August 30, 2014 | 1719 users online

Powder - Bare Escentuals - Matte Foundation spf 15

rated 3.5(701 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 60% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/29/2014 12:16:00 AM More reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I found this to look better on the skin than the original but I still did not care for it.
My skin gets way too shiny way too quickly with their foundations. I do not think they look natural on the skin and I do not like how they blend out. I have found better ones for half or even less than the price of these.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/13/2014 3:38:00 PM More reviews by hlovespearl

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I think a lot of people are buying this with out really knowing what to expect. Yes, this claims to be a foundation. I'm not sure if that's what I would label it as. I think it is more of a full coverage powder instead of a foundation. This isn't going to cover imperfections perfectly. It will even out the skin tone, but for blemishes/acne scars you will definitely need a concealer to go with this. How I use this product is by first applying concealer to my trouble areas (blemishes, acne scars, under eye, and around my nose) then I go in and use this to set everything and slightly even out my skin tone. Commercials make this sound like a miracle product that will blow every other product out of the water. I do feel that this is an amazing product, but keep in mind you are going to need another product to go with this. (BB creams work generated under this on a good skin day!)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/13/2014 7:33:00 AM More reviews by LucyLamb

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I HATED this product…. it did not hide my imperfections but made them more noticeable. Instead of concealing a dry patch like my Estee Lauder DoubleWear does, it amplifies it. instead of making my pores disappear, it magnified them! I looked like I had pock marks all over my nose. No matter how much buffing I did, there was no way to blend it in more. Plus, I had to keep adding powder to my nose because it did not stop the oil well at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/12/2014 2:22:00 AM More reviews by addkg777

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

i think i might always have a jar of this in my stash. its fool proof and it doesnt break me out.
i took off a lippy cause it can be a tad drying and cakey if you over apply

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/11/2014 5:33:00 AM More reviews by Cjessicaaa

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've worn the original powders for 5 years. This one is a step up, because I have oily/dry skin and this product goes on great. I wear either this or ready foundation (bare minerals) on top of a bb cream and it works perfectly, lasts almost all day but of course I retouch during the day since my face gets oily. It works as perfect w/o a bb cream as well, I just prefer to use both. I use medium beige.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/10/2014 4:01:00 AM More reviews by LilMissMatched

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I like this mineral makeup. Has a creamy consistency, strangely enough, and glides on like buttah. I will be repurchasing, the makeup slave that I am.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/1/2014 8:01:00 PM More reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

It literally did nothing to my skin. I couldn't detect where it was anywhere on my face, except if I literally caked it on so it'd look awful. It really accentuates my dry spots. Overpriced and all that.

Whatever, not worth it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/23/2014 4:34:00 PM More reviews by wrenn28

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been using N10 for almost a year now and I have to say, I really like this product. I have oily-combination, acne-prone skin with minor blemishes and this product actually helps in keeping oiliness at bay especially around my forehead. I use it alone when I'm wearing a primer and it holds up for about for about 4-5 hours in tropical weather. On good days, like not so sunny days, or when I just stay in an air-conditioned room, it stays on for about six with very little need for blotting. This powder is buildable and I find that it works best with a buffing brush. However, it unfortunately cakes if you apply too much. Most of the time, I use it as a setting powder on top of my bb cream so I only need very little. The packaging is simple, nothing special. Refridgerating it helps the product last longer. I stopped using it because a couple of months ago, my started acting out and would not accept any powder of any sort, but I would probably purchase this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/23/2014 2:43:00 AM More reviews by lauramvig

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Really not the biggest fan of this. I bought it on a friend's recommendation, so I guess some like it.

It's chalky and separates on my face when I get oily.

I also find the packaging impractical.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/19/2014 5:13:00 PM More reviews by fierymermaid

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I can't believe I hadn't reviewed this. Out of all the foundations I've tried, this is the one I've repurchased the most! I guess it's just a case of it being so commonplace to me that I don't even give it a second thought. Anyway, here we go:

I first tried this foundation in 2009. I had been studying abroad in Japan, had been using some terrible foundation (the only one I could find that matched my skin), and it DESTROYED my face. When I came back from Japan, my mother immediately took me to get some different make-up, and we ended up at a Bare Minerals store. I picked the matte cause I've got a nasty, gooey, oily face.

This foundation isn't particularly amazing. I'm not singing its praises all the live-long day, but it does its job. It covers quite well, it mattifies quite well, and it lasts quite well. I feel like it knock it out of the park with any of these qualities, but it's been the only foundation I've found that is GOOD in all three categories. Most foundations suck at all three, some excel at one, but none I've tried other than this have been good at all three.

Every once in a while, I get frustrated with this stuff. I want something more matte, or with better coverage, or better staying power. I go try new things, get frustrated that they're only good at one thing, and then I come crawling back to Bare Minerals, begging for forgiveness. "Why did I forsake youuuuu!?"

The mess is aggravating, too. It will make a cloud of foundation, and get all over your clothes and vanity/sink/wherever you're applying it. This aggravates and sends me searching for a liquid foundation. I get frustrated with how much they smear or settle in pores, and come crawling back again. "I should have known better!! Whyyyy!?" This mess can be lessened a bit (and coverage improved a bit) by LIGHTLY misting your face with a spray bottle. Emphasis on LIGHTLY because if you spray just a hint too much, your application will be streaky, cakey, and just downright friggin' weird-looking.

It is good at everything, but isn't great at anything. However, I haven't found a foundation that IS great at everything...so until then, this one is the best, I suppose.

Is this review helpful? Yes No