August 21, 2014 | 1777 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - Volum' Express The Falsies Flared

rated 3.2(323 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.2
  • 47% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 8/16/2014 12:24:00 PM More reviews by xxxmascara

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Ok so I needed a new mascara and I always look at reviews for everything before I buy it if I can! And my mum was going to asda where they have a small makeup section with a maybelline stand, so I looked real quick online for one as I'd heard they were good. I quickly decided on this one as I was looking for volume and length. Luckily it was on offer for 5 which I was soo happy about:)
Anyway the mascara wand is great and I have none on my face (which is good for me haha) and my lashes are medium length and it makes them look super long and with 2 coats they look very black which I love, long and voluminous with no clumps! Only reason for 4/5 is because it claims to flare your lashes but I havent noticed that really yet, overall I love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/3/2014 11:25:00 PM More reviews by b0mbpop

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE this mascara!! I think my favorite thing about it is the brush- I love how it bends & flexes with your lashes... it really helps me to keep the mascara ON my lashes and OFF my face. And it made my eyelashes look really long and beautiful! But it did flake A LOT. I had to keep checking myself in the mirror to make sure I didn't have any black smudges. I wonder if the waterproof would flake less?

All in all, I really like this mascara but I wish it didn't flake as much.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/20/2014 4:58:00 PM More reviews by Giggles13

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I was so excited to try this mascara out since I've been on a hunt for a new mascara but I'm sad to say that I wouldn't repurchase. Reasons why is because although it gives me insane amount of length and really dark lashes it flakes like crazy more than the loreal voluminous butterfly mascara and it also gives you very spidery lashes. Oh and also I honestly don't see how the brush helps with the fanned out look it never gave me the "flared" look. Although it has cons some of the pros is the black is really black and from far your lashes do kinda look like falsies :).But I'm definitely sticking to the butterfly mascara for now since it actually fans out my lashes and lives up to it's claims :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/15/2014 9:17:00 AM More reviews by AprilShowas123

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

5 stars because it's a great product for the price. Creates lovely fanned out lashes, lasts a long time, love this stuff..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/11/2014 4:07:00 PM More reviews by Beautycomesfromwithin

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is an amazing lengthening mascara, does nothing for volume though which is disappointing xo.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/10/2014 3:40:00 PM More reviews by GagaSuperfan

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I love this product! I have been searching for a really good mascara for a while now and this has what I was looking for!

Although there is only one mascara brush, you can use the curved part to start off with (I've found this gives my eyelashes really good volume), then you can use the other side of the brush to separate the lashes and lengthen them (the brush took me a little while to get used to as it does bend slightly to allow all lashes to be covered).
I have found that a lot of other mascaras tend to cause my eyelashes to clump together, but not this one! It didn't run although it did flake ever so slightly once I'd wiped my eyes (however this was only a tiny amount - barely noticeable!).

Overall, I think this is a fabulous mascara, great quality for a great price - it really does give that false lash affect! (It also smells really nice too!) I would highly recommend this product!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/7/2014 8:29:00 PM More reviews by Jessica24601

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Thank you Maybelline for once again making a volume mascara that I do not have to pay thru the nose for! I bought this at Walmart for 7.95. I've never tried "the FLARED" version, I've tried Black Drama (didn't really like the fibers), The Falsies (Reg) (got lots of length w/ that but not enough thickening) & the Falsies (Reg) WP (loved the look but could not get it off & my lashes felt like plastic). My cousin had beautiful eye-lashes the last time I saw her, I asked her what mascara she was wearing & she pulled out The Falsies Flared from her purse. I was so close to just getting my safe "Colossal" or to try (Colossal) "The Cat Eyes" today, but I've already got quite a few mascaras on the go, so just opted for this one. I'm glad I did. This is a volume mascara whereas the Falsies Reg I find to be more length. I need thickening mascara badly for my long but sparse lashes & def received it from Flared. My lashes are dramatic, black & lush. They're also very curled. I applied only 2 coats to get the look, but even w/ that many coats I've not felt any flaking. Only reason I take a lippie off is b/c the formula is extremely dry so I know this will be yet another 6 week mascara. That's ok tho, will re-purchase perhaps in WP when that time comes. This is a lot like Lancome Hypnose Drama to me but for a fraction of the price.
3.5 Rating***.5 UPDATE: Had it about a mo & just don't like the crunchy feeling & notice it flakes...Oh well, I guess I got what I paid for...Won't re-purchase Flared, perhaps the REG in future...I need to just buy COLOSSAL each time then I won't be disapointed lol, that lasts a full 3 months!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/30/2014 1:48:00 AM More reviews by russianbabe

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is the best mascara! I've always trusted Maybelline's makeup products, especially mascara. This works really well for me and it doesn't streak while I sweat. (I am a dancer and dance 30ish hours a week)
I love it! I have short eyelashes too and it makes me look like a baby doll. ☺️

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/29/2014 8:48:00 AM More reviews by drzoidbergrox

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I just used up my first tube of this mascara so I thought it would be appropriate to review it right about now!
I really liked this mascara, it was perfect for everyday wear. I think what I loved about it most was the brush... I found that using the fat side of the brush on the upper lashes and using the thin side on the bottom lashes works best (at least for me). The formula is not overly wet or dry, it's just a really nice consistency which means theres no trouble with smudging or anything like that when applying. The only thing I didn't really like about this mascara was that it wouldn't hold the curl in my lashes - but that may just be because of my lashes (I might try the waterproof version next time). Apart from that, this mascara is great and I would definitely repurchase it. But, then again, I haven't tried the original Falsies mascara so I might have to give that a go first and compare the two.
Overall, would recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/28/2014 8:47:00 PM More reviews by mia315

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

this was the first mascara that i considered my holy grail but after a few more mascaras i found more favs. i have this mascara in both waterproof and none waterproof. im gonna start with the waterproof one cuz i bought this one first. i bought it mainly so that i have a waterproof one. i planned on using it once in a while not all the time because waterproof mascara is a pain to remove but i fell in love with it that i actually finished the tube! this mascara has a tangy (orangy) scent thats not really noticeable once you have it on. it was a pain to remove since it was waterproof but it was worth it since it did not smudge or run on my very oily eyelids. the none waterproof on the other hand smudged a bit and had a different scent. it was wayyyyyy stronger florally scent and i wasnt a fan of it. it was easier to remove though. these two formulas has the same consistency and same performance. they both separated me lashes reallly well and gave me natural volume. the downside is that it did not really give me length whatsoever. i would repurchase this product when i want really natural lashes. hope my review helped! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No