E.L.F. Mineral Infused Face Primer

3.5

353 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben.


on 2/25/2015 6:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Now this is my first time using primer, but I absolutely love this primer. I was reluctant to buy any primers of any sort since the prices were so steep, but this was only $6. Now most reviews said there wasn't much in it, but I've had it for over a month and have yet to run out or have the bottle show signs of running low. But also: You are paying less than half of what most primers go for, so obviously you're getting the amount you paid for.
Anyways: gives a wonderful silky feel to my skin and DEFINITELY helps keep my skin from being oily, especially on my cheeks. My nose usually needs a little pressed powder later in the day but that's it. No acne issues that I've encountered either, and has definitely worked in keeping my makeup on all day.



on 2/25/2015 5:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Firstly the cap doesnt stay on which is so incredibly annoying even when you leave it standing the cap magically comes off. It has this minty kinda smell but its not bad and after awhile its gone. Its really cheap which is a plus, but this product didn't really work for me but then again you get what you pay for. I definitely will not be repurchasing this product.


on 2/23/2015 8:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got this in green... I saw little to no effect in reducing my permanent flushing with the primer itself, but it does give my foundation a noticeable boost in coverage (I don't have to layer on extra on my cheeks) and staying power. Unlike other drugstore primers I've tried, which have helped makeup go on smoother but only because it's sliding around EVERYWHERE, this puts a nice barrier between makeup and skin while keeping it where it needs to be. Awesome for the price point.


on 2/20/2015 1:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think this is a good product if you like silicone type. I have bare minerals primer and this reminds me of it. But!!- if you have oily skin at all stay away. Your make up will looo nice for an hour then its worst than without primer. And isnt that the point of primer? To make it last? If you have normal skin give it a try. I dont think its just this primer that doesnt work i think all silicone primers dont work for me.


on 2/20/2015 12:49:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I do like this primer. Not in love with it but it's great for the price. Since I have dry skin, it's nice and smoothing as a base for foundation because of the silicon, but it doesn't make my makeup last longer than I would if I didn't use this primer. I love the packaging, a pump is always my favorite. It does have a slight chemical scent though which is unsettling. It's nice in the winter to give a little extra moisture but wouldn't repurchase for that reason alone.


on 2/19/2015 10:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Pros:
-I love the feel of this primer on my skin. It has a nice smooth feeling and makes makeup glide smoothly over (good for concealing dry spots).

Cons:
- Doesn't make makeup last any longer than without it
-Made small tiny bumps that covered my entire forehead and cheeks. I finally realized it wasn't diet or internal other factors and stopped using this primer. Within a week those tiny clogged pores went away.

Tip: Even though the bottle runs out relatively fast, if you unscrew the cap there is tons still in there, just use a quo tip to get it out. Would recommend for slightly drier skin types that are not clog/acne prone.


on 2/15/2015 10:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is great for the price. It's a clear, silicone based gel that's very similar to Maybelline baby skin, although it doesn't shrink pores. It glides on very smoothly and lightly moisturising too, although dry skinners will still want to apply a proper moisturiser underneath and wait for it to dry before starting on the primer. It's only function that I have noticed is improving the longevity of foundations, but I can't see it absorbing oil, shrinking pores or providing any skin care benefits. It does create a nice canvas to work with so you can't complain for the price. As others have said, the packaging is deceiving, but I find a little goes a long way and I only need half a pump to generously cover my face.


on 2/7/2015 5:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

For the price, this is a great primer. You can't go wrong with that kind of price (except it it's a really really crappy product!) so that's why it's 3 stars. There's no smell to the product, and it makes my foundation glide really well, so it's great primer for that.

However, I think that there's not enough product in the bottle, and I think that it's not an amazing product. I would buy it again if I needed a primer quickly and was on a low-budget, but I will continue my search for the best primer ever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2015 4:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The only reason i won't buy this primer again is that i feel theres not much in the bottle, I've only had it for just over a month and its run out! now i don't use that much of it when i apply it so I'm not very impressed!

overall though it was a good primer with a nice velvety feel to it, smells like tea tree oil and goes on smoothly. I didn't find it hugely diminished my pores.

For girls who are buying a primer for the first time i would recommend this one as it is hugely affordable!
But if your looking for a new primer because you've run out of your old one, i would give this a miss!
xxx


on 1/19/2015 1:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I have dehydrated-normal acne-prone flaky skin with textural unevenness. I find ELF's primer (in clear) makes my foundation apply more smoothly and there is a difference in the size of my pores when I use it. With my dehydrated skin, sometimes my makeup will get patchy throughout the day however this primer helps prevent that. It also decreases the appearance of flakiness and is effective at all of its claims.

For me personally though, I find that I get similar results with emollient moisturizers and sunscreens. They may not have as silky a feel as ELF's primer but they perform similarly. This designated primer is better at disguising flakiness throughout the day so if I am extra flaky I will reach for it but most of the time it doesn't have a place in my routine.

The packaging is bulky. Occasionally the pump sputters, but it does the job. I do want to point out that while this product is $6, it contains .49 fl oz (according to ELF's website) which means it comes out to $12/ounce. Still much cheaper than many mid-range options but without a sale it is on par with other drugstore options.

Overall, on my dehydrated-normal skin I find this effective at everything it claims to do. However, as I regularly use emollient moisturizers and sunscreens in my daily routine that perform as primers I don't reach for it often. For anyone who currently uses similar products, I think they could do without this ELF primer.


Back to Top