December 20, 2014 | 1677 users online

Treatments (Face) - Philosophy - When Hope is Not Enough

no image

rated 2.9(11 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.9
  • 36% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/4/2014 9:59:00 AM More reviews by tigirlyly

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Lucky to swap for a basically full size bottle. I love philosophy's purity and there entire Amazing Grace body line. Wanted to give this serum a try for a while.

It's an ok serum. Thicker gel like texture. Does apply easily, but don't soak into my skin very quickly. I seal this with 2 drops of argan oil at night.

It does make my skin feel softer. I didn't not see any texture changes to my skin.
Will pass on this serum.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/19/2013 4:31:00 AM More reviews by g_82

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I like the ingredients of the product, but the texture is not very comfortable. It feels a bit sticky and not moisturizing enough.
Don't think i will repurchase...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/28/2012 3:25:00 PM More reviews by DarkHorseRising

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Gives acne!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/4/2010 11:59:00 AM More reviews by Ophelia4469

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love this. I have oily-acne prone skin. I tend to break out when it is that time of the month and when I am stressed out and when I am not taking care of my face. When used right my skin does not break out often and is soft and smooth.


I think When Hope is Not Enough helped me get rid of some skin tags that I had. It is reducing my forehead lines and my skin looks great. I use it in combination of the Advanced Makeup Optional kit. I'll give in an update in a week as I'm just back to taking care of myself the way I should be.

I use the following products:


AM:

The Mircodelivery Exfoliating Wash
When Hope is Not Enough
Hope In a Jar with SPF

PM:
Purity Made Simple
When Hope is Not Enough
Help Me
Hope In a Jar
Make Up:

Murad Hybrids™ Skin Perfecting Primer Matte Finish
Mat Velvet (Make Up Forever)
HD powder (Make Up Forever)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/24/2010 8:03:00 PM More reviews by kimberlyball

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This wasn't moisturizing enough for me. It broke me out every single time I used it. The smell is horrible. This is a big disappointment from Philosophy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/6/2010 4:56:00 PM More reviews by MakeupNovice26

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

Actually I am quite surprised that this product received a low score. This is a very good moisturizer, at least for me, in the summer when I do need something on my face. I have to admit though that because of how dry my skin gets in the winter that this product can be a big fail. Just keep that in mind!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/29/2009 1:26:00 PM More reviews by lucysmum

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I hadn't used this for a while and when I resumed, it smelled rancid. I tried it for two nights and gave up, as I just couldn't stand it. Never again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/13/2009 10:27:00 PM More reviews by shanstuff

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

So, I'm really starting to think Philosophy is all hype. This is the 3rd product of theirs that I have been COMPLETELY underwhelmed with (the only one I really like is the Purity cleanser, and even that I could replace in a heartbeat with something equally effective).

The SA at Sephora went on and on about how this is just a "vitamin drink for the skin" and how it would help clarify and firm, blah, blah, blah. Well, it does help add a boost of moisture under my regular moisturizer, and it has plenty of antioxidants in it, but other than that, there have been no actual physical signs that it is doing anything for my skin. Admittedly, I have really, really good skin already so maybe that's why I'm not seeing anything, but still...after all the hype, I expected something to happen, and....nothing. No increase in clarity or firmness, no decrease in the few fine lines...nothing. Will not bother to repurchase unless something dramatic happens before the bottle is finished.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/15/2009 9:12:00 PM More reviews by Nelliebelle1197

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I think this is awesome. My skin loves it and I love the light lavender fragrance! My skin is clear, soft and glowy with Philosophy, recovered from a bad experience with another line!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/28/2008 5:24:00 PM More reviews by bstyle

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Did nothing for me waste of money. I used the am facial firming and lifting. Nope not a sign of anything changed.

Is this review helpful? Yes No