October 21, 2014 | 2040 users online

BB Cream - Ponds - Luminous Finish BB+

rated 3.9(94 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 10/21/2014 1:22:00 PM More reviews by CharacterofLife

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this stuff! It's my go-to if I want to keep my fine lines around my eyes at a minimum, if I want my coverage to actually moisturize, and for at least a little sunscreen coverage.

I mix the light & medium shade together in a small travel container and that works well for getting a near match and for convenience. It still doesn't match. but it's good enough. I love the way this feels on my skin, it really does feel like a lotion that jut sets in. I wish it had more coverage and the finish wasn't so luminous (yea, I know, I know... it's in the title),, but I know if it weren't as luminous then maybe those lines would reappear... oh my.

I wish this had a little more coverage (I spot cover w/Revlon CS Foundation), came in more shades, & was easier to find, but even with those 2 cons this is a keeper! It just feels so good...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/14/2014 8:12:00 PM More reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Grey

The primary reason I bought this was to try and lighten the discoloration I have mostly on the left side of my face. I sadly realized recently that I have not been doing a very good job with sunscreen, and I am sure the left side was affected so much from driving. (I rarely spend time outside in the sun--I hate being in the sun.) I haven't like the BB creams I have tried, they always have felt too greasy. This one really isn't too greasy. I was shocked to see that within two weeks the spots/discoloration were getting lighter. I have continued to use it, and they really are going away.

I also am really impressed with how this makes my skin look while wearing it. A beautiful finish, natural and pretty, with a medium coverage. I do finish it with powder about half of the time I use it.

I apply it with my fingers. For this product, I find that works best for me. I am so glad I tried it, and will definitely repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/14/2014 7:48:00 PM More reviews by RoseRossetto94

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

The good-

This is the best drugstore BB cream I've used, the texture is smooth and blends well. The pigment of this cream is a natural tone as opposed to other BB creams I've used, which have an unnatural orangley color. I also like that it is non-comedogenic, so my pores won't clog. I have very oily skin and this keeps my face matte through the whole day I'm at work. The coverage is light to medium, which is good since I was looking for natural coverage. This covers the redness and unevenness on my face well, but it does not cover blemishes or dark spots. I also appreciate this has SPF 15.

The bad-

This product claims to be formulated to correct visible dark spots in 2 weeks, which is a bunch of BS. This BB cream (along with most others) are just marketing hype. BB creams from the U.S. are similar to tinted moisturizers, whereas BB creams from Asia are generally thicker and have a high SPF rating. Besides sun protection, this does not include beneficial ingredients like antioxidants or skin-lightening agents. The scent smells nice and florally, but the high amount of fragrance in this product contains is the only downside for me. I will not buy again only due to the high amount of fragrance.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/9/2014 9:30:00 PM More reviews by xhavefaithx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Hands down this is the best BB cream that I've used. I have very oily skin and this bb cream lasts for the full 8 hours that I'm at work. The consistency is thick, but blend smoothly and blends in quite well. I am very pleased with the pigment of the cream, usually bb creams in the color medium are very orangey, but ponds have more natural looking shades. Also the smell is wonderful. Has a very light flower type smell to it. Once you put it on, you do not have any scent at all so people that are sensitive to scent do not worry. I would buy this product again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/9/2014 5:21:00 PM More reviews by supafob

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

If you are used to Korean BB Creams, then this won’t be a good choice for you, unless you are looking to downgrade to something much more like a tinted moisturizer. I gave this a go because it was only $2.50-$3 on clearance at Target. However, even at such a deal, I returned it. It only comes in two shades, Light & Medium – mine was medium. This is definitely more like a tinted moisturizer, which I don’t care for. It provides a very sheer, light layer to even out skin tone & moisturizes your skin, but that’s it. It doesn’t help with pores nor does it improve skin over time like some of the Korean brands. If you want to hide any minor blemishes, dark spots, or veins, but have it still look natural, stick with Korean brands. This doesn’t do anything even after applying two-three additional layers. It feels and looks like I’m not wearing anything (though it did make it look dewy). It did nothing wrong to my skin, nor did it enhance it. Sorry! Just not for me!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/6/2014 2:26:00 PM More reviews by Hollyoshaughnessy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this in fair/light! It hasn't broken out my relatively sensitive combination skin. It's faded my newer acne marks and is beginning to fade the others. This has a light and clean scent. So happy to have found something I like with sun protection! Usually a product with SPF feels greasy on my skin and I'd just rather not deal with that at all. This product is moisturizing without the oily feeling you get from a lot of products with this sort of coverage. It's definitely a slightly luminous finish (without shimmer or sparkle) with sheer to medium coverage (build-able coverage). That being said, I set this with a bit of mineral powder which gives me a bit of a semi matte look. I have very dark/vibrant naturally red hair...my skin would be considered fair (not porcelain) with freckles. Somehow this product covers any and all imperfections while not covering my freckles. This truly is my HG product. So fast and straight forward...blends into my skin beautifully. Recommend to anyone with fair skin!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/14/2014 10:36:00 AM More reviews by celina5847

