MAC Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15

3.5

2738 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE INGREDIENT: Octinoxate 2.50% Other: Water/Aqua/Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Silica, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Algae Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Xanthan Gum, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methoxy Amodimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Laureth-7, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Propylene Carbonate, BHT, Chloroxylenol, Phenoxyethanol [ /- Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288)


on 7/28/2015 11:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This foundation in NC25 is a perfect match for my skin tone. It's a medium coverage foundation and it will last you a long time. You only need a small amount. I bought the pump at the MAC store to go with it. I've had this since March 2015 and I can honestly give it a pretty good review from using it on and off. It breaks me out. I have super sensitive skin, though. I use it on and off because my skin cannot handle it. It's sad, because I really love it! I'm hesitant to try other MAC foundations because I'm not sure if they will also break me out. This foundation doesn't oxidize for me, but sadly once I run out I won't be repurchasing. I may try the powder foundation next time. Haven't decided yet.



on 7/28/2015 2:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

AMAZING foundation. Over the years I've tried other brands like Clinique and they failed. I've been using this for years and it was the perfect match for my skin tone. I have combination skin with oily in the summer and dry in the winter. It doesn't dry me out or leave an oily residue. Love it!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

When I first tried this foundation it broke me out horribly and I could never wear it. I got it back in 2013 on Christmas and wore it probably 5 times throughout 2014 to give a more full coverage to my other foundations. But each time I would still break out. Although, back then I wasn't as skilled with makeup as of now, but in 2015 I absolutely love it! I think applying it with a beauty blender is what really allowed me to love this foundation. But for some reason my skin doesn't react to it anymore which is strange but amazing ! It handles my oils very well even though I still have to powder. Fix+ is also my best friend with this ! Cons: Had to buy a pump which is annoying considering the price , and it smells like paint !


on 7/24/2015 11:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This foundation makes me look absolutely flawless. I'm truly an NC25 so this is the only foundation that matches me spot on. It lasts all day and all night. Of course this is cakey. When you wear this, you're wearing makeup - there's no doubt there. I usually don't set it with any powder because I have normal skin but I'm not sure how good this foundation is at oil control. I don't mind the scent surprisingly but I do notice that it clogs pores if I wear it for a week straight


on 7/24/2015 2:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Overall it's an ok foundation I find, I'm giving it 3 stars cause I don't really like the super matte finish it gives me when I apply, it really isn't natural at all and it makes my skin look one dimensional and flat. Also how can a foundation not have a foundation pump and what I don't get is that whenever I visit mac they have pumps on the studio fixs' they use on customers. Mac neeeds to get a pump for studio fix cause right now applying it is so annoying u always end up getting to much product but a trick I use is getting a cotton swab aka q tip for the Americans and dip it in and I get my product that way which is easier. I won't buy again cause I tend to like my foundations more natural so just so I don't waste my product I tend to mix it with the mac face and body foundation and the finish is much nicer but u don't buy a foundation just to mix with another one, I expect near perfection for 20 pounds plus, especially for a student, money is very precious to me and so should be spent on precious things and this is not cutting it at all , but If the super matte look is your cup of tea then go for it! I just wouldn't recommend lol


on 7/21/2015 10:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've never been a fan of MAC due to the fact that the studio fix powder always broke me out after a day. After watching many YouTube videos I decided to give the Mac studio Fix fluid a try. I'm in the shade Nc45 which is a perfect match. At first I thought this would break me out too but surprisingly is works great with my skin. It has great coverage and it's easy to blend. I found that it works best when applied with my fingers in a swiping motion. The only negatives it that it doesn't come with a pump and it could be a little more creamier. Overall I'm happy with this foundation. P.s. I've been using this foundation for just over a month.


on 7/21/2015 8:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue


I often swap between MAC Studio Fix and Estee Lauder Double Wear as my two main foundation staples - these two foundations are my favourites. I’ve broken down pros and cons below.

