October 25, 2014 | 862 users online

Cleansers - Dove - Deep Cleansing Cream



image 0

rated 3.5(11 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 72% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 10/4/2012 8:10:00 AM More reviews by ct92

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I don't think this is necessary since my cleanser can handle makeup pretty well on its own. It hasn't made me break out or anything, but I don't know if it's doing anything at all.

However, I love using this because it smells amazing. I think it's banana lollies, but I may be wrong. Whatever it is, I'll definitely use up this jar for the scent. I probably won't repurchase, since it doesn't seem to do anything and I don't like putting my fingers into a tub.

EDIT: I'm going to give this 4 now. I realised that makeup removing wipes were a bit harsh on my face, so I switched to using this to remove my makeup before cleansing. I love it, though I still don't like the packaging. I'll use this up and look for something similar that doesn't come in a tub, or maybe repurchase this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/24/2012 7:11:00 PM More reviews by asw37

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

I really like this cleanser for removing sunscreen and makeup. After having used quite a few cleansing oils I personally think it's just as good.
I rub it onto my dry face, including the eye area and remove with a warm baby wash cloth. I follow it with another cleanser.
I like the fact it's in a jar as that allows me to get all of the product, especially at the end.
It is very fragranced but as I haven't been able to find many other cold-cream type cleansers in either NZ or Aus I will stick with it.
It's relatively cheap nd I find one pot will last about 4 months using every night to remove makeup and sunscreen.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/17/2010 5:42:00 AM More reviews by sweetheart_xo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Generally, I prefer using makeup remover wipes to remove my makeup at the end of the day, but recently saw this little tub on sale at the chemist and decided to give it a go. Firstly, I lightly moisten my skin with a damp washcloth, and then put a little dollop of this deep cleansing cream on my forehead, nose, cheeks and chin. I spread it evenly all over my skin (like I'm trying to rub in thick moisturiser), and use my washcloth to remove it in gentle, circular motions. This removes waterproof mascara well, and every trace of foundation. My skin always feels silky soft after using this. However, it does leave me with a slight 'greasy' look, which disappears after I follow up with my regular cleanser and toner. I'm pretty impressed with the way it removes makeup easily- however it is heavily scented, even though it's meant to be for sensitive skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/28/2010 6:59:00 AM More reviews by nancy_deathbeast

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

IN THE BIN IT GOES!

I would NEVER recomend this for sensitive skin. This stuff is very heavily scented. It irritated my sensitive skin within seconds, angry red blotches all over my nose and cheeks. What the hell is in this stuff? I'm really dissapointed the ingredients arent on the box. BOO!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/3/2010 6:29:00 AM More reviews by beckyyiu

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I only just bought this product recently and have only used it for a couple of days but i think it's great =) HOWEVER, there are some cons. Like other people have said, it does feel like you're rubbing vaseline on your face and IS heavily scented BUT if your skin is dry i think this product is great and i definitely recommend you NOT to use it if your skin ISN'T dry. Even though it feels like vaseline and is heavily scented i think it is a really good product if your skin is dry and i would buy it again because other cleansers i've used before don't moisturise my skin like this one does. Oh, AND, apparently this is a really good makeup remover but i don't usually wear makeup so i don't know yet. Overall, i think this product is good and i would definitely buy it again but if your skin is NOT dry then definitely do NOT use this

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/2/2009 9:33:00 PM More reviews by Matillyrose

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is the equivalent of Ponds Cold Cream.
Great cheap cleanser which is gentle enough to remove eye makeup without causing irritation.
I use this in the shower with a warm face washer because I find it leaves your skin a little oily if it isn't washed off properly.
Best for people with dry skin as it is very moisturising.
Leaves my skin, clean, fresh and very soft.
Would definitely buy again and again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/18/2009 2:34:00 AM More reviews by 0be0ne

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I would only use it on my eye make up and lips, It is really fab for gently removing make up on these areas. I don't wear much make up usually only a moisturising sunscreen. Therefore I wouldn't use it all over my face. If I did I would probably finish with a warm washcloth to remove any residue.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/15/2008 1:45:00 PM More reviews by illeyad

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

My skin went through a dry period, likely due to weather change. I thought I would buy something that would moisturize and cleanse it. In some ways it worked a little too well. This stuff took of 95% of makeup, which was rather impressive. However, it also stripped my skin of nutrients and irritated it, which lead to some painful break outs. This stuff eventually went from my counter next to the sink, to the trash next to the toilet. I found something better in the end that balanced the problems.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/20/2008 10:49:00 PM More reviews by ameshi

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

As a cleanser, Deep Cleansing Cream is not spectacular. It is simply too greasy for someone with combination skin. As a makeup remover however, it is absolutely great in removing the day's makeup. Properly taking off makeup is really essential for good unblemished skin and using it alongside Clinique's Rinse-off Foaming Cleanser, which is another makeup remover, really makes sure everything is taken off.


The packaging recommends cotton wool but I use cotton pads which is much more effective. I follow by rinsing off the residue greasiness (there's not that much grease but with my skin you never know!) with the Clinique cleanser. By themselves, the Clinique cream does not remove makeup so thoroughly and the Dove cream is too rich but using the two products together really conditions the skin and leaves it ready for your normal skin regime.


The cream is also a great substitute for an eye makeup remover.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/21/2008 9:34:00 PM More reviews by fionahz

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is incredibly greasy. It feels like rubbing vaseline over your face. But, it removes all makeup and leaves my skin feeling soft and moisturised.

I wipe it off with a wet microfibre cloth, so I'm both wiping and rinsing. I imagine if you were just tissuing it off, which is what the jar recommends, you'd be left with a greasy face. But with the washcloth, I end up with clean, soft,moisturised skin.

I've been using a retinoid product for 6 months and this has dried my skin out, so I avoid all foaming cleansers. I use the Dove cleanser alternately with a Moogoo oil cleanser and I find that the Dove is gentler and seems to leave my skin in better condition.

Plus, this stuff is soooo cheap! I'll keep buying it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No