July 28, 2014 | 2086 users online

Lipstick - Revlon - Matte Lipstick Really Red [DISCONTINUED]

rated 4.7(226 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.7
  • 91% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 5 of 5 on 5/17/2014 1:36:00 PM More reviews by merrysoul

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I am not sure why this shade is listed as discontinued. Here in London, I keep seeing the shade being sold in various Boots and Superdrug shops. I love this shade and find it flattering no matter if I am normally tanned to sunburnt. The lippie glides on smoothly and wear time is really good. Do exfoliate your lips and moisturize with lip balm prior to wearing for better results and wear.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 4/9/2014 5:55:00 PM More reviews by TheHipsterlicious

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This is a great, muted, universally flattering, everyday red, and I really enjoy it. I was disappointed in the formula because it fades and makes my lips feel gritty. (This is probably because its a matte lipstick.) that aside, its still a good product and is long-wearing compared to others I've tried. I have read that this is a dupe for Ruby Woo, though I can't compare them personally since I do not own it.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/18/2014 10:26:00 PM More reviews by Ashes83

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

    This product is a red that works on everyone. A bold red that lights up my face as soon as I put it on. It is matte, so be sure to exfoliate your lips and moisturize BEFORE you wear this. It lasts a event amount of time, and the price is great.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/10/2014 4:33:00 PM More reviews by skandelouslala

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Other

    An absolutely classic netural matte red. This is one of the most gorgeous items Revlon makes and if they ever discontinue it, it would be a damned shame. It really is that good. I have been wanting to rock red lips forever but I always feel self conscious. This is the shade that is helping me get over it lol It has a neutral base, has a pop of cherry color but isn't too bright but also isn't too dark. I love that it is matte... for me, glossy red lips are difficult to pull off because I feel like the gloss and the red compete for attention. I don't mind red creams but still prefer matte if I can get my hands on it.

    I can actually get away with wearing this even without properly moisturized lips. The matte formula on this shade is great, it glides on smoothly and doesn't cling to any dry spots but it is best to prep lips with a balm (I prefer one that has a matte or satiny finish like eos balms). It is really long lasting and looks great. It somehow manages to be matte but still look moist. It also does not feather, end up on your teeth or otherwise smear.

    This is the red lipstick you buy if you think you cannot wear red lipsticks. It will prove you wrong.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/9/2014 3:00:00 AM More reviews by shaylapurple16

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

    This is my absolute favorite lipstick ever. I ordered it about a year ago for my birthday or Christmas from Walmart.com, and I love it so much. I appreciate how this is a matte lipstick rather than glossy; most of the lipsticks in the stores where I live are glossy, but I prefer this one. With a little lip balm underneath, this lipstick is not drying and for the most part lasts all day long. I would definitely buy this again when I run out! If you want a bold red that's not too dark, this color is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/6/2014 11:02:00 PM More reviews by majesticax

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Brown

    I originally bought this at my local grocery store when I was in desperate need for a red lipstick, since my beloved Ruby Woo was stolen, I was left with nothing. I read online that this was a dupe for RW, so I was pretty excited when I opened it, the packaging is so secure! Anyways, I loved this, it complimented my skin tone wonderfully and made me look elegant. I love this, two thumbs up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/5/2014 7:45:00 PM More reviews by athenasius

    Age: 56 & Over Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

    I'm surprised I forgot to review this when I bought this back in 08, 6 years ago. I bought it's now d/c sister "In the Red". They were 2 great reds in the Matte lipsticks line by Revlon and they are both favourites. Over the years I've tended to choose this one to wear more because it's a bit lighter and brighter, the other one was browned down which made it easier to get up the courage to wear but honestly----


    ---this shade is way nicer and I'm glad this is the surviving red in the Matte lipstick line. I better get me 2 more tubes just in case they decide to discontinue it.


    The colour itself is a neutral red. I think warm and cool toned ladies could wear this easily. There is almost a cherry undertone in this red. Teeth look white next to it, and it makes my skin look clear and lovely. One of Bobbi Brown's lipstick tests is to try it wearing no other makeup. If it makes your face look better, it's a keeper. If you go sallow or blotchy or your teeth go yellow it's a loser. This is a winner of a lipstick.


    It feels light and creamy. It looks matte, but doesn't dry my lips out. And it's a nice satiny matte, not a crepey dry ol' ladyish look, which I am careful of being on the VERY far side of fifty!


    It wears for about 3 to 4 hours then it's time to refresh it which is pretty good for any lipstick let alone a red one.


    I tried a bunch of red lippies at Estee Lauder, Dior, Lancome and Elizabeth Arden before buying this one and it's now d/c'd sister, and each of the other brands wore off and bled into my lip lines. The L'Oreal ones were really bad for that. I hated the Maybelline smell on their new line, and the L'Oreal's were as stinky as ever. But they ALL bled into my lip lines and wore off fast.


    Speaking of bleeding, this doesn't! I'm impressed! Red is a difficult colour when you are over 50 and have some lip lines to contend with. All the other ones bled into my lip lines. This stays put----FOR HOURS!!!!! NO BLEEDING! NONE!


    It isn't food proof, but still leaves enough of a stain behind that I keep a red look instead of the bluish grey mauve undertone that my lips have naturally.


    Oh and one last comment, that container, the tube itself has a good secure closure on it, no worries about it coming undone in the purse or cosmetic bag. It is a chic matte black with a pretty silver middle. Really nice!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 1/30/2014 2:30:00 PM More reviews by vivienh92

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    one of the best red lip colours i have. but you have to have really moisterised lips!! colour is beautiful and seems to suit any complexion. i've only used this a few times but haven't been disappointed :)

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/27/2014 3:42:00 PM More reviews by Sgoosie

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I love this lipstick it's a pin up girl red I love how matte it is but not as drying as macs lipsticks u go revlon it's a cross between ruby woo and Russian red

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 1/27/2014 11:58:00 AM More reviews by tracybeautytips

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I like this lipstick. I got good comments everytime I wore it. I wore it in the evening most of the time, because it's "really red" and intense, very evening look. The only thing I am not 100% support is that it's pretty dry, need to mosisturize very well before applying, otherwise my lips will get very dry after a couple of hours, and it hurts a little.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No