September 23, 2014 | 1644 users online

Mascara - Canmake - Eyelash Essence

rated 4.3(59 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 86% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/8/2013 9:52:00 PM More reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

PROS: I did a three-month test on one eye and then a three-month test on the other. First of all, a tube lasts a very long time. Secondly, it does work. My lashes, which are normally pretty short and quite sparse/thin, are SLIGHTLY thicker and longer. Compared to the price of other lash serums I tried, like Ardell, the price is great. Doesn't bother my eyes if it gets in. Doesn't leave much film, so mascara looks fine and performs well on top of it. I like the doefoot applicator. It's very easy to use.


CONS: You do have to order it online. I get mine through Amazon. This was not a huge miracle-worker like some reviews here seem to state (But my lashes are a little longer/thicker with it.) I don't know what the ingredients are, because they are only in Japanese.


APPLICATION: I didn't find it helped any to make sure it was getting on the base of the lashes. I just put a light coat on both sides of my top lashes (top side and bottom side). I found it was better results when I used it morning and night. I like to use this with Covergirl Professional Washable Mascara. It gives great volume and length.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/3/2013 11:44:00 PM More reviews by LeMinx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

After seeing commercials for Latisse, I became interested in products that would thicken and lengthen my lashes. My eyelash situation isn't dire as I have no bald spots or non-existent lashes. I have normal length lashes with a normal amount of volume and have what I assume to be a normal amount of lash loss. Despite that, I've always wanted gloriously long, real lashes. Since I'm not about to pay for Latisse and risk discoloring my eye area (what?), I looked for alternatives. After reading the reviews about Canmake Eyelash Essence, I decided to give it a shot.

I don't recall how much I paid for this product but I know I got it from eBay and the price was probably reasonable enough. I used it twice a day for about two months and in all honesty, I noticed no demonstrative difference. My lashes weren't thicker, stronger, fuller or longer. Despite the generally rave reviews here, I just didn't get awesome results. Maybe it's because I didn't have a bald spot where growth would be noticeable or because my lashes are already as long and thick as they're ever going to be. Whatever the case, I'm not convinced that this product contains anything that really makes lashes longer or thicker. In fact, I'm generally skeptical of any over-the-counter products that claim to make lashes or the hair on your head grow "stronger and faster". If anything, these products are like placebos - you take them, see natural growth because you're paying closer attention and think it's a wonder product.

I won't say this product is a total waste (hence the two lippies) because it is conditioning which can't be all bad, but the whole process of doing this twice a day just to get no results was a waste of time for me. It's cheap enough to take a chance on, but I won't be buying this again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/3/2013 7:23:00 PM More reviews by Senikxy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

There are cheaper version's on the market like loreal and Ardell. I noticed reviews from others say' I had a bald patch on my lash line but after a few weeks it made the lashes grow' derr yes lashes do grow after a couple of weeks lol. I used this for 2 months. ..nothing I noticed..so now im going to try the cheaper ones...even if its just for conditioning. ..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/13/2013 1:55:00 AM More reviews by IrynaHarpy

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

Ageing has one advantage in the beauty/cosmetics stakes: experience.


Why is it that the products which DO actually work have a plethora of pics from users demonstrating how much their eyelashes have grown, while there are rave reviews here & not a single 'before' & 'after' shot?


Experience has taught me that, if I'm trying a cosmetic which promises to deliver certain results, I always take a 'before' photo &, after the number of weeks specified to be able to see visible results, I take an 'after' pic. I promise you that, after having used it as directed twice a day religiously, after 3 months there wasn't an iota of lengthening or volumising of my lashes to be seen, which is why I'm not bothering with a 'before' & 'after' pic as they're exactly the same. I know that I get the same effect out of gently massaging a good cold-pressed oil (apricot kernel, jojoba, avocado or whatever I have at the time for the occasional extra moisturising I give my rough patches on my feet, calves or elbows).


When RapidLash came onto the market, I used it for around a year & can testify to the fact that it works (although I discontinued using it as it discoloured my lashline & I feel dubious about eye products that irritate the eye).


Reading the reviews here, I see that the positive reviews are mainly from young women (girls) who have been pulling at their eyelashes after extensions; take mascara off by vigorous washing & tugging; generally do things that will break & damage their eyelashes & generally do terrible things to the delicate skin around their eyes in the long term. I suggest that you all invest in a good eyemakeup remover & learn how to gently remove mascaras.


This product may give the illusion of having created thicker, healthier lashes when it is applied, but that doesn't mean that they are thicker & healthier. Try a clear mascara/gel: a guarantee that they'll look exactly the same. The only thing that Canmake Eyelash Essence might do is encourage you not to yank at your lashes, hence an improvement in the regrowth.


