October 26, 2014 | 1583 users online

Eyeliner - Almay - intense i-color liquid liner- purple amethyst



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.2(40 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.2
  • 40% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 5/6/2013 2:19:00 AM More reviews by rolltide17

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm never really one to branch out from my usual black eyeliner, but this was on sale at CVS so I bought it on a whim cause I LOVE purple and curious to see how it would look as an eyeliner. The packaging is pretty standard and I was satisfied with the felt applicator. A lot of people complained that the applicator was too hard, but I like it that way because it gives you more precision when applying.

Anyway, up close and under the light, the color was beautiful! It had this beautiful chrome finish. But from further away, it didn't look like I had anything on (which is bad cause I look awful without eyeliner.) I was very frustrated to the point where I almost threw it out, but then was determined to make the most out of it since I hate waste.

I've started to actually layer another eyeliner on top of this one on my lower lash line and it actually turns out pretty neat! I use this as a base and make a slightly thicker line, and then use my basic black pencil (or even sometimes black liquid liner) and make a thin line over it. I love the way the purple reflects when light hits it and it makes my boring black eyeliner more unique! It's nice that the almay liner lasts pretty long because it helps the pencil stay on longer too. I'm in class for 4-6 hours straight with no time to reapply, and when I come home it's still holding up.

So anyways, although I have found a good use for this eyeliner, I wouldn't purchase it again just cause it's a hassle to apply two eyeliners every morning.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/6/2012 10:12:00 AM More reviews by zamaa

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this yesterday and am returning it. The lid looks like a dark shimmery purple which is what I was hoping for. I am very light complected and when I applied this you could barely tell it was there. It is much lighter than the color on the lid. The reason I gave it a 3 is because it does go on smoothly and it has nice packaging. If you're looking for something subtle this might be for you but if you want something dark and dramatic I would not recommend this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/20/2011 9:25:00 PM More reviews by nicole1197

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I don't see why everyone hates this eyeliner! It's really good! I just took off one lippie for how it fades after 10 hours or so. The color is great, I would definetly buy again. It makes my hazel eyes pop and look really round. I love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/27/2011 2:57:00 PM More reviews by captainflamingo

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm NC40 and usually a "Caramel" in most foundations, including Maybelline and Revlon. I would put an Almay one for reference but this brand does not make products other than their plain black eyeliner to accommodate my skin tone. I love the look of a vivid purple eyeliner against my skin so I bought this on a whim. I had no real hopes for it, actually, since most drugstore purples show up brown on me.
The "Intense" i-Color one did not show up at all. It's, even on my NC20 friend, a very light purple with minimal shimmer and just blah.
Staying power and application is decent enough, hence the 2 rating, but this product is useless for me and probably any other person who is not alabaster.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/27/2011 6:21:00 AM More reviews by Piggie8

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I know this isn't me, but I have to share. My mother HATES liquid eyeliner, with a passion. She'd burn every single one out there if she could. However, she not only likes, but LOVES this. I asked her if there's any cons about it, she says she can't find any. She's bought this over and over again. I don't know about any other colors, but she likes this one and the formula, plus it looks good on her.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/16/2011 5:51:00 PM More reviews by bumblevy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

this liquid eyeliner is so pretty! it goes on purple and doesn't smear. it may fade a little, but the color is still super pigmented and compliments brown eyes. i'm thinking of getting the pencil one because i want to use it on my lower lash line. def. recommend!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/15/2011 11:55:00 AM More reviews by CeeSan

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm really starting to get into colord liners for a punch of color. Since almay is revlon's sister company, I decided to try their liquid liner bc I have revlon's identical liner in brown and am happy with it. Unfortunately, almay's amethyst isn't as dark as the package color. Its actually a pastel baby purple with glitter. If it was darker I'd like it way more. Its not really super noticable, and the glitter has a weird application, its shiny in some areas if I go over it multiple times with the felt tip, or else its matte. Stayng power was fine, but for 8.99 cdn, I should have used that money for revlon's kohl matte pencil eyeliner, which got high reviews her on mua. Almay's products in general aren't very memorable.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/5/2011 6:21:00 AM More reviews by sydneyjs

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used to use this every day. I had an Anabelle pencil in the same aubergine colour and use that under it and it held better and was darker. It was a great product. I had few problems with it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/30/2011 1:17:00 PM More reviews by hotpinkluv

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am wearing this right now as im writeing this.I bought this at right aid on clearance.I really think the color is pretty but wish it was a little darker because i have to put a darker purple shadow over it to get the color i would like.It makes my eyes feel a bit irrated and i do not have senitive eyes. I really hate the brush that it comes with, it is very hard to work with. I would not buy this agian.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/17/2010 2:16:00 PM More reviews by SinisterRouge

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I absolutely LOVE this. I bought it on a whim because Almay was having a BOGO50 and I needed something else. I have brown almond shaped eyes and since it's rare that I wear shadow to work (mostly because that would require me to get up earlier) I thought I'd try different color liners. I've read that purples can really bring out browns. First things first, I love the color! Not as dark as I'd like it to be but subtle and perfect for what I wanted it for. It's got a coppery shimmer to it and it looks really nice. I like the wand a lot. It's not too long and the tip is firm enough to make a really even nice line, thick or thin. So far in really humid weather, it's holding up nice 6 hours later without base or primer. No smearing. I really love this a lot more than I thought i would. Only one lippie off for the color not being as dark but it's still gorgeous. Definitely would buy again and want to try the mascara and other liner.

Is this review helpful? Yes No