COLOUR - MAC Studio Fix has a larger variety of shades/depths which personally results in a better match to my skin tone. Estee Lauder Double Wear has quite a distinct WARM/COOL colour to their base and I personally find matching a little harder (only a tiny bit!). This really is just a minor point.

COVERAGE - MAC Studio Fix is VERY buildable - you can layer it when going out or wear it lighter for the day. You can reapply to cover spots/blemishes/under eyes very easily over and over throughout the day without noticing the layering. * When you re-layer Estee Lauder Double Wear I find that it appears to shows the layers a little more, with slightly darker/lighter bits- it’s as if the Estee Lauder Double Wear layers and seals on the first application, so if you add another layer it doesn’t sit as well. If you layer Estee Lauder Double Wear up on your FIRST application, it does last very well.

CONCEALERS - the MAC Studio Fix concealer mixes well with MAC Studio Fix Foundation but often creases under my eyes and rubs off on my nose – it doesn’t handle grease on the skin very well. The Estee Lauder Double Wear concealer (double wear) is lovely and really compliments the foundation - it smooth’s on so easily and matches perfectly - a REALLY good concealer with this foundation - a must have – love it!

FINISH - MAC Studio Fix is quite a natural finish – it looks lovely when first applied but can get a little greasy as the day goes on for my skin. Estee Lauder Double Wear does not get greasy and has a lovely sheer luminous coverage from start to finish (dewy not glowy!) it lasts!!!

POWDERING - if you powder MAC Studio Fix the consistency and texture doesn’t change much, as long as you use a light powder then it shouldn’t cake; a heavy one can start to show a little. Estee Lauder Double Wear has no caking at all when powdered.

STAYING POWER - Estee Lauder Double Wear definitely has more staying power. MAC Studio Fix tends to rub off as the day goes on and is more transferrable than Estee Lauder Double Wear. My MAC Studio Fix will often transfer onto my boyfriend’s face after a kiss, the Estee Lauder Double Wear doesn’t!! I feel confident that my face will stay put 100% with Estee Lauder Double Wear - even when I’m hot.

I’ve tried Lancôme Tient Idole, Chanel PERFECTION LUMIÈRE and Matchmaster from MAC and so far my two favourites are MAC Studio Fix and Estee Lauder Double Wear.

If i HAD to pick one - it would be Estee Lauder - for the lovely finish (its lush!) and the staying power! xxx

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/20/2015 6:31:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've finally found the perfect foundation for my skin!! I've recently changed from Estee Lauder double wear to Mac Studio Fix and it was the best decision. I got colour matched to the right shade and skin type, and I apply the foundation with a real techniques sponge, it has great coverage for day time but can easily be built upon if going out partying for e.g.
The price is reasonable (£22) it covers all my red areas, spots, blemishes and gives me a nice matte finish look...

The ONLY downfall is it doesn't come with a pump (i believe every foundation should as it comes with the price)
To buy a pump separately it's an extra £4.50.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i bought this makeup because it was suppose to be so well liked i use it one time it felt like it was to thick and you can see it seep into the pores and made me break out really bad. there is no kind of benefit to this at all like no anti-aging or skin benefit in it.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

MAC studio fix fluid-
I bought this product quite a while back now, and i haven't been 100% impressed. I bought it in the shade NW13 which is the perfect shade for quite cool and fair skin tones.

pros=
- I personally love Mac's make-up scent so that's a plus!
- Good coverage.
- Evens out skin tone well.
- Perfects match for my skin tone.
- A nice glass packaging with a matte screw off lid.
cons-
- Clumps up on dry and uneven patches.
- Sinks into pores quite a bit by the end of the day unless pore filler primer is used (which slightly prevents this from happening)
- Doesn't come with a pump which is £4.50 extra just for a pump!
- Shortly after purchase, my pump broke so poor quality.
- Quite heavy on the skin due to thicker consistency.

Overall I probably would re-purchase for £22 as this is amazing for mixing with BB creams such as maybellines dream fresh BB cream as it adds a bit of extra coverage and doesn't cake up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top