Remember that eyelashes fall out & regrow from scratch over an 8 week cycle. Nothing is going to have an instant effect. In about two weeks, all you will be able to see is a few of the new eyelashes growing back in thicker & longer. Anyone who claims to have seen an immediate difference just demonstrates the fact that we can fool ourselves into believing anything if we desperately want it to be true.


PROS: I like the doe-foot applicator. Other manufacturers of pretend eyelash miracle growth serums should start using this type of wand instead of the wiry brushes & click-to-squeeze packages that don't wet the brush until you get a fat, wasteful spurt of the product trickling off the bristles & dripping into your eye. It's inspired me to buy disposable sponge eyeshadow applicators for applying & distributing the castor oil I'm trying out now - much better than using an eyeliner brush to put the oil on with.


CONS: It's a con. Aside from having wasted money, I've wasted precious time applying this morning & night. I really needed yet another step in my cosmetic routine like a hole in the head! I'm actually embarrassed to admit that I was sucked into this.

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/14/2013 5:45:00 PM More reviews by letty114

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

This works! It's easy to apply, doesn't irritate my eyes and is one of the easiest products I've ever tried.
You just cleanse and remove make up, as usual, then apply your skin care and add a touch of Lash Essence as though you're applying mascara. I noticed a difference after about 10 days and will probably have to change my mascara from a thickening one to a lengthening because my lashes are now so lush, with mascara they look almost clumpy.
Great product. The only con is that it's not easily available so I ordered from eBay and it took ages to arrive from Japan. Next time I order, I'll make sure to order at least 2.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/11/2013 11:57:00 PM More reviews by visee

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is currently sold in the red tube packaging. I've tried a number of eyelash serums and this is not only cheap, but also the best. This has a doe-foot applicator like a regular lip gloss. As such, its really easy to apply directly at the roots of my lashes, and it does not sting when it gets into my eye. It also really works! I had a tiny bald patch along my eyelash line, and this helped the lashes grow back in a few weeks. I apply this at night only, and using it regularly has helped my lashes become longer and stronger. I also swipe it on my brows. I try to replace this once every 3-4 months for hygiene purposes and have gone through a number of tubes already. Great product!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/13/2013 9:56:00 PM More reviews by Claire0bw

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have problem lashes when I wear mascara/curl my lashes daily, over time they begin to really thin out. I try to tint them and curl them and give them a break from mascara as often as possible but even the tint/curling makes them shed.
When I found this product it was a godsend! I have to use it religiously otherwise it doesn't work.
After a few weeks of applying it as per the instructions my lashes were lush, thick and longer than they'd ever been. However I got lazy with applying it for a few days and all my lashes shed again.
I now apply it religiously and the result isn't as good as it was at first to be honest, it seems it now only prevents my lashes from disappearing and keeps them normal rather than making them as lush and long as they were initially. Bit disappointing :(
Still couldn't live without it though!!!! Will definitely be repurchasing, it is a staple

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/21/2012 11:13:00 AM More reviews by monicaandree

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I have been using this for 2 weeks, so I can finally write a review on it. And the results? Very good!

Before using this I was using the Wet n' Wild Clinical Serum, which I really liked at first. However, after a while it started to get goopy and didn't apply nicely, and I stopped using it. As a result, my lashes returned to their stubby, thin state.

I really like the applicator on the Canmake serum. It is a large doe foot applicator and it reaches all of the lashes nicely. I apply it like a mascara and rub it into my lash line with finger. I use it nightly and occasionally during the day as well under my mascara.

In two weeks, my lashes are longer and slightly thicker. I can tell they are stronger because I feel them when I wash my face. When I do not have mascara on they feel long, soft, and strong. With mascara they are nearing the top of my eyelid.

I am confident that with continued use this result will only be amplified. The results are better than the Wet n' Wild serum, so I will now be using this exclusively. One caveat is that you must order online if you live in the US, but I ordered through Ebay for $14 and received mine in around 10 days from Hong Kong. Also, mine came in the red tube. The amount you get will probably last a couple of months, which makes this much more affordable than many other serums.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/21/2012 2:59:00 AM More reviews by Maggc

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

Initially it worked pretty well. Odourless, light and easy to apply with the applicator wand. However, I began to realise the essence makes my eyes itch when I wear contact lens. Dirt gets stuck easily on the applicator which makes it not hygienic. The essence also becomes thicker over time which makes it gluey to apply. There are definitely better eyelash essence out there. I would not buy this product again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/6/2012 8:56:00 AM More reviews by Sjess

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Yet another MUA find :)! My trusty Talika Lipocils started to irritate my eyes so I wanted to try something else. I bought this through ebay from a seller in Japan and even with P&P (total was 11) it was still cheaper than Talika (around 35)! Up till now the results are the same as Lipocils so i'm a happy camper!

EDIT: I have been using it now for 2 months and I have to say the result is even better than with Lipocils! So I will never buy that again, as long as I can get my hands on Canmake Eyelash Essence!

Is this review helpful? Yes No