Clarins Gentle Care Roll-On Deodorant

3.9

37 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/2/2015 11:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Normally I do not advocate spending unnecessarily on high end cosmetics/skincare, yet I refuse to use any other deodorant than this Clarins one. I lost track of how many bottles I have purchased. A bottle lasts me close to 6 months, which makes the price (currently $19 for 50 ml) bearable.

My main problem with deodorants is the scent. I cannot live with underarms smelling like fruit, vanilla, cucumber or baby powder. Once I've spent an hour at Target smelling every single deodorant for sale, and guess what, all of them smell either of fruit, vanilla, cucumber or baby powder. Even the unscented ones (there were one or two) have masking fragrances which smell faintly of cucumber. After wasting some money at Target on deodorants which I throw out after a couple uses, I decided to waste my money on a deodorant which I actually love and use. I am using nothing but high end deodorants for almost ten years now and I find that Clarins is the BEST.

Why?
- It works and smells good. The smell is very clean, neutral and not overpowering. I call it "European skincare". It reminds me of the original Nivea deodorant in Europe, not available in the US.
- It does not clash with other fragrances and it does not smell bad when mixed with sweat after a heavy workout. To smell really good you have to take regular showers in addition of the deodorant of course :)
- I find that it leaves minimal residue on clothes once you let it dry properly. It takes a minute or two to dry, not too bad.
- It does not irritate the skin, even applied immediately after shaving or waxing.
- As a side note, it does contain Aluminum Chlorohydrate, which I have absolutely no issue with.

Here is a list of other deodorants I've tried. I find Clarins superior to all of them:
- Clinique: The cheapest of the bunch, works fine, but no scent.
- Kiehl's: Cream deodorant, application is trickier. Works fine, no scent.
- Dermadoctor: No scent as well. I have decided that a little bit of a scent is a good thing for a deodorant.
- Estee Lauder Youth Dew: Contains alcohol and stings after shaving etc. Scent is overpowering esp. during Summer.
- Clinique Aromatics Elixir: Only if you love Aromatics Elixir I guess.
- Clarins Cream deodorant: Same scent as the Gentle Care Roll on. Trickier application. Discontinued.



on 10/15/2014 12:23:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Like so many of my favorite things, I never would've known about this gem if it weren't for MUA. Yay! The other reviews have pretty much covered it. The scent is absolute heaven, IMHO; soft, delicate & lovely. The deodorant manages to be strong enough to do what it's supposed to do, while being ever-so-gentle on your skin. It feels like you're applying a lovely moisturizer, and I'm crazy about the oversized applicator because it feels more comforting & indulgent (There - I said it!) than the usual size roll-on.
Indeed - this lovely product is an indulgence that's worth every cent, and then some.


on 7/26/2013 3:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love Clarins stuff. This deo needed a bit of time to get used to. It has a cute bottle packaging, but it is very big so let say it wouldn`t fit into a small purse. Also, it is the `old style`, big rolling ball, very watery application. You better apply this in the morning and brush your teeth, do some stuff for like 2-3 minutes before you dress, as it takes that long to fully sink in. It has no color, a clear water. ... However, once it sinks in, it disappeares, no color, just clean skin, and a very soft, pleasant, clean fragrance. It doesn`t compete with my parfum, it doesn`t scream antiperspirant smell once you stand next to someone. It is very `discrete` and really protects me for a long time from sweating. It is like $16 if i remember correctly, but I think it is worth a try. :-) Oh, and it is absolutely save to use it after shaving, no irritation whatsoever!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2012 11:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bit pricey at $16, like double the price of the Clinique roll-on antiperspirant that I also love, and only 50 mLs, compared with Clinique's 60 mL, but this is just wonderful. Soft feminine scent that dissipates shortly after applying, clear application, which is very important and the same few mins to set as with all roll ons. Feels gentle and not drying or sticky. The ball is larger and applies easily, I almost feel like it soothes my armpits, heh. Winner for me..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2012 6:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really liked this deodorant, I don't need a heavy deodorant because I don't sweat that much so for me this works fine! It keeps me fresh all day long and I like the scent that's like a soft floral. This deodorant has a big rollerball wich makes it easy to apply and it does not leave white marks on my clothes wich is also a big plus! I have eczema sensitive skin and this did not irritate my skin at all. I would buy this again, maybe on sale because I do find it a little expensive for a deodorant but other than that it's a great one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2012 7:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is the only deodorant I have found that works on my sensitive skin - as in actually works to prevent perspiration and also doesn't irritate my skin. I've tried loads from all-natural products to Cashmere Mist, which I found really over-powering scent-wise. This one has a light herbal scent that fades after application. It also, and I apologise if this is a bit gross, doesn't turn in any way once it's on the skin... as in, if you sniff your pits you smell nothing, as opposed to a weird chemical smell or perfume. If I could find something cheaper that worked as well, I would buy that instead, but as I never have I keep an eye out for this one on sale and stock up. The only down side is a lot of product can come out when applying, so I am always careful not to put too much on, and it also doesn't dry as quickly as some.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/13/2011 2:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My mom had some of this in her bathroom that she never used. I'd forgotten my deodorant when I was visiting her, so I tried this out (not expecting to be impressed). I loved the smell so much that I snuck it home with me ;-).

Although I'm pretty active, I don't shower very often because I don't smell bad. I usually only apply deodorant ONCE, right after getting out of the shower, and not again until after my next shower, which might be 3-4 days later. This stuff keeps my underarms smelling super fresh the whole time. It doesn't totally prevent perspiration, which is fine because sweating is natural and totally dry underarms are... weird.

For a while I was using only non-anti-perspirant deodorant, due to the association between breast cancer and the aluminum found in anti-perspirants. But then in my anatomy and physiology class, I learned that the only way for enough aluminum to get into your bloodstream to cause cancer is for it to enter through the tiny nicks in the skin that are caused by shaving. But I don't shave my armpits, so..... YAY! I get to wear antiperspirant!! :-) The other deodorants just weren't deodorizing. But as a budding healthcare provider, I do want to recommend that y'all either limit your use of antiperspirants, or not shave your underarms. To our health!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2011 1:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was so disappointed that they discontinued the cream version of this which worked so well for me.
When that became unavailable, I tried this one. It does work, although not as well as the cream did. The roll-on is easier to use though, and you can get all of the product out of the container (unlike the cream). But why do they make the container so darn bulky?? It's huge and thus not extremely travel-friendly.
Goes on easily. Dries fairly quickly. No white residue. Not in love with the scent, but not offended by it either. Most importantly, it works ALL DAY to combat odor and wetness!!! A bit on the expensive side, but unless I find something better, I will repurchase. I now rotate between this and L'Occitane's roll-on.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2010 12:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this pretty exclusively for the last 9 years, and I am in love! No residue, pilling, goodbye to deodorant marks on clothes and top-notch wetness and odor control for close to 24 hours. The smell is light (best described as herbal maybe?) and non-offensive, and I am extremely sensitive to scent. I can even sleep with this on which says a lot. The price is a little on the high side, but I only need to buy it twice a year with daily use so it evens out. Treat yourself, you won't be sorry!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2009 5:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This one promised to be so tested and anti-allergic, but it started to itch on me after only a couple of days.




Top Rated Clarins Products

image

Double Fix

134 reviews
image

Eau Dynamisante

101 reviews
Back to Top