Tom's of Maine tartar control & whitening toothpaste

4.4

38 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
Tom's of Maine is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



on 11/28/2014 10:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this toothpaste because it does not overwhelm my mouth with a synthetic mint flavor that makes me gag. It is fluoride-free, which I am beginning to think is the way to go, and leaves my mouth feeling clean. I do not think this product actually whitens teeth, so I am removing one lippie, but I much prefer this toothpaste over others and will continue to purchase.



on 9/5/2014 3:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love Tom's but the formulas and flavors do vary. This one is great in the Spearmint flavor - if you can get it. I much prefer spearmint to peppermint. Not overly abrasive but it is a bit abrasive so ask your dentist if you have "soft" eroded enamel.

Very nice product and a fair price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/17/2012 3:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I picked this up because tartar control and whitening are the two major things I look for in a toothpaste. My teeth just aren't naturally white, and no matter how much I brush and floss, I get quite a bit of plaque built up in my teeth. I had high hopes for this, and while it wasn't awful, I didn't love it. The consistency was fine -- it foamed up well and left my mouth feeling clean. I felt that the minty taste was a little lackluster and it left a strange aftertaste in my mouth (I have that problem with every "natural" toothpaste I've tried). My main gripe is that this didn't really do anything for my teeth. After using a whole tube, I noticed no whitening benefits and I had the same amount of plaque buildup that I would have had using any other toothpaste. This wasn't the worst toothpaste I've ever used, but I won't be repurchasing this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2012 10:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My review is for the antiplaque and whitening flouride-free version. I have purchased at least half a dozen times, always prefer to have a coupon of course :) I enjoy the taste and texture and it seems to clean very well without stripping my gums like some other toothpastes do. I originally switched to this paste in search for a sulfate free paste that wouldn't contribute to any additional breakouts around my mouth area. I have found it on vitacost for a fair price , but it is carried by my local walmart as well.


on 7/20/2011 5:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This leaves my mouth smelling fresh and it's natural, but like other toothpastes, it doesn't seem to actually whiten.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2011 8:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

What to say about this stuff that hasn't already been said on here?? It's sooooo good! At first I had the one with fluoride, than I did some research and found that might be the reason my teeth had spots on them. Since using this one without the fluoride, NO SPOTS WHITERTEETH I LOVE IT :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2011 10:42:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I originally purchased this toothpaste because it DOES NOT contain Flouride. I had previously read some things about Flouride and decided to try a toothpaste not containing this ingredient. I was getting strange bumps on the inner corners of my mouth and after I stopped using flouride toothpaste it went away. It may just be a coincidence but I'll keep using this toothpaste as long they sell it. It tastes pretty good considering it has less chemicals than most toothpaste.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2010 6:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this toothpaste for two years, now. I can't think of anything to say about it except that it is fantastic. I love knowing that I'm using an effective, cleansing toothpaste, without essentially eating nasty chemicals.


on 1/2/2010 8:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I started using this toothpaste when the more commercial brands became cloying with their taste. I was also getting a ton of canker sores and just needed something different.

This toothpaste does take a while to get used to because the more sugary taste of the more commercial brands is missing. It does a great job of getting my teeth clean, and my teeth are noticeably whiter because of the product.

If you want something a little more natural, this paste might just be for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/9/2009 4:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Great toothpaste! I think this toothpaste is excellent. It leaves my teeth feeling extremely clean. It tastes great, IMO. It foams up very well (I have a sonicare toothbrush). It's extremely cheap. It does remove stains, as promised. It is free of artificial ingredients. The company is cruelty free.
Gripe: I hate the shape of the bottle. The toothpaste is squeezed out the top of the lid-- a terrible design!
The paste is too thin, so when I turn the bottle upside-down to apply to my toothbrush, too much paste pours out. This leads to the product gooping up all over the top of the bottle so I have to peel off the drying toothpaste to get any more out. Also, if the top isn't cleaned often, I can't shut the bottle lid-- and, if the bottle is knocked over with the lid in this condition, product oozes out. Daargh.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Other Products


Birchbox
65 Reviews
ipsy
19 Reviews
Baking Soda
483 Reviews
Vicks Vapor Rub
38 Reviews

Top Rated Tom's of Maine Products

Back to Top