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

If you like this product and it's your HG...Buy it Now!! I'm sure this is going to be a discontinued item since I've seen it on clearance in several stores. $2.99 then down to .75CENTS (which I got free because I had a $1.00coupon)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/7/2014 1:53:00 PM More reviews by xxxcarol

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

This might be a good "starter" BB cream--it has the thicker texture and glow of the Asian ones and you can pick it up in the drugstore or supermarket. And a lot of people love it, I did too when I first tried it. I liked the finish and it didn't break me out. However--I could not shake the feeling that my face was dirty when I was wearing this, ugh, and it only got worse as the day went on. Lasting power is not great either. I went to the Lioele BB and probably won't look back.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/26/2014 2:48:00 PM More reviews by Beatully

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Finally getting around to writing a review of this product! Initially, I really liked it! This was the first BB that matched my skintone perfectly! People asked me what I was using on my skin! However, there are some downfalls to this product. The coverage is somewhere between light-medium. I would not recommend layering this as it will look cakey. Doesn't hide acne/acne scarring, but will at least dull the appearance of them (You will still need to use concealer if you like full coverage). It will, however, hide redness and even out your skin tone, which is nice! I recommend this to someone with normal-dry skin. I have very oily skin in my T-Zone, and when this stuff says "Luminous Finish" they commit. It starts off matte, but within an hour, my skin began to look very greasy. This product even made my cheeks look oily, and it especially made my nose look absolutely disgusting. If you have oily skin, you will need a very good finishing powder to keep the shininess at bay.

I don't know if this is a common trend with Luminous Finish foundations/bb creams, but this stuff rubbed off like no other. Even touching a tissue to my nose would complete saturate the tissue with product.

I also could not stand the strong smell. Right from the moment you remove the cap, you can smell the product. It has a strong, almost floral smell. As the day goes on, my face wreaks of sunscreen.

I did, however, wear this stuff on vacation and my face was ironically the only part of my body that did not get sunburned. I guess for this summer or a day at the beach, this isn't a bad product to have around.

Another plus, this is one of the first makeup products that did not cause my skin to breakout. So if you're acne prone, this may make a nice base for your makeup, and lessen the amount of products you will have to use to hide spots. It also does not settle into pores or creases, and lasts pretty much the whole day.

All in all, I most likely wont be repurchasing. May have something to do with my new acne prescription, but this BB cream now looks very cakey on me, and doesn't work well with my oily skin. I'd say if you have normal-dry skin and some scarring or redness that could use some covering up, go for it. However, if you have oily skin and have active breakouts to conceal, you may wanna pass on this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/26/2014 8:51:00 AM More reviews by imkt

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Edit- Upon closer inspection, I see our formulation in this part if the world is different (better?). My tube, marketed as "Flawless Radiance BB+", is labelled as SPF 30+. The liquid is incredibly thin and easy to work into the skin. And as I mention in my review, the colour 'beige' is phenomenal. That's all. My opinion stands.



I have fine, dry skin, and I find that this works wonders on me. It is incredibly light, yet it provides nice coverage without a makeup-y look or feel. Where I live (southern Africa) this only comes in beige or chocolate, so I am not sure how this compares colour wise to what others have experienced. I have fair olive skin and the beige is wonderful. It is one of the only tm/bb creams I have used with a true yellow undertone (Bobbi Brown has great yellow based shades, but it is unattainable here). And, of course, the price is right. A very good purchase in my opinion.

Is this review helpful? Yes No