April 19, 2014 | 1680 users online

Pressed Powders - Bourjois - Compact powder



image 0

rated 2.9(18 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.9
  • 38% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 9/11/2013 8:07:00 PM More reviews by Lirong

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Hate it. Im pale, have a combination skin that tends to get oily at summer. This made my face yellow, with or without foundation. I bought the lightest shade and it was perfect on my hand but on my face it got yellow and i ended up giving it to a friend who enjoyed it and didn't get that yellow reaction. This has never happened to me before!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/6/2013 5:25:00 AM More reviews by Shinnov

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

The result of this product obiously good in average but i dont like the smell of this powder and it's made me feel itchy. I dont know why but my skin type is not sensitive, this is the first time i'm using this product. I wouldn't buy again cause i think this product not match with my skin

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/6/2011 9:57:00 AM More reviews by sallysellsseashells

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this powder last year. I was drawn to the pretty pink and black packaging and Ulta had this on sale for $2.99! But, this stuff ruined my skin for weeks. I got a massive breakout and made my skin itch so bad like poison ivy bad :( I will be forever scared to ever purchase another Bourjois product again! On a positve note, the color I purchased was a good match and it kept my skin's oils at bay for hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/2/2010 9:36:00 AM More reviews by semarykim

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i dont get why people hate it so much. i bought it before i saw the reviews which is what i prob dont do. but i just opened it anyways and thought i would give it a try since its not that expensive. it turned out pretty good. i used mac studio before but thought it was so yellow. this is a bit more to the pinkish side. i bought the darkest one and im nc 40. it has a matte finish and i love how it aplies smoothly. ill live with it for awhile now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/20/2010 8:55:00 AM More reviews by starallen

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Another purchase made hoping to conserve hard-earned cash only to turn out to be a complete waste of my money. It wasn't absolutely terrible, but I've used so many other (and much cheaper!) drugstore pressed powders that this one seems especially lousy. I was probably swayed by the packaging which is a lot cutter than most things in that price range...

The color is alright, if a tiny but muddy for my fair skin. I set my foundation in the morning with loose powder and keep pressed in my purse for touch-ups only. Even though I blot before re-powdering the formula is quite cakey, which I hate! It clung to the spots where I'd concealed blemishes turning the concealer slightly darker than the rest of my face and it seemed to exaggerate pores. I don't usually mind getting a little "dewy" but my oil seemed to penetrate the powder layer in no time flat!

Luckily, not too long after I bought it, I dropped it and it cracked "forcing" me to find something better. I seem to remember balking at the corn-oil in the ingredients which obviously isn't the best for acne-prone skin like mine. If I had used it any longer, I suspect I would have broken out. Do yourself a favor and buy a pressed powder from L'oreal, Mabelline or other ds brand for much less and better results.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/15/2010 2:19:00 PM More reviews by 1Tanya

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have no idea why Bourjois chose to make this powder in only 4 rather dark shades. I'm quite pale and this powder in the lightest shade is still too dark for me. And it's very obvious. Other than that I love everything else about this powder. Very pretty stylish packaging, quality sponge, the powder itself covers a bit but looks natural, it has a very pleasant smell. It's true it doesn't last all day, but that's why it's a compact powder, you need to reapply throughout the day, but it never looks too heavy. I still use this powder even if it's so dark, but I don't use it on my whole face. Sometimes I combine it with a different lighter powder. Still, it's a great product, but I would recommend it to people who aren't so pale.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/21/2010 1:49:00 AM More reviews by happy011

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Brown

Totally skippable, love this product because of the packaging and rose scent.
Bad because of the shade selection, it also has a pink-ish tint to it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/8/2010 10:57:00 AM More reviews by bsanderson

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I found this an average to good product. I would buy it again because there are no significant cons but equally it's nothing to get excited about, so no loyalty here - I'll probably try something new when it's finished. I have it in 72 sable rose.

The powder is finely milled and goes on evenly with either a brush or with the included puff. There is a faint scent but my skin didn't react to this and while it's strong it only smells on application and I find is quite lovely and old-fashioned. It sets my liquid foundation well on application and doesn't oxidise in either the dry winter climate in the UK or in sticky Singapore, unlike L'Oreal True Match which was unrealiable. It didn't make me break out at all. I've had it four months now and use it daily - I expect it will last another month so a good value product.

However, it doesn't stay on and needs plenty of reapplication. Within an hour it's gone. It doesn't absorb the oil on my face at all and when reapplied during the day after blotting, it can look cakey rather than refreshing sitting on top of my tired skin.

The packaging is functional with a big mirror. It's the right size to carry with you day and night. I didn't find it fragile at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/23/2010 10:51:00 AM More reviews by summerlady

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

I dont like it. I did buy the right color but it makes me look a bit orange-ish. When I applied it, it was looking ok. But after a while I looked so orange and dark! Am so not gonna buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/21/2008 1:09:00 PM More reviews by Sour

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a really great powder foundation. I love the way it makes my skin feel! The only complaint I have is that on really warm days, this stuff tends to oxidize so Iíll stick to using it in the winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No