July 29, 2014 | 1901 users online

Lipstick - Tarte - Inside Out Vitamin Lipstick in Sweet Dreams



image 0

rated 3.6(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 50% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/25/2011 7:43:00 AM More reviews by rynamyn

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

Cute packaging but the lipstick was falling out when I first opened it - then the metal part of the tube become detached so I have difficulty twisting up the lipstick now - after only 1 use! So no points for the packaging sadly. As for the product itself, it's a pretty colour and feels very nice going on, however after about only 1 hour my lips feel very dried out... I think it would be fine if topped up with a gloss but not very nice on its own. I got it on sale for $9, would not purchase for full price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/9/2010 11:08:00 AM More reviews by curlylocks

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

After receiving this as part of a Tarte package from Ulta, I read reviews before trying. After seeing a lot of references to it being 'bright', I immediately thought I'd sell it on eBay or swap it away. Then, I decided to just try it....omg. It's perfect! I wasn't even looking for perfect and I found it! It is a very wearable mlbb rose/brown/plum kinda color. I literally dab it on and put a little gloss over and voila. The perfect finish to my pretty natural but finished makeup look. Not sure if I'll necessarily buy it again as I can imagine it will take a while to use up with my 'dab' method, and since I got a cheap version as part of a set, but still....I know it's out there now! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/23/2010 12:29:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I remember when I first ever walked into Sephora this was the first thing I was infatuated by. I was intrigued by the gorgeous color and the core of it. I was younger back then and I wouldn't think to spend the money on it, but I'm a bit older now and things have changed. I purchased this lipstick to see if this product would live up my expectations. It was my first high end lipstick. The packaging of this product is adorable, but is a bit poorly manufactured. It feels a bit weak and when I read reviews on this product on the Sephora website some ladies said the lipstick fell completely out of the tube because it was so poorly made. It's been about five months of me owning it and it hasn't happened yet, but you would think for the $22 they would have made the case with good quality. Onto the lipstick itself, the color is absolutely gorgeous. It's a beautiful berry pink on my medium skin tone. What I love about it is that it's so bright, at least on me. I usually pair it with a neutral eye or some eyeliner. With this lipstick you gotta keep the eye simple because it's such a statement color. The moisturizing aspect of this lipstick is great too. If I don't have a lip balm on me, I'll use this because it's just as moisturizing. It also gives a glossy look, as if you're wearing gloss.

So I'd have to say this product definitely lived up to my young expectations. The only cons are the price and the packaging. When this runs out I shall buy a new one :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/4/2008 6:33:00 PM More reviews by glowstix813

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I put that I would purchase this product again, but really I'm quite torn.

The color of this lipstick is just gorgeous! Don't let the color of the product fool you, on my lips it is a face-brightening berry pink. Think "neutral" but still bright. This looks great with almost any look I go for and is easy to apply and blend/smudge into lips to create a stain.
Speaking of creating a stain, this lip product really lasts a long time. After eating/drinking/talking it tends to fade a little towards the inside of my lips but still good compared to other lipsticks.

What I'm torn about is the dryness factor. On the back of the package it has a list of all of these amazing ingredients contained in the lipstick and it even has a small white part that's supposed to condition and moisturize the lips.
It does not moisturize my lips.
After about 10 minutes, my lips become very dry. I can apply lip balm over it or underneath, but it makes the color not as matte and also makes it wear away quicker.
In 10 minutes it feels as if there is nothing on my lips, which is great for some people I suppose, but I like a more creamy, moisturizing feeling with lipsticks.

Overall, I still use this about once a week so for now the dryness isn't killing me =P
Just make sure you try it first to see if the color/texture suits you before buying!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/13/2008 7:08:00 PM More reviews by Lulabelle13

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Green

For some reason, this product dried out my lips worse than anything else I've ever worn. It made me sad because the color was really pretty, a muted berry, and it lasted all day. It wore like a stain. I've tried it several times but it's just so drying on me I can't stand to wear it, it's almost irritating. I may just be sensitive to one of the ingredients, because it seems that other ladies have found it moisturizing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/11/2008 10:20:00 PM More reviews by sharis

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was going to return this to Sephora but decided to give it another try and I like it. It's very creamy and feels so good on the lips. Staying power is the most important thing to me when it comes to lipstick so I think when I first tried it and a saw how sheer and moisturizing it was I figured it would last all of 15 minutes on my lips. I'm happy to say that the staying power is actually very good. Coming from me that's saying a lot! It' moisturizing but not greasy. I experienced no migrating into little lines either. The color is a pretty mid-tone pink on me. I get no berry at all but I have absolutely no pigment in my lips so maybe that's why. I bought this because it was the lightest shade and I tend to favor a light lip/smokey eye look. This color is very wearable and seems to really perk up my face. I think I am going to order Zen next and give that a go for the Fall.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/24/2008 8:46:00 PM More reviews by Heathcliff79

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is the prettiest shade of berry. On my lips, it's a slightly cooler pink-berry than my lips, which makes it a great everyday, grab-n-go color. While it's very moisturizing, it's very very sheer. I have to layer and layer and layer to get much color, and then it's pretty much gone by the time I finish my first cup of coffee. I think Clinique's Almost Lipstick line has better staying power. Given that, $22 is way too much, even though the shade is so pretty and wearable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/13/2007 10:46:00 PM More reviews by CaliBello

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have a hard time with lipsticks drying out my lips and having the color ball up. The moisturizing formulas slide off my lips in 10 minutes. I didn't think I would ever find a moisturizing stain but that is exactly how I would describe this color. And I don't know how Tarte did it. It says lipstick but it wears like a stain. I look like I ate a cherry popsicle all day long with no dryness. I'm in love.
Sweet Dreams is rosy, berry color on me. I hope they come out with a pink nude or peach.
The only thing I don't like about this is the bulky tube. $22 is really high but worth it since it lasts and lasts with no dryness. UPDATE: This color is just not flattering enough on me. This will always be the best lasting lippie of my life so far, but I have been wearing Bikram which is a prettier color of me but does not stain like Sweet Dreams. *sigh*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No