1179 users online

Loose Powders - Make Up For Ever - Super Matte Loose Powder



image 0

rated 4.1(150 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 74% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/30/2014 1:54:00 PM More reviews by Emma13

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Updated review. I got this to replace my BB sheer finish powder in pale yellow. I think the MUFE shade is 14, sand. It's a little more apricot-hued than the BB but goes on transparent - at least when used on top of sunscreen but without foundation. The BB can sometimes look a little obvious on top of my NARS sheer glow foundation (Ceylan), around my nose and cheeks if my skin is a little dry. Update: I did a head-to-head comparison - sunscreen, Nars foundation (only where needed) and what was left of my BB pale yellow on one half of my face, MUFE on the other. There is basically no difference - except that unfortunately MUFE darkens a bit over the areas where I applied foundation, and BB doesn't. So, one-nil to BB. I'm a bit bummed as MUFE is the significantly cheaper option. It's still excellent, with that one caveat.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/5/2014 6:59:00 AM More reviews by Dis8ged

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really like how this product feels on my skin. It really is matte and controls shine. Not too sure why, when I use it together with MUFE HD liquid foundation, the shine breaks through in 3-4 hours. But when I use it on my bare skin, it can last the whole day. Just that there is no coverage at all tho. I can also use it to set my under eye concealer and it's not too drying.

My big dislike is the packaging, which really makes the powder fly all over the place, and on my clothes! As this does not have long staying power, I need regular touch-ups throughout the day if I want my face to be matte the entire day. The packing does not make it travel friendly. Once I put it in my bag, lots of product will be wasted when I open it.

Really like this loose powder but hopes the packaging and staying powder improves. Would still repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/4/2014 4:25:00 PM More reviews by Bubbles98

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my first high end powder and im in love. Keeps me matte but theres this weird glow it gives me but not oily. I live jn canada so everything is expensive but i think its well worth it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/6/2013 3:58:00 PM More reviews by mooseformayor

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I am typically quite oily-skinned and have tried virtually all the loose (and occasionally pressed) mattifying powders available. From indie to department store brands, you name it, I have likely already tried and been dissatisfied with all of them. No matter what, I will always have oil breakthrough a mere 3 or 4 hours after initial application. Nothing would get my face through even half of my workday.

MUFE Super Matte Loose Powder has been a different story altogether. While it's not entirely shine-proof, and certainly not for an entire 12-hour day, it has resulted in keeping my face much more matte than all the previous oil-control powders I have tried thus far. I can get a solid minimum of 6 hours of matte, or very nearly matte, skin using this powder. That is nearly unheard of for me. Better yet, my skin post-application not only looks healthy, it FEELS very healthy and good, too. Whatever happens to be the magic ingredient in this particular formula that sets it apart from all the rest, MUFE should always stick with it. This product is a genuine winner and was made with the oily-skinned ladies in mind. Very highly recommended!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/6/2013 11:46:00 AM More reviews by CailsSun

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other Eyes: Green

I really liked it, I thought it helped a lot!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/3/2013 8:37:00 AM More reviews by peonia

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Other, Straight, Medium Eyes: Other

Oxidised a LOT on me. By midday my face was several shades darker than when I first applied it. Does not come with a puff - it needs to be bought separately. Also, the shades and how they number the shades do not seem to follow a logical pattern and is super confusing. Didn't seem to control oil particularly well. However, it is quite pigmented, which is the only thing I liked about it. I didn't even wait to finish this before I bought another loose powder. Will not repurchase.

*Edit: I think this has been responsible for some of my clogged pores and pimples

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/16/2013 2:55:00 PM More reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This really didn't do much for me. I have oily skin, and I use the press and roll technique for setting my face products. I like my setting powder to add a bit of coverage or at least to diffuse, and this did nothing. It took shine down upon application, but I didn't like the finish. If you have very clear skin and are looking for a very sheer powder, this might work for you. I saved the container, though! I use it to mix products on the cap.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/7/2013 11:03:00 AM More reviews by brandibravo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have very oily skin that is prone to breakouts. I have tried countless products (primers, foundations, mattifiers, powders, skincare, etc) to keep my skin from getting so oily and I think I've finally found it!

**First of all, this product is not intended to provide tons of coverage, even if you get it in a tinted shade. I have acne scarring and I already use products specifically designed for covering them so that didn't bother me. Second of all, this is NOT an HD powder. Using this product alone will not give you that soft, defused and camera-read look. Read: it may settle in pores. Use a separate HD powder if pores are in issue for you**

As far as oil-control goes, this product is pretty awesome. I won't say that prevents shine 100% because that is an unrealistic and unnatural expectation. This product keeps my skin matte for up to six hours. At the end of those six-or-so hours, my skin will start to get a little shiny, however, not even close to how oily it used to look. Because of its mattifying effect, this product also does a pretty awesome job at keeping my makeup from oxidizing. Unlike HD powder, you can't get away with just a skimp of this stuff for it to do its job; you're going to need a little more product. I find that starting out with less on one portion of your face and slowly increasing the amount of product works best for me so that I can avoid overusing.

Overall an awesome product that does exactly what it is designed to do (for my skin, at least). Minus one lippie for the the packaging. I can't offer any suggestions as to how it could be improved, because I think all loose-powders are a hassle as it is, but if MUFE could somehow gather their best packaging engineers to find a way to make this more clumsy Brandi-friendly, I would totally pay the extra two or three dollars to avoid spilling it all over myself.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/31/2013 4:33:00 PM More reviews by chrissieO

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have purchased this product a month ago based on reviews here and because I have been on a desperate (and long) search of a powder that can a) control my very (very, very VERY) oily skin, b) does not clog my pores and break me out, c) does not change the colour of my makeup/face. You would think, asking 3 things from a product is not too much to ask....Well, I bought Super Matte (in Sand 14) and it does have a nice finish as it is finely milled as per other reviewers. It does not have a drastic colour change effect like MUFE HD, Mattify!, Dermablend and all those so-called 'invisible' white powders which invariably give me that oh-I-have-just-dipped-my-face-in-rice-powder-and-look-like-a-clown look as my complexion is NC37-40 and need to press powder on to have any kind of oil-control effect. It sort of works with my makeup - but pulls slightly orange (I am very yellow golden with a touch of olive undertone) so Super Matte is not 100% what I would like to have in terms of coverage. As for oil control - big thumbs down, it does absolutely nothing (as many other countless powders I have tried) to keep the oiliness away for longer than 1-2 hrs. I need MAC Blot on top to do that which begs the question of why I would use Super Matte on the regular basis. So no, I will not repurchase and will continue hunting for that elusive perfect powder...or (desparing) anything that comes close.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/23/2012 12:58:00 AM More reviews by sayakhansa

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I would say.... I like this powder, but I don't love it. I have oily skin, that's for sure and this prevents me from getting oily for about 3-4 hours. The thing is, it can look a bit too powder-y despite stating how soft and silky the powder is, it can also make me look super dry. It's expensive and you don't get a lot of product, so I would say I won't repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No