July 25, 2014 | 955 users online

Sunscreen - Ocean Potion - Anti-Aging Sunblock SPF 50



image 0

rated 4.1(39 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2014 2:25:00 AM More reviews by FayeLawliet21

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

THIS IS THE BEST SUNBLOCK EVER omg it has this perfect smell, I can't even begin to describe and it lasts so long. I'm buying this forever! No more gross typical sunscreen smell yay! =D

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/27/2013 3:13:00 PM More reviews by angiee0215

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

About me: I am NC15 olive skin tone with a history of suspicious moles. I have to wear sunscreen everyday all day to prevent further damage to my skin. I live in Wisconsin, so keep in mind, even in the summer, the sun is not as strong as down south.
I finished up one bottle of this sunscreen with multiple daily uses in about 1-1.5 months.
The product: It has a very strong orange cream smell to it. So, those who are sensitive to smells/fragrance should stay clear. However, I find that the smell goes away after 30 minutes of application. It glides on smoothly, but takes a little bit of rubbing to prevent that white cast to the skin. I have never burned nor tanned with this specific sunscreen on. I apply it multiple times a day (about every 2-3 hours) to prevent sunburn. This is not a sunscreen for those who are constantly on the go. It requires time and effort to really rub the product in. Also, the product comes with an expiration date, which I love when using a sunscreen. I do not use this on the face. I only use it on my body. It can appear a little bit tacky after application, but not as much as the spray form does and the tackiness goes away 20 minutes after application and doesn't bother me. So, this sunscreen is perfect if you don't mind a strong fragrance, long time of application and slight tackiness upon initial application. It is cheap and I find it at Walmart, target or any other drugstore. I have another bottle of this as a backup that I have already started using. Since my summer job ended, I no longer need to use it daily, unless I am going to be outside. I will update again after my next bottle has been used up.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/24/2013 5:16:00 PM More reviews by amosina

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I love this sunscreen. I came across it when I was at the beach and suddenly realized I didn't bring my spray-on sunblock. I burn very easily, but was very happy with the performance of this sunblock. We were out in the sun for hours, and I didn't burn. I'm usually the type that despite consistently reapplying, will inevitably burn somewhere. So far, this SB has not failed me. And it smells much better than most sunscreens. Up until now, I haven't cared as much about having the exact same brand each time as long as it has the right ingredients. Now that I've found Ocean Potion, I can't go on vacation without this exact brand. I much prefer to have my skin protected without smelling strongly of sunblock.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/28/2013 4:34:00 PM More reviews by amytata

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I absolutely adore this sun block... Not only does it protect my skin from the sun's harmful UV rays, but it smells absolutely amazing! It reminds me of Fruity Pebbles. If you were to smell this sunblock, you wouldn't think that this would be a sunblock.

The only cons about this product: that it's kind of hard to apply, you have to work it in. And the other thing i don't like is that it's kind of greasy and shiny.

Definitely will be repurchasing though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/23/2013 9:10:00 AM More reviews by Yogal28

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this due to good review here and on some other review site. I got the for babies sensitive SPF50 and i was disappointed. It was extremely greasy. Only when i blot it with my tissue the shine is taken off but i don't know if i am also taking the sunscreen off my face. Very disheartening that my search for a good sunscreen didn't stop here. Because as i lived in a very humid place and i don't like to go out with a shine on my face. Other than that, it's fragrance free, doesn't cause whitening on my face and doesn't cause any reaction although i do have an acne after 1 day of using it.

I find that when you reapply it later, it causes flakes and it doesn't stay on well, as after eating my meal, i was washing my mouth when i notice the area, just beside my mouth where i had applied my sunscreen, it was being washed off. Biore sunscreen didn't do that for me and it stay well but it cause a whitening cast on my face. Guess i had to made do with that since that is more matte for the weather here and didn't cause any acne for me. Won't repurchase anymore.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/10/2012 1:08:00 PM More reviews by chiquitabanana101

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

good stuff! goes on like moisturizer and doesn't seem to cause breakouts. the creamsicle smell is pretty strong, so definitely sniff this before buying to make sure you can tolerate it. much less greasy feeling than most other spf 50 products and for such a great price. i was concerned about the lack of visible expiration date too, so i emailed the company and this is what they replied:

Our sun protection products are tested to be effective for up to three years. We do not recommend using the product after the expiration date.
"There is a code stamped on every bottle that represents the date it was made (usually located on the bottom of the bottle). This code is two letters followed by five numbers.
The letters help us to identify what the product. The first two numbers are the year it was made and the next three numbers are the day of the year it was made. Here is an example:
NQ-11-046
How to read the code: The NQ tells us it is the Kids SPF50 Sunblock Lotion. The 11 means it was made in 2011 and the 046 is the day of the year it was made. The 46th day of the year would fall in February. Therefore, this product does not expire until February of 2014."

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/24/2012 12:24:00 AM More reviews by kcsunshine1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I should have known. I didn't purchase this for a long time because Ocean Potion doesnt put expiration dates on any of their bottles. I finally gave in because of the glowing reviews and guess what? It didnt work and I got BURNED. I bought this 2 weeks ago, put it on 90 minutes before going out in the sun and, after one hour of being out, my chest is RED RED RED. Its as if I didnt have anything on at all. I would have been better served by my Olay Complete SPF 15. Its not the highest coverage, but at least I wouldnt have a bad burn to contend with. I'm calling the company to complain. Obviously I dont want them to send me any more products, but they need to start putting expiration dates on their bottles!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/23/2012 3:33:00 AM More reviews by thebobcat64

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is a good SPF for your body. It has a strong scent, kind of like an orange popsicle and is pretty cheap.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/6/2011 11:57:00 AM More reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

For a lotion sunscreen this is my favorite. This stuff lasts, smells good, and I don't burn (I don't have fair enough skin where I have to worry a lot though). I do prefer the spray-ons but this is my second favorite.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/15/2011 3:41:00 PM More reviews by Anners26

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

BEST sunscreen on the market. I used this exclusively on a recent trip to Hawaii where I was in the sun for hours and hours and my skin stayed burn-free. It goes on like a creamy lotion, smells like an orange creamsicle and made my skin baby soft. Love, love, love!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No