November 23, 2014 | 1011 users online

Blush - Laura Geller - Shade N Sculpt Baked Powder



image 0

rated 4.2(13 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/1/2011 11:31:00 AM More reviews by hongthetran

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my HG contour and highlighter- I got it on sale at Sephora in May 2010 for cheap when Sephora had it on sale- it is usually $35. It is currently on sale on hautelook.com for $21. I lost mine so I recently snatched up two more. I am southeast asian and wear NC30-NC35 in MAC. I also have dry skin. I find that this shade matches me well- not too orangey like other contour powders- just the perfect shade of dark brown. There is glitter in it but I find it disperses evenly onto my skin without looking too sheen. The brush is okay- not the best but works in a jiffy. I would not buy this for $35 but for $21- it is a good deal. The packaging sucks- the clear plastic part keeps popping off. Otherwise- this product would have gotten five stars.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/1/2011 3:44:00 PM More reviews by coolbabe377

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I actually purchased the first contouring kit that Laura made, and it was great...pretty expensive, but very nice. It was pressed powder and finely milled and the two shades were a light vanilla and like a taupe color and they were both matte shades. My face looked so pretty with these two products on my face, and strangely...not dirty.

It was, I think, the first product she brought to QVC. This baked product is just all right...nothing special. I really don't mind the sparkle. It actually doesn't show on me, but it just sits there, because the contour in the baked makes my face look very dirty.

I did learn how to contour my silly face from Laura, but I use different products now. In the morning (when I'm always in a hurry)...I use my trusty Senna color wash brush (the best fan brush, and no longer available), and I dust Bobbi Brown bronzer (no orange) in all the right places. After makeup...I use the "Glow Box" to highlight and add some color. This is a very pretty product.

But the best contour shade you can use is a darker version of your foundation (no gray...no phoney bronzer color). The creme foundations are...well...time consuming, so I am considering buying the B&B in the tan shade. One reviewer did just that and was very pleased...no glitter...just a real natural skin tone...unlike this kit.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/14/2010 12:40:00 AM More reviews by vissulega

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm really insecure of the roundness of my face, and for years I've been looking for the right sculpting product to contour my face. Unfortunately, this is not it. The only/main reason is because of the overly shimmeryness of the product. I was looking for a product that looked natural, the glitter gave it away. The product does last a very long time. The bristles of the brush fall out with each use.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/18/2009 11:39:00 AM More reviews by AnnKB

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Have to agree with previous review. Why oh why is there glitter in the dark section when this is supposed to be creating a shadow? I find a lot of Laura's products are spoiled due to the amount of glitter in them.

Aside from that the powder is a good shade, sheer and easily blendable (if you don't use the awful cheap brush it comes with).

I like the highlighter which doesn't appear too glittery (which I expected!) so is very versatile. Normally I steer clear of them because of this. Would like to see a larger portion of the highlighter or have it as a stand alone item.
This is very expensive though at around 26 in the UK. Ouch.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/1/2009 7:57:00 PM More reviews by AthleticTrainer

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I would consider this my HG contouring powder, except that I have a few problems with the Shade N Sculpt product itself. Let's start off with the pros of this product. It is the perfect shade of brown to mimic the contours of one's face naturally displays. It's easily blendable and doesn't take much to create that perfectly contoured look. When the face is contoured correctly, someone can look slimmer and more proportionate. It can make a big forehead look smaller and can minimize a double chin. Someone can make their nose look a little more narrow and also strengthen their jaw line. The highlighting powder is amazing and creates a great "glow." While the pros are absolutely great, there are a few cons to Laura Geller's Shade N Sculpt. The product has gold glitter in it. For someone with very oily skin, like mine, this just makes my skin look even more oily and nasty. I'd imagine that it's also not friendly in photography with high flashes. I wanted to love this product so much, but unfortunately, I must let it go. Laura Geller is now creating "sugar-free" products, aka - products without glitter. Hopefully she will create Shade N Sculpt in "sugar-free", because if she does, I will most definitely repurchase it! This is available at QVC, Sephora, and LauraGeller.com for $38 and comes with a contouring brush.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/15/2009 3:27:00 PM More reviews by msjesshawk

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got this in a swap because the Sephora lady tried to sell this item to me and quite frankly it's abit expensive for me. And she mentioned the brush included is not so great and I already have tons of brushes so no thanks in buying it brand new. The lady mentioned to not use the brush included because it picks up the glitter/shimmer and that's not good. I absolutely love the dark color for contouring. It's been hard for me to find a contour shade that's not orange or really a bronzer. Done right, this is a really good buy for tan to darker skin tones.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/17/2009 8:42:00 PM More reviews by ninanina

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this product. I had been searching for a bronzer/sculpt product for ages that didn't have any orange or red in it. It makes me look healthy but you have to use a light hand and keep buffing it. It's made all the difference to me in appling my makeup. Thank you Laura!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/2/2009 7:16:00 PM More reviews by jessieheartsmakeup

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This works quite well to contour my face except im not so keen on the sparkle in the contour shade. whats up with that? I dont want to look like a disco ball. If you get the application of this right it can work very well and the brush is really useful and great. If you get the application wrong you can end up looking like you have a stripe of mud on your face. The highlight colour doesnt show up all that well on me so I have to use a different highlighter.
I wont be buying this again I want to try a different contour powder and I'm all set with my benefit highbeam for highlighting

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/3/2009 11:28:00 PM More reviews by chipsy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I saw Laura on QVC with this product and it made me really want to try contouring. It came with an angled brush and in a sweet little compact with a mirror.

This product is okay, but I hate that there is glitter in the contouring part of the powder. Why does Laura ALWAYS put glitter in her products? No one wants a glittery face. The colour suits my skin tone but I have to be very careful not to apply too much.

You have to be quite careful with the application, because if you use too much of the darker shade it can look so false and like you have smeared dirt on your face. My technique is to swirl the brush in the dark brown and tap off the excess, and then EVER so lightly brush it under my cheekbones, in the hollow part. Then just a light stripe of the highlighter.

I have taken off another lippie because it annoys me that there is only one quarter of the highlighting powder in the compact. Why didnt Laura make it half and half?!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/29/2008 1:19:00 AM More reviews by Glitterachi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Im new to contouring , just figured out how to do it, and im so glad. and im so happy i got this kit because there are other brands that just have the powder then you have to figure out what brush to use. this one comes with a great little brush. the first day i tried this out literally 5 minutes later i saw someone who i hadnt seen in a couple months and they asked me if id lost weight, and said its really noticeable in my face. so that was just reassurance that this stuff does wat its supposed to do i was happy lol

Is this review helpful? Yes No