Conair Infiniti You Curl No Clamp Curling Iron

4.6

135 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/18/2015 3:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My stick straight hair can't hold a curl, it'll go back to its natural straightness after a couple hours of curling with most wands. I usually aim for waves/soft curls, and I picked it up after I had a lob haircut. Initially this gives me tight ringlets on the second heat setting, a look I wasn't going for. But these curls did last two days on my hair (including showering with my hair up) getting more relaxed as time went on. It kinda got frizzy but I combat that with a little styling creme or hair oil on the ends. I found that curling my hair the night before, I would wake up with those relaxed curls, perfect for rushed mornings. The one downfall of this wand, is how easy it is to accidentally hit the off button while curling. It is not a huge issue since the wand heats up super quickly, but still, between not burning yourself, getting the curl right, the last thing I need is to know that come away with an uncurled strand. I didn't purchase this (perks of living with two sisters) but I'm sure this wand was from the drugstore and wasn't more than 40$ CAD.

How I curl: section off from ear to ear, clip up top layer. Start with bottom section, take 1-1.5 in sections, alternating direction of curls, twisting the hair before coming into contact with the wand, leaving out the ends. Hold for 10-15 secs. Twisting the hair creates a less perfect wave.I always make sure that the front pieces would curl away from the face. Repeat on whole head. Once the curls cooled, run hands through to break them up. I find that since these curls hold so well, I don't need hair spray but I like a small bit of hair oil in the ends.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 2/12/2015 10:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This review is for the classic one, the .5-1inch barrel with the red handle. Just got this from my local target for $25, and it is SO worth it. I have very fine hair which just hits my shoulders, and I haven't curled my hair in years as the one I had was a crappy conair one from 7 or so years ago, and it has a clamp. Didn't work at ALL and I always had trouble trying to curl my left side... Anyways, this curling wand is magic, works SO well and is so easy to use!! I can curl all my hair in 10 minutes or so, which is a miracle. Don't spend anymore than you need to, other brands are overpriced and do the same thing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm guessing it looks different on everyone. I bought this due to the reviews on MUA but it did not work for me. It has made my hair look straight and fried towards the ends. My hair looked dry and incomplete, maybe because I have long hair? And it's a slippery barrel to get a good grip or something? But then again, my whole hair piece would cover the entire barrel so I do not know the exact cause for that. It just didn't work well for me.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to try a curling wand and I think I picked a good one! Heats up fast, inexpensive, and the curls last all day long. My only real issue is that sometimes the curls get frizzy after awhile, while that normally isn't a big problem for me... It takes me about 15-20 minutes to curl my long hair since it curls the hair super quickly! It does seem to bunch up at the end a lot, so my curls end up being little tight ringlets that gradually loosen up. It's hard to get the very ends curly like the rest of the hair but I'll normally go back and recurl some tough ends. I don't use the glove that came with it, but I love that there's no clamp! Not really a tool to make loose beach waves, but I've used it for piano recitals and to get professional photographs done. I like how I don't have to use as much hairspray with this, since normally I want the curls to loosen more.


on 8/4/2014 2:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Cosmetology student here, and I must say this product is definitely worth it! I use it on myself and clients daily.

PROS
- Affordable
- Heats up fast
- 5 adjustable temperatures
- Since it's a Tourmaline wand, it leaves your hair silky and smoother than before you used it

CONS
- The glove it comes with doesn't really stay on, but after the 2nd or 3rd time using the wand you won't even need it

TIPS
- Always always always use a heat protectant! Your curls will last longer and you'll minimize heat damage to your hair.
- Use a spritz of lightweight/brushable hairspray after you've finished with the wand. Your hair will look fab for hours and not be crunchy/hard to that touch.
- Allow curls to cool! Once you release your hair from the wand, hold it in your palm for a few seconds and let it cool off. This technique will also result in longer lasting curls.
- Don't mess with your curls! This is a mistake I see all too often. Running your fingers through your curls should wait until they have completely cooled.


If you're looking for big beachy waves then this is NOT the correct wand size for you! Since this wand is cone shaped you can create tons of different styled curls. The width of sections and where you place them on the curler will result in a variation of curl sizes. I love this wand so much and recommend it to all of my clients and classmates! :D


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2014 9:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This curling wand is pretty teeny tiny. Skinny and on the short side. I have a long bob and I felt this was still too small on my hair. No idea how long haired people are using this. I tried it on someone else and it just made them look like a mermaid!! Don't know that this would give you the most natural "beachy" type of curl unless you alternated section thickness and direction of curl. It also made my hair feel really dry. Didn't care for it too much.


on 3/31/2014 3:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My old curling irons suck compared to this! I have thick black asian hair, and this is my HG. The pros are that it heats up suuuper fast, unlike my old one. The heat settings are great for different hair types and different kinds of curls, the hottest one makes my hair really curly like a Lolita doll? but i usually use the second to highest setting and it makes them look like wavy/curly like what most people wear to prom and stuff. This curls your hair instantly! I hold it for 3-5 seconds, and its perfect. Andd it's affordable, i got it for 40 dollars here in Canada, so price may vary. I heard it lasts all day long and it does make my hair shiny and healthy looking. Now cons, when I'm curling my hair i tend to miss the bottom or the very top so i have to recurl that part, so the i feel like it's the wand's shape fault, also i feel like i'm gonna turn it off because my hands are placed where the buttons are. And that's about it! Definetly reccomend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2014 5:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Nice product to use for prom or graduation! I got so many reviews on the curls I made with it! I definitely would recommend you guys buying this :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2014 10:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I don't know that I have much to compare this curler to because the curler I've owned for years was a secondhand Conair that was pretty much useless. It took forever to get hot and I don't think it ever did get hot enough to curl well. I mostly used it if I took out a pincurl set and found a wonky or fallen-straight section.

Anyway, this curler heats up lightning fast. I've only used it on the low setting but it seems to curl quickly -- definitely a fraction of the time the old Conair took. I took it for a spin and hot-curled my entire head for the first time in decades. I like the clampless design -- it feels intuitive to use, like forming pincurls around my fingers, and I really like that it makes it possible for me to curl big chunks of hair if I want a loose messy wave. I don't find it difficult to avoid burning myself at all, and even when I physically hold the ends of my hair close to the hot wand, if the hair becomes hot enough to be uncomfortable for my fingers I know it's heated enough to take it off the wand.

I haven't mastered a technique yet that produces curls/waves as natural as pincurling, but I'm still working on it. One thing I notice is that a lot of instructions specifically advise you to leave the ends uncurled "for a more natural look". This is bad advice, because if you look at the hair of someone with natural curl, the weight of the hair may pull some of the curl into waves further up toward the scalp but the ends are often the curliest part. I don't know anyone with natural waves/curls who suddenly have a straight bit at their ends.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2013 10:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this curling wand! It has worked great on both my long and shoulder length hair. I really like how this wand has heat settings so it doesn't get too hot for my damage prone hair. And it leaves my hair looking soft, voluminous and bouncy! I always use it to create fullness and body to my fine and thin hair. It heats up insanely fast and it curls my hair quickly as well! It's so versatile too! I can easily have loose beachy waves, or tight ringlets. It's also the perfect hot tool for adding texture for updos. Long story short, I love this curling wand!


Popular Hair Styling Tools


The Wet Brush
The Wet Brush
100 Reviews
Eclipse
Eclipse
16 Reviews
Tangle Teezer
Tangle Teezer
215 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Review: Conair Infiniti You Curl No Clamp Curing Iron by Shelby Cain



Top Rated Conair Products

Back to Top