November 24, 2014 | 1529 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - Volum' Express The Falsies Flared

rated 3.2(326 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.2
  • 47% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 11/11/2014 6:08:00 AM More reviews by radlegend

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Deep Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've used most of the Colossal Volum' Express range, but this is my absolute least favorite. I love the BRUSH...absolutely LOVE the brush!

I have short but curly lashes. This mascara goes on well enough, but it it takes LOADS of applications to get the Falsie look.
I have to put on at least 5 coats before I see the length and volume. By that time, it's flaking...

Won't lie - first time I used this, I got 2 compliments on my lashes (that's big for me. I never get comp'd on lashes, ever!)
Sadly, that day has never repeated itself. I have to put on loads and loads of mascara before i get my desired look. I often fail...but knowing i have something on it ok i guess.

I wouldn't buy this again. I actually ended up using this brush with another colossal mascara!
My favorite from this range is Cat Eye. A definite must try for anyone loving the brushes!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/8/2014 11:07:00 AM More reviews by cmykitty

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Green

I tried this mascara because the store I was shopping at didn't have Voluminus Butterfly by Loreal (which is actually my favorite and you can read my review on it) and I actually had to stop using it after about a month. It clumps and flakes TERRIBLY. If I was out in the humidity it started depositing underneath my eyes which is not a good look, especially since I already have dark circle problems. I don't think the bristles on the brush are long enough either. My eyes also felt irritated when I wore it (probably from the flaking). I would not recommend this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/2/2014 2:29:00 PM More reviews by missyazuli

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other Eyes: Brown

If you want a mascara that can double as an eyeliner by the end of the day, then get this.

This smudged WAY too much on my eyes. Topping that, it didn't do anything to them. The only way i knew I was wearing mascara was at the end of the day, when it smudged around my eyes and made me look like I put eyeliner on.

It's a 'no', in my book.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/16/2014 12:24:00 PM More reviews by xxxmascara

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Ok so I needed a new mascara and I always look at reviews for everything before I buy it if I can! And my mum was going to asda where they have a small makeup section with a maybelline stand, so I looked real quick online for one as I'd heard they were good. I quickly decided on this one as I was looking for volume and length. Luckily it was on offer for 5 which I was soo happy about:)
Anyway the mascara wand is great and I have none on my face (which is good for me haha) and my lashes are medium length and it makes them look super long and with 2 coats they look very black which I love, long and voluminous with no clumps! Only reason for 4/5 is because it claims to flare your lashes but I havent noticed that really yet, overall I love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/3/2014 11:25:00 PM More reviews by b0mbpop

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE this mascara!! I think my favorite thing about it is the brush- I love how it bends & flexes with your lashes... it really helps me to keep the mascara ON my lashes and OFF my face. And it made my eyelashes look really long and beautiful! But it did flake A LOT. I had to keep checking myself in the mirror to make sure I didn't have any black smudges. I wonder if the waterproof would flake less?

All in all, I really like this mascara but I wish it didn't flake as much.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/20/2014 4:58:00 PM More reviews by Giggles13

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I was so excited to try this mascara out since I've been on a hunt for a new mascara but I'm sad to say that I wouldn't repurchase. Reasons why is because although it gives me insane amount of length and really dark lashes it flakes like crazy more than the loreal voluminous butterfly mascara and it also gives you very spidery lashes. Oh and also I honestly don't see how the brush helps with the fanned out look it never gave me the "flared" look. Although it has cons some of the pros is the black is really black and from far your lashes do kinda look like falsies :).But I'm definitely sticking to the butterfly mascara for now since it actually fans out my lashes and lives up to it's claims :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/15/2014 9:17:00 AM More reviews by AprilShowas123

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

5 stars because it's a great product for the price. Creates lovely fanned out lashes, lasts a long time, love this stuff..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/11/2014 4:07:00 PM More reviews by Beautycomesfromwithin

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is an amazing lengthening mascara, does nothing for volume though which is disappointing xo.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/10/2014 3:40:00 PM More reviews by GagaSuperfan

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I love this product! I have been searching for a really good mascara for a while now and this has what I was looking for!

Although there is only one mascara brush, you can use the curved part to start off with (I've found this gives my eyelashes really good volume), then you can use the other side of the brush to separate the lashes and lengthen them (the brush took me a little while to get used to as it does bend slightly to allow all lashes to be covered).
I have found that a lot of other mascaras tend to cause my eyelashes to clump together, but not this one! It didn't run although it did flake ever so slightly once I'd wiped my eyes (however this was only a tiny amount - barely noticeable!).

Overall, I think this is a fabulous mascara, great quality for a great price - it really does give that false lash affect! (It also smells really nice too!) I would highly recommend this product!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/7/2014 8:29:00 PM More reviews by Jessica24601

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Thank you Maybelline for once again making a volume mascara that I do not have to pay thru the nose for! I bought this at Walmart for 7.95. I've never tried "the FLARED" version, I've tried Black Drama (didn't really like the fibers), The Falsies (Reg) (got lots of length w/ that but not enough thickening) & the Falsies (Reg) WP (loved the look but could not get it off & my lashes felt like plastic). My cousin had beautiful eye-lashes the last time I saw her, I asked her what mascara she was wearing & she pulled out The Falsies Flared from her purse. I was so close to just getting my safe "Colossal" or to try (Colossal) "The Cat Eyes" today, but I've already got quite a few mascaras on the go, so just opted for this one. I'm glad I did. This is a volume mascara whereas the Falsies Reg I find to be more length. I need thickening mascara badly for my long but sparse lashes & def received it from Flared. My lashes are dramatic, black & lush. They're also very curled. I applied only 2 coats to get the look, but even w/ that many coats I've not felt any flaking. Only reason I take a lippie off is b/c the formula is extremely dry so I know this will be yet another 6 week mascara. That's ok tho, will re-purchase perhaps in WP when that time comes. This is a lot like Lancome Hypnose Drama to me but for a fraction of the price.
3.5 Rating***.5 UPDATE: Had it about a mo & just don't like the crunchy feeling & notice it flakes...Oh well, I guess I got what I paid for...Won't re-purchase Flared, perhaps the REG in future...I need to just buy COLOSSAL each time then I won't be disapointed lol, that lasts a full 3 months!

Is this review helpful? Yes No