Jean Paul Gaultier Fleur de Male

3.4

9 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/28/2013 3:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this fragrance back in 2010 and obviously my tastes have changed because I don't love it as much as I did. I have one full bottle and a half bottle left which is rather annoying. It has quite a powdery finish and very strong notes of petitgrain, neroli and basil. Smells quite herbal after the notes settle, but I feel it to be not as fresh as i would've liked, especially with the notes. I just don't think I like it as much anymore. The initial spray is nauseating and rather intense. Similarly, I can feel it go straight to the back of my nose which I can tell is not a good sign



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Notes: petitgrain, lavender, orange blossom, coumarin.
 
This fragrance opens with the scent of sweet white flowers on a bed of lavender and coumarin. The vanilla-like note has got a slight almond-y quality which is typical for this kind of spice. The accord is sweet yet fresh and clean. On my skin the floral top notes burn our very quickly to reveal a lighter version of the typical Le Male base accord. Lasts six hours on my skin.


on 12/13/2010 5:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I could not find any similarities with le Male but maybe it was wrong to search for them. This is a scent that could have smelled exciting and masculine, but a one single flower ruined it. Fleur du Male smells like a chamomile flower that has been way too long in the vase and do not smell so fresh. It makes me think of Vivienne Westwoods Boudoir. Not in a positive way of course.


on 5/2/2009 8:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I smelled a sample and loved it.
Then took my boyfriend to Sephora and he didn't like it at all. He said it was "too gay" :-(
Maybe next time... or... next boyfriend? ;-)


on 2/22/2009 3:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I don't know any males wearing this yet, unlike Le Male which everyone seems to have. I bought this scent for me as I find it hard to find "heavier, muskier" perfumes I like - I'm a floral girl to the heart :) I decided to look into colognes instead and found this one to be exactly what I wanted. It's soft and floral, yet heavy and musky. It dries down to a heavy orange blossom scent, with a hint of gardenia IMO. It smells really pretty on a woman thus the reason I can't see a man wearing this...I've actually giggled when men have complimented me on this knowing the next time they get a whiff of this scent it could possibly be on another man.

A little definitely goes a long way, and although I think this is a great compliment to spring and summer, I am scared it might be a little overbearing during the humid DC summers.

All in all, any girls out there trying to break their typical floral cycle but turned off by the old-lady orientals/woods offered in women's scents, try this, I'm sure it will provide the needed variety without pushing you too far out your comfort zone.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/10/2008 2:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Fleur De Male is the newest male fragrance from BPI. The main note is orange blossom. It's rare for a male fragrance to have a strong floral note but this one does, but it's still 100% masculine. It's different from other male colognes, which is why I like it. I can see why some guys wouldn't go for it though. It's very different, a different kind of masculine.


on 3/30/2008 4:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This really smells awful!! My friend wears this and I asked him what it was (he thought I was goin' to give him a compliment...)
I said he was smelling like Maroussia, that cheap, old-smelling, straight in your face perfume, the perfume that high school girls worn when they had no money to buy something really good.
Next time I think he's wearing the JPG (blue bottle), that's a lovely fragrance!


on 3/25/2008 10:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I don't know how to say this appropriately, but the musk and o.b. are very dirty smelling to me. Dirty as in Henry & June trapped in an alley in Port Au Prince for 4 days. And I'm not knocking Haiti, okay?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/12/2007 10:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I spent over an hour at the perfume counter trying to pick out the perfect smell for my boyfriend as a one year anniversary gift. I had about 20 samples lined up on the counter, and had to narrow down my selection. I told the associates to give me some time to decide (because after their initial help they became a nuisance). So it was me, my 20 sample cards, and a tin of coffee beans.

After a while I ended up buying Fleur de Male. Some people would think it to be a strange choice. But really, I put alot of thought into the decision.

First off, it's not like any other male fragrance out there. It's completely and totally different. I don't know if there's a universal way to describe scents, everyone speaks of notes and whatnot, but I don't think I'm, able to do that. I can only describe the scent in my own way. When I smelled this I thought it was smooth like butter and like I was lying in a damp corner of the woods nestled in fragrant flowers/plants.

It could work as a woman's scent, but I would never wear it, I think it defiantly suits a man better. When my sister took a whiff without knowing if it was a male or female scent, she declared it was neutral. It's not strong, sharp, and powerful, like many male fragrances are, but this is subtle and playful. I see it as a scent that would make you look twice if a man wearing it casually walked by.

I wanted to get him something special and unique, and this is definately it. I'd be able to find my boyfriend in a room filled with guys sprayed with Aqua di Gio, so I'm glad for that. Plus he says he likes it. And he's one to be blunt and return/exchange a gift if he doesn't like it, so I think I did good.

(The only reason I'm giving this 4/5 is because I'm worried the constant sweetness might make me nauseous. i can't stand Joop for that very reason.)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Black Opium
Black Opium
18 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
141 Reviews
Alien
Alien
356 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1377 Reviews
Si
Si
48 Reviews


Back